Cypress College (2026): ADN, NCLEX & Costs | Cypress
🎓 Nursing School Profile

Cypress College: ADN Review (2026)

ADN at Cypress College in Cypress, California. First-time NCLEX-RN was 100% (2023/24). Compare admissions requirements in Cypress.

~11 min read Updated Mar 16, 2026 Expert Reviewed
100%
NCLEX-RN (2023/24)
98.46%
NCLEX-RN (2024/25)
$46
In-State / Unit

Quick Facts

Type
Public, 2‑year
Accreditation
CA BRN‑approved
Programs
ADN
In‑state tuition
$46/unit
NCLEX Pass Rate
100% (2023/24)
Deadlines
Not publicly disclosed
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Clinical Placements
Hospitals & agencies

Key Takeaway

Cypress College’s Registered Nursing (ADN) program has achieved a 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate in 2023/2024 and has been recognized among the top-performing ADN programs in California. With low in-state tuition ($46/unit), a clear path to RN licensure, and location in Orange County’s healthcare-rich region, it is a strong option for students seeking an affordable, high-outcome ADN.

Overview & Why Students Choose Cypress College

Cypress College, in Cypress, California, is part of the North Orange County Community College District (NOCCCD). Its Registered Nursing (ADN) program sits within the Health Science division and is approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN). Students who complete the program are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN and enter practice as registered nurses.

If you are looking for an affordable, high-outcome ADN in Orange County with strong NCLEX results, Cypress College deserves a close look. The program combines classroom instruction with clinical experience in hospitals and community agencies.

100% NCLEX-RN pass rate (2023/2024)

Cypress College’s 2023/2024 cohort achieved a 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate (60 first-time testers). For 2024/2025, the rate was 98.46% (65 first-time testers). For context on how these rates compare to state and national averages, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing pass rate report.

Five reasons students choose Cypress College

📈 NCLEX Performance

100% first-time pass rate in 2023/2024 and 98.46% in 2024/2025. The program has been recognized for top performance among ADN programs.

💵 Low Cost

California community college tuition: $46 per unit in-state. Enrollment and health fees apply; non-resident tuition is higher. Financial aid and California College Promise Grant may reduce cost.

🩺 Clinical Experience

Clinical rotations in hospitals and other health care and community agencies. Specific sites are assigned by the program.

📍 Orange County Location

Cypress is in North Orange County with access to a large healthcare job market and diverse clinical settings.

📜 BRN-Approved

California BRN-approved ADN program; graduates meet educational requirements to sit for the NCLEX-RN in California.

Nursing Programs Offered

Cypress College offers one nursing program: an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN), also listed as Registered Nursing. The program is California BRN-approved and prepares graduates to take the NCLEX-RN and practice as registered nurses. Cypress does not offer a BSN, MSN, or DNP; students seeking a bachelor’s or advanced degree typically transfer to a four-year school or complete an RN-to-BSN or graduate program elsewhere.

Undergraduate

Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) / Registered Nursing

Pre-licensure ADN with classroom and clinical instruction. Coursework includes fundamentals, medical-surgical, maternal/newborn, child/family, geriatric, and mental health nursing, pharmacology, and an RN practicum. Upon completion, graduates are eligible to take the California RN Licensure Exam (NCLEX-RN). Program is housed in the Health Science division (Technical Education 3 Building). Health insurance is required for all nursing students for clinical participation.

Catalog and outcomes

Degree and course details, including program learning outcomes, are in the NOCCCD/Cypress College catalog. NCLEX pass rate data is published by the California Board of Registered Nursing.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

Cypress College’s ADN program has posted strong first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates. The 2023/2024 cohort achieved a 100% first-time pass rate (60 first-time testers). The 2024/2025 cohort achieved 98.46% (65 first-time testers). Data are from the California Board of Registered Nursing annual pass rate report.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2023/2024)100% (60 first-time testers)
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2024/2025)98.46% (65 first-time testers)
SourceCalifornia Board of Registered Nursing
Confirm current data

NCLEX pass rates can change by cohort. Before relying on any single percentage, confirm the latest statistics with Cypress College’s nursing department and the official California Board of Registered Nursing report.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Cypress College and the California Board of Registered Nursing have specific requirements for international students and internationally educated nurses. The exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by visa status, country of education, and whether you are seeking admission to the ADN program or RN licensure in California. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with Cypress College and the California BRN—not as a substitute for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether Cypress College or the nursing program requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and minimum scores for admission.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the college wants reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses seeking RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document/translation requirements with the California BRN.
  • Immigration & visa: Whether the ADN program is approved for F-1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.

Requirements change. Always cross‑check everything with Cypress College’s Admissions/International Office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Cypress College’s Registered Nursing (ADN) program uses a separate Health Science application process. Admission is competitive; meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Applicants must complete the Health Science application (via the district’s application portal) and typically attend Health Science workshops before applying. Prerequisites and selection criteria are set by the program.

Steps to apply
  • Apply to Cypress College and meet college admission requirements
  • Complete required prerequisite courses (see catalog or nursing program information)
  • Attend Health Science workshops—see Health Science Workshop Schedule
  • Submit the Health Science application via WebStar (NOCCCD) when the application period is open
  • Health insurance is required for all admitted nursing students for clinical participation

Application timeline

Application open and deadline dates for the nursing program are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Check the Registered Nursing and program information pages and contact the Health Science division for current dates.

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance Rate (Nursing)Not publicly disclosed
Typical GPA RangeNot publicly disclosed
TEAS RequiredNot publicly disclosed
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Attend the required Health Science workshops early; they explain prerequisites, the application process, and how candidates are ranked. Complete prerequisites with strong grades and confirm current requirements with the Health Science division or nursing coordinator. Submitting a complete, on-time application is essential.

Advice by applicant type

🎓 First-time or transfer applicant

Complete general education and science prerequisites with the best grades possible. Use the catalog and nursing program materials to plan coursework. Attend workshops and reach out to counseling or the nursing department with questions.

🔄 Second-degree / career-change applicant

The ADN is a pre-licensure program; there is no accelerated BSN at Cypress. Plan for prerequisite and then nursing coursework. Highlight any healthcare or community experience in your application or workshop interactions.

🩺 LVN or out-of-state RN

Cypress College offers an ADN for students seeking initial RN licensure. If you already hold an RN license and want a BSN or MSN, you will need to look at RN-to-BSN or graduate programs at other institutions.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Cypress College is a California community college. In-state students pay an enrollment fee of $46 per unit. Non-residents pay $372 per unit (effective fall 2024) in addition to the enrollment fee. Additional fees include health fee ($26 per semester), parking, and materials for certain courses. The college provides an estimated cost of attendance for planning; this is not a bill.

MetricValue
Enrollment Fee (In-State)$46 per unit
Non-Resident Tuition$372 per unit (plus enrollment fee)
Health Fee$26 per semester ($22 summer)
Parking (optional)$40 automobiles / $20 motorcycles (per semester)
HousingNot publicly disclosed (no on-campus housing; commuter college)
Books & SuppliesNot publicly disclosed; see Cost of Attendance estimate
Fee WaiverCalifornia College Promise Grant (CCPG) may waive enrollment fees for eligible students
Cost note

Unit counts for the ADN program vary by catalog year. For a current cost estimate and fee breakdown, visit the official Enrollment Fees and Cost of Attendance pages.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA and check eligibility for the California College Promise Grant and other aid. Cypress College Financial Aid can provide details. NURSE Corps and other nursing-specific scholarships may be available to qualifying students.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2023/2024)100% (60 first-time testers)
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2024/2025)98.46% (65 first-time testers)
Job Placement RateNot publicly disclosed
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

The program reports career outcomes for Registered Nurse (salary range in program materials: low $64k, average $100k, high $151k). For employer and placement details, see the college’s nursing program and career services.

Is Cypress College the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing program depends on your budget, location, and goals. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Cypress College and who might look elsewhere.

✅ Good fit for students who…

  • Want an affordable, BRN-approved ADN in Orange County
  • Prefer a community college path to RN licensure with strong NCLEX outcomes
  • Can attend in-person classes and clinicals in the North Orange County area
  • Plan to work as an RN after graduation or transfer later to an RN-to-BSN program
  • Are willing to complete workshops and follow the Health Science application process

⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…

  • Want a BSN, MSN, or DNP from the same institution
  • Need a fully online pre-licensure program
  • Are looking for on-campus housing (Cypress is a commuter college)
  • Prefer an accelerated BSN (ABSN) or direct-entry bachelor’s program

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Cypress College is in North Orange County, California, within one of the largest and most diverse healthcare markets in the U.S. Orange County and the greater Los Angeles region have major hospital systems, medical groups, and community health agencies, creating strong demand for RNs and varied clinical placement opportunities.

Specific clinical placement sites for Cypress College nursing students are not listed in the provided sources; the program states that students gain experience in hospitals and other health care and community agencies. Students benefit from being in a region with many employers and settings (acute care, outpatient, community health) for both clinical hours and post-graduation employment.

Why this matters

Orange County and Southern California have sustained demand for registered nurses. Completing an ADN at Cypress positions you to take the NCLEX-RN and seek employment in the region; many graduates also pursue RN-to-BSN completion at nearby universities.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Cypress College’s Registered Nursing program is in the Health Science division, located in the Technical Education 3 Building (second floor). The campus is in Cypress, California, with access to Fullerton College and the Anaheim Campus as part of the North Orange County Community College District.

Nursing students take coursework in fundamentals, medical-surgical, maternal/newborn, pediatric, geriatric, and mental health nursing, plus pharmacology and a capstone practicum. Clinical experiences are completed at area hospitals and community agencies. All nursing students must have health insurance to participate in clinicals.

The college offers student services, counseling, financial aid, and a range of academic and career programs. Parking is available (permit required on weekdays). There is no on-campus housing; students commute. For events and student life, see Student Life and the schedule and catalog.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Cypress, CA
Address
9200 Valley View Street, Cypress, CA 90630, US
Telephone
(714) 484-7283
Contact email
healthscience@cypresscollege.edu
Website
www.cypresscollege.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Cypress College Registered Nursing page and review program and catalog information.
  • Review the prerequisite course list in the catalog and compare it to your transcripts.
  • Confirm on the program or Health Science page whether TEAS or other exams are required; if so, register and prepare accordingly.
  • Draft a list of questions for the Health Science division or nursing department (phone (714) 484-7283 or healthscience@cypresscollege.edu).
  • Reach out to current Cypress nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
  • Begin preparing for the Health Science application (resume, transcripts, any required essays or forms).
  • Check the Health Science Workshop Schedule and attend a workshop; note application open and deadline dates.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Cypress College a good school for nursing?

Cypress College’s Registered Nursing (ADN) program is California BRN-approved and reported a 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for 2023/2024 and 98.46% for 2024/2025 per the California Board of Registered Nursing. The program has been recognized for top NCLEX performance among ADN programs.

What GPA do you need for Cypress College nursing?

Minimum GPA requirements for the ADN program are not publicly disclosed. Applicants should confirm current criteria with the Health Science division and attend required workshops before applying.

Does Cypress College require the TEAS exam for nursing?

TEAS requirement for Cypress College’s nursing program is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Confirm current admission requirements with the Health Science division or nursing department.

How competitive is admission to Cypress College nursing program?

The nursing program uses a separate Health Science application process. Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance; contact the program for current competitiveness and selection criteria.

Does Cypress College offer an accelerated BSN?

No. Cypress College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) only. Graduates are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN. Students seeking a BSN typically transfer to a four-year institution or complete an RN-to-BSN program elsewhere.

What are the clinical placement sites for Cypress College nursing students?

The program states that students gain clinical experience in hospitals and other health care and community agencies. Specific placement site names are not available in the provided inputs/sources; contact the Registered Nursing department for current clinical partners.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Cypress College?

For 2023/2024, Cypress College reported 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate (60 first-time testers). For 2024/2025, the rate was 98.46% (65 first-time testers). Data from the California Board of Registered Nursing.

References

  1. Cypress College Registered Nursing programcypresscollege.edu (Registered Nursing)
  2. Cypress College Health Science divisioncypresscollege.edu (Health Science)
  3. NOCCCD/Cypress College catalog — Nursing programcatalog.nocccd.edu
  4. Cypress College Cost of Attendance estimatecypresscollege.edu (Cost of Attendance)
  5. California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX-RN pass ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and the California Board of Registered Nursing before making decisions.

Published: Mar 16, 2026 · Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy