Cabrillo College Nursing (2026): ADN, NCLEX & Costs in Aptos
๐ŸŽ“ Nursing School Profile

Cabrillo College: ADN Review (2026)

Cabrillo College ADN in Aptos. First-time NCLEX-RN was 84.09% (Pass Rate (23-24). 2026 admissions, nursing programs.

~12 min read Updated Mar 15, 2026 Expert Reviewed
84.09%
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate (23-24)
ADN
Program Type
~27โ€“32
Cohort Size

Quick Facts

Type
Public community college
Approval
California BRN
Programs
ADN
Inโ€‘state (est.)
Low in-state / unit
NCLEX Pass Rate
84.09% (2023-24)
Deadlines
Feb (fall) / Sep (spring)
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Job Placement
Not publicly disclosed

Key Takeaway

Cabrillo College’s ADN program uses a multi-criteria selection process plus a lottery: the top 40% of applicants by points advance to Phase 2 (TEAS or HESI A2). About 27โ€“32 students are admitted per cohort. The Central Coast and Santa Cruz County offer strong clinical placement and RN job demand.

Overview & Why Students Choose Cabrillo College

Located in Aptos on California’s Central Coast, Cabrillo College offers an affordable Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) that prepares graduates for RN licensure and the NCLEX-RN. The program serves Santa Cruz County and the greater Bay Area with clinical experiences at local healthcare facilities. A recent program review reported graduates’ median salary of $95,084.

If you want a low-cost, California BRNโ€“approved path to becoming a registered nurse and prefer a smaller cohort (about 27โ€“32 students per entry) with Fall and Spring admission cycles, Cabrillo’s nursing program is worth a close look.

NCLEX-RN snapshot

Cabrillo’s 2023-2024 first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate was 84.09% (44 test takers), as reported by the California Board of Registered Nursing. For the latest figures and state comparisons, consult the official California BRN pass rate report.

Five reasons students choose Cabrillo College

๐Ÿ“ˆ Central Coast location

Aptos and Santa Cruz County offer a strong healthcare ecosystem and RN job demand, with clinical placements close to campus.

๐Ÿ’ฐ Affordable ADN path

California community college tuition (low in-state per-unit rate) plus program costs. The Nursing Department publishes an estimated cost document; see program website.

๐Ÿฅ Santa Cruz County clinicals

Clinical experiences at Santa Cruz County and Central Coast healthcare facilities. Contact the Nursing Department for current placement sites.

๐Ÿ“… Fall and Spring entry

Four-semester program with cohorts starting each Fall and Spring. Application typically opens in February (e.g., for Fall and Spring entry the following year).

๐ŸŽ“ Clear path to RN

ADN graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN and can later pursue RN-to-BSN at CSU, UC, or other four-year schools.

Nursing Programs Offered

Cabrillo College offers a single nursing program: the Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN). The program is approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing and prepares graduates to sit for the NCLEX-RN. The degree requires 70โ€“75 units.

Undergraduate

Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)

Four-semester program accepting students each Fall and Spring. Combines general education and nursing courses with laboratory and clinical experience at Santa Cruz County and Central Coast health agencies. Graduates earn an Associate in Science in Nursing and are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN. No BSN, MSN, or DNP is offered at Cabrillo; students seeking a bachelor’s or advanced degree typically transfer after licensure. Limited advanced placement is available for LVNs, military personnel, and transfers from other nursing programs.

Program approval

The ADN program is approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing. The college is accredited by the ACCJC. For current status, contact the Cabrillo Nursing Department or visit cabrillo.edu/nursing.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

Cabrillo College’s first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for 2023-2024, as reported by the California Board of Registered Nursing, was 84.09% (44 first-time test takers).

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2023-2024)84.09% (44 test takers)
Job Placement (6 months)Not publicly disclosed
SourceCalifornia BRN NCLEX Pass Rates
Confirm current data

NCLEX pass rates can change by cohort. An official state average from the same BRN report was not provided in the sources reviewed for this guide. For the latest figures and state comparisons, confirm with the California Board of Registered Nursing and the Cabrillo Nursing Department before relying on any single statistic.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Cabrillo College and other California community colleges may admit international students, and the California Board of Registered Nursing licenses internationally educated nurses. Exact requirements vary by visa status, prior education, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with Cabrillo and the California BRNโ€”not as a substitute for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether Cabrillo requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how Cabrillo wants reports submitted.
  • California BRN requirements: For internationally educated nurses seeking RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document/translation requirements with the California Board of Registered Nursing.
  • Immigration & visa: Whether the ADN program is approved for F-1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.

Requirements change. Always verify with Cabrilloโ€™s admissions or international office and the California BRN.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Cabrillo College’s nursing program uses a multi-criteria selection process with two phases: Phase 1 (multi-criteria points; top 40% advance to a lottery), then Phase 2 (TEAS or HESI A2). About 120 applicants are invited to Phase 2; roughly 27โ€“32 are admitted per cohort (Fall and Spring). Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance.

ADN application requirements
  • Prerequisites: BIO 4, BIO 5, BIO 6, and ENGLC C1000 (or equivalent). Minimum C in each course; combined 2.5 GPA in the three biology courses. Science recency may apply.
  • Phase 2: TEAS (minimum 62%) or HESI A2 (minimum 75%), within two years of application. Cabrillo may offer HESI A2 on campus at no cost to Phase 2 applicants.
  • Grade of C or better in each nursing course for progression.
  • Application submitted online only during the open window (e.g., February for Fall/Spring entry the following year). Official transcripts to Admissions and Records.

Application timeline

Entry TermApplication PeriodTypical Deadline
Fall / SpringFebruary (e.g. opens Feb 2, closes Feb 22)See Cabrillo Nursing Application

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance RateNot publicly disclosed
Prerequisite GPA2.5 combined in BIO 4, 5, 6; C in other prereqs
TEAS / HESI A2Required in Phase 2 (TEAS 62%+ or HESI 75%+)
Cohort Size~27โ€“32 per Fall and Spring
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Maximize your Phase 1 points (education, experience, background per the multi-criteria form). If you reach Phase 2, a higher TEAS or HESI A2 score earns more points. Submit all supporting documents with the online application; missing documentation can cost points. Meet with an Academic Counselor before applying if you have prerequisites from other colleges.

Advice by applicant type

๐ŸŽ“ First-time / transfer applicant

Complete BIO 4, 5, 6 and English (and any other required prereqs) with the required grades. Review the multi-criteria selection document on the Cabrillo Nursing site. If you reach Phase 2, prepare for TEAS or HESI A2; Cabrillo uses your highest score within two years.

๐Ÿ”„ Second-degree / career-change applicant

Cabrillo offers only an ADN. Your prior degree may help with general education; focus on meeting the science and prerequisite GPA requirements and building Phase 1 points. Limited advanced placement exists for some transfer and military applicants.

๐Ÿฉบ LVN or transfer from another nursing program

Cabrillo offers limited advanced placement for LVNs, military personnel, and students transferring from other nursing programs. Check the Nursing Department’s advanced placement page for current options. For RN-to-BSN, Cabrillo does not offer a BSN; consider CSU, UC, or other California schools after you earn your ADN and pass the NCLEX-RN.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Cabrillo College, as a California community college, charges per-unit tuition. In-state tuition is typically low; out-of-state and nonresident rates are higher. The Nursing Department publishes an estimated cost of the program; see the program website or application page for the current document. Program costs (uniforms, lab fees, malpractice insurance, equipment, transportation) are in addition to tuition.

MetricValue
In-State Tuition (per unit)California community college rate; confirm on Cabrillo tuition page
Out-of-State / NonresidentNot publicly disclosed in provided sources
Estimated Program CostSee Nursing Department’s estimated cost document (linked from application page)
NCLEX-RN Exam Fee~$575 (paid to BRN/PSI; not included in program cost)
Fees, Housing, BooksNot publicly disclosed in provided sources
Cost note

Tuition and fees change annually. For current per-unit rates, residency rules, and the program cost estimate, visit the official Cabrillo Nursing Application page and the college’s financial aid or tuition pages.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA to be considered for federal grants and loans. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program may be available to qualifying nursing students. Check Cabrillo’s financial aid office and the program’s application materials for school-specific scholarships.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2023-24)84.09% (44 test takers)
Job Placement (6 months)Not publicly disclosed
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

Santa Cruz County and the Central Coast have strong demand for RNs. A recent program review reported graduates’ median salary of $95,084. For job placement data or employer lists, see the Cabrillo Nursing Department or career services at cabrillo.edu/nursing.

Is Cabrillo College the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing program depends on your budget, timeline, and location. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive in Cabrillo’s ADN program and who might consider another option.

โœ… Good fit for students whoโ€ฆ

  • Want an affordable, BRN-approved ADN on the Central Coast
  • Are okay with a multi-criteria and lottery-based admission process
  • Prefer or can accommodate Santa Cruz County / Central Coast clinical placements
  • Plan to work as an RN after the ADN and may pursue RN-to-BSN later
  • Can meet prerequisite GPA and TEAS or HESI A2 minimums for Phase 2

โš ๏ธ May not be ideal for students whoโ€ฆ

  • Want a BSN, MSN, or DNP directly from the same school (Cabrillo offers ADN only)
  • Need a fully online pre-licensure program
  • Prefer a non-competitive or guaranteed-seat admission process
  • Must have clinicals in a specific city outside the Santa Cruz / Central Coast region

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Santa Cruz County and the greater Central Coast are home to hospitals, clinics, and community health agencies that serve a diverse population. Demand for RNs in the region and across California remains strong. Clinical placements give students exposure to varied settings close to the Aptos campus.

Why this matters

Cabrillo nursing students complete clinical experiences at Santa Cruz County and Central Coast healthcare facilities. This exposure supports both learning and post-graduation job opportunities. For a current list of clinical placement sites, contact the Cabrillo Nursing Department.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Cabrillo College’s main campus is at 6500 Soquel Drive in Aptos, with a Watsonville Center at 318 Union Street. The Nursing Department is located in HW 2135 on the Aptos campus. Nursing students use campus labs and simulation resources as well as off-campus clinical sites. Student-to-faculty ratio and nursing club or honor society information are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed; contact the Nursing Department for current student life and support resources.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Aptos, CA
Address
6500 Soquel Drive, Aptos, CA 95003, US
Telephone
(831) 479-6280 (Nursing); main campus (831) 479-6100
Contact email
nursing@cabrillo.edu
Website
cabrillo.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Cabrillo Nursing website and download the application and estimated cost documents.
  • Review the prerequisite list (BIO 4, 5, 6; English; etc.) and compare to your transcripts. Meet with an Academic Counselor if you have credits from other colleges.
  • If you expect to reach Phase 2, prepare for TEAS or HESI A2 (min 62% TEAS or 75% HESI); confirm on the official nursing application page. Cabrillo may offer HESI A2 on campus.
  • Draft a list of questions for the Cabrillo Nursing Department or admissions.
  • Reach out to current Cabrillo nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
  • Gather supporting documents for the multi-criteria application so you are ready when the window opens (e.g., February for Fall/Spring entry).
  • Check the application deadline for your target entry term and set reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Cabrillo College a good school for nursing?

Cabrillo College offers a California BRN-approved ADN program in Aptos with a reported first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate of 84.09% (44 test takers, 2023-2024). The program uses a multi-criteria selection process with a lottery; TEAS or HESI A2 is required in Phase 2. It is a solid choice for an affordable path to RN licensure on the Central Coast.

What GPA do you need for Cabrillo College nursing?

Prerequisites require a minimum grade of C in each course; the three biology courses (BIO 4, 5, 6) require a combined 2.5 GPA. Science recency and other criteria apply; see the Cabrillo Nursing application page for current requirements.

Does Cabrillo College require the TEAS exam for nursing?

TEAS or HESI A2 is required in Phase 2 of the selection process. Minimum TEAS 62% or HESI A2 75% (within two years). Cabrillo may offer the HESI A2 on campus at no cost to Phase 2 applicants.

How competitive is admission to Cabrillo College nursing program?

The program is competitive with a two-phase process: Phase 1 multi-criteria points, then top 40% enter a lottery; 120 applicants advance to Phase 2 (TEAS/HESI). About 27โ€“32 students are admitted per cohort (Fall and Spring). Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed.

Does Cabrillo College offer an accelerated BSN?

No. Cabrillo College offers only an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN), a four-semester program with Fall and Spring entry. Graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN and can pursue RN-to-BSN programs at four-year schools.

What are the clinical placement sites for Cabrillo College nursing students?

Clinical experiences are at Santa Cruz County and Central Coast healthcare facilities. For a current list of sites, contact the Cabrillo College Nursing Department.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Cabrillo College?

Cabrillo’s first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for 2023-2024 was 84.09% (44 test takers), as reported by the California Board of Registered Nursing. Confirm current data at rn.ca.gov/education/passrates.

References

  1. Cabrillo College Nursing Programcabrillo.edu/nursing
  2. Cabrillo Nursing โ€” Application and Selectioncabrillo.edu/nursing/application-and-selection-information
  3. California Board of Registered Nursing โ€” NCLEX pass ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml
  4. Cabrillo College โ€” tuition and financial aidcabrillo.edu
  5. All other data as provided in inputs. Any data marked “Not publicly disclosed” is based on unavailability in official sources reviewed. Verify with the institution and California BRN.

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.

Published: Mar 15, 2026 ยท Last reviewed: Mar 15, 2026 ยท Medical Review Process ยท Editorial Policy