Cerritos College Nursing (2026): ADN & NCLEX in Norwalk
🎓 Nursing School Profile

Cerritos College Nursing: Programs, NCLEX & Requirements (2026)

Cerritos College ADN in Norwalk. First-time NCLEX-RN was 100% (Recent Cohorts). Tuition and admissions requirements for 2026.

~12 min read Updated Mar 16, 2026 Expert Reviewed
100%
NCLEX-RN (Recent Cohorts)
98%
Employed as RN (1 Yr)
~$6,326
Est. Total Program Cost

Quick Facts

Type
Public, community college
Accreditation
ACEN
Programs
ADN
Est. program cost
~$6,326 (in‑state)
NCLEX Pass Rate
100% (Sp. 2024–Sp. 2025)
Application cycle
Once/year (e.g. Jan–Feb)
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Employed as RN (1 yr)
98%

Key Takeaway

Cerritos College offers an ACEN-accredited ADN with 100% first-time NCLEX pass rates for recent cohorts and strong employment outcomes. Students can start BSN coursework on campus through National University’s concurrent enrollment pathway while completing the ADN.

Overview & Why Students Choose Cerritos College

Located in Norwalk, California, in the Greater Los Angeles area, Cerritos College offers an affordable, ACEN-accredited Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) that prepares graduates for RN licensure. The program runs one application cycle per year and serves generic, LVN, LPT, military, transfer, and BRN-referral applicants through distinct entry options.

If you want a low-cost path to RN licensure with strong NCLEX outcomes and the option to start a BSN concurrently on campus, Cerritos College deserves a close look. Recent cohorts have achieved 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates, and the program reports employment and BSN-enrollment outcomes above its own targets.

100% NCLEX-RN pass rate (recent cohorts)

Cerritos College reported 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates for Spring 2024, Fall 2024, and Spring 2025. For current comparative data, confirm with the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Five reasons students choose Cerritos College

📈 NCLEX Performance

100% first-time pass rate for Spring 2024, Fall 2024, and Spring 2025; program average 95%, above national rates reported by the school.

💰 Affordable Total Cost

Estimated total program cost ~$6,326 (in-state, 2024–2025). Kaplan Live Review and UWorld NCLEX prep are covered by the college.

🎓 Multiple Entry Options

Generic (Option A), LVN-RN (Option C), 30-unit LVN (Option D), LPT/military (Option B), transfer (Option E), and BRN referral (Option F).

📚 Concurrent BSN on Campus

Partnership with National University lets students begin BSN coursework on campus while completing the ADN; also partnerships with CSULA, CSUF, and Chamberlain.

💼 Strong Employment Outcomes

98% of Fall 2024–Spring 2025 graduates employed as RNs within one year; ~70% working as RNs within 6 months of graduation.

Nursing Programs Offered

Cerritos College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) only. The program is ACEN-accredited and prepares graduates to sit for the NCLEX-RN. Admission is through one annual application cycle; applicants identify as Option A (generic), B (LPT/military), C (LVN-RN degree), D (LVN 30-unit non-degree), E (transfer), or F (BRN referral).

ADN · Generic

Option A — Generic Nursing Applicant

For students who have never been in a nursing program. Four-semester ADN with clinical rotations. Leads to ADN and RN licensure eligibility.

ADN · Advanced placement

Option B — LPT or Military

Licensed Psychiatric Technicians or applicants with relevant military education/experience seeking ADN and RN licensure.

ADN · LVN to RN

Option C — LVN to ADN

Licensed Vocational Nurses seeking an Associate Degree in Nursing. Advanced placement into the ADN program.

Non-degree

Option D — LVN 30-Unit Option

LVNs seeking RN licensure in California only without completing the ADN degree. “Non-degree” pathway.

Transfer

Option E — Transfer / Challenge

Previously enrolled in another nursing program; transfer to complete the ADN at Cerritos. Program does not admit into fourth semester; pediatrics must have been completed in the prior program.

BRN referral

Option F — BRN Referral

Nurses from another state or country referred by the California BRN to complete coursework for California RN licensure. Program offers only Maternal Health and Mental Health (no Med-Surg or Pediatric).

BSN concurrent enrollment

Cerritos has partnerships with National University (on campus), CSULA, CSUF, and Chamberlain. Students can start BSN coursework while enrolled in the ADN; National University is on campus so students can complete the BSN there within 8–12 months after graduating from Cerritos and passing the NCLEX.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

Cerritos College has reported 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates for Spring 2024, Fall 2024, and Spring 2025 graduating cohorts. The program states that its average first-time pass rate over recent years is 95%, above the national pass rates cited on its program outcomes page.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (Spring 2024)100%
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (Fall 2024)100%
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (Spring 2025)100%
Program-reported average (recent years)95%
SourceCerritos College Program Outcomes
Confirm with official sources

NCLEX statistics and benchmarks change. Always confirm the latest pass rates and any state or national comparisons with Cerritos College and the California Board of Registered Nursing before relying on them for your decision.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Cerritos College may admit international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses; exact requirements vary by visa status and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to verify with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a substitute for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether Cerritos College or the ADN program requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the college wants reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) requirements: For internationally educated nurses, confirm NCLEX eligibility, any CGFNS or BRN-referral requirements, and document/translation rules with the California BRN.
  • Visa & immigration: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other status, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements align with your visa.

Requirements change. Always confirm with Cerritos College’s admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Cerritos College’s nursing program runs one application cycle per year. The next cycle opens January 26, 2026 at 8:00 a.m. and closes February 27, 2026 at 4:00 p.m. Admissions for Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 are made from this single cycle; admission letters are sent mid-April 2026. Confirm current dates on the Cerritos College nursing homepage.

Applicant options
  • Option A: Generic (never been in a nursing program)
  • Option B: LPT or advanced placement military
  • Option C: LVN to ADN
  • Option D: LVN 30-unit (non-degree, CA RN only)
  • Option E: Transfer from another nursing program
  • Option F: BRN referral (out-of-state or foreign nurse)

Prerequisites and selection criteria vary by option. Use the program’s option-specific pages and application instructions.

Application timeline (example cycle)

PhaseDate
Applications openJanuary 26, 2026, 8:00 a.m.
Applications closeFebruary 27, 2026, 4:00 p.m.
Admission lettersMid-April 2026
Entry termsFall 2026 and Spring 2027

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance RateNot publicly disclosed
Typical GPA RangeNot publicly disclosed
TEAS RequiredNot available in the provided inputs/sources
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Apply during the open window only; missing the deadline means waiting a full year. Choose the correct option (A–F) and complete the option-specific requirements. If you are an LVN or second-degree seeker, review Option C or D and the concurrent BSN partnerships if you plan to continue to a BSN.

Advice by applicant type

🎓 Generic (Option A) applicant

Complete all prerequisites listed for Option A. Strengthen your application with strong grades in science and any healthcare exposure. Confirm whether the program uses TEAS or other exams on the current application page.

🔄 LVN or LPT / military (Options B, C, D)

Use the correct option for your goal (degree vs. 30-unit). Have your license and any military transcripts or evaluations ready. Check deadlines and document requirements for your option.

🩺 Transfer or BRN referral (Options E, F)

Option E: ensure your prior program’s pediatrics course is accepted; the program does not admit into fourth semester. Option F: confirm with the BRN and Cerritos that only Maternal Health and Mental Health are offered for BRN referrals.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Cerritos College publishes approximate program costs for the ADN. The figures below are for the Fall 2024–Spring 2025 academic year (California resident tuition rate). Out-of-state tuition for the program was not provided in the sources reviewed.

MetricValue
Tuition + campus fees + parking (per semester)$414 + $80
Nursing lab fees (per semester)$85
Estimated total program cost (4 semesters, in-state)~$6,326
Includes (in estimate)Tuition, fees, books, Kaplan iHuman/Integrated, ExamSoft, uniforms, health requirements, CPR, background check, BRN application; Kaplan Live Review and UWorld 90-day subscription paid by college
Out-of-state tuitionNot publicly disclosed
Fees, housing, books (current year)See official Cost of Program and financial aid pages
Cost note

Costs are approximate and subject to change. Students in the Concurrent Enrollment Pathway with National University have additional tuition and textbook fees. For the most current breakdown, visit the Cerritos College nursing program’s cost documents and the college Financial Aid page.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA and check Cerritos College’s financial aid office for grants, loans, and scholarships. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program may be available to qualifying nursing students.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (recent cohorts)100% (Spring 2024, Fall 2024, Spring 2025)
Employed as RN within one year (Fall 2024–Spring 2025 grads)98%
Employed as RN within 6 months (program average)~70%
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

The program reports that graduates work in acute care hospitals, long-term care, urgent care, outpatient surgery, dialysis, home health, hospice, and school nursing. For specific employer or placement data, see the school’s Program Outcomes and career services.

Is Cerritos College the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, career goals, and whether you want an ADN or BSN first. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Cerritos and who might look elsewhere.

✅ Good fit for students who…

  • Want an affordable, ACEN-accredited ADN path to RN licensure
  • Prefer a community college in the Greater Los Angeles area
  • Are LVNs, LPTs, or military seeking advanced placement or 30-unit option
  • Want to start BSN coursework on campus via National University while completing the ADN
  • Are comfortable with one application cycle per year and planning ahead

⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…

  • Need a BSN or MSN from the same institution (Cerritos offers ADN only)
  • Want multiple application windows per year
  • Prefer a four-year university with on-campus housing
  • Are out-of-state and need clear non-resident tuition and support

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Norwalk and the Greater Los Angeles area form one of the largest healthcare markets in the United States. Students have access to major hospital systems, county facilities, and community health sites across LA and Orange counties.

Why this matters

Clinical placement sites for Cerritos College nursing students were not listed in the provided inputs/sources. Contact the nursing department for a current list of partners. Southern California’s demand for RNs remains strong, and ADN graduates often work in acute care, long-term care, urgent care, dialysis, home health, and school nursing.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Cerritos College is a community college in Norwalk with nursing labs and simulation resources supporting the ADN curriculum. The program uses Kaplan iHuman and Integrated testing and provides Kaplan Live Review and UWorld NCLEX prep at no extra cost to students.

National University is on campus, enabling concurrent enrollment: once you complete your first semester of the ADN, you can apply to National University and work toward your BSN at the same time. About 35% of Cerritos nursing students are also enrolled with National University.

Student-to-faculty ratio and detailed campus life offerings for nursing students were not available in the provided inputs/sources. Check the college website for clubs, support services, and campus activities.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Norwalk, CA
Address
11110 Alondra Blvd., Norwalk, CA 90650, US
Telephone
(562) 860-2451
Contact email
See nursing program website for department contact
Website
www.cerritos.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Cerritos College nursing website and note the next application cycle dates (e.g. Jan 26–Feb 27).
  • Review the option that applies to you (A–F) and the prerequisite or document list on the program’s option pages.
  • If required, register for the TEAS or any other exam. Confirm current admission requirements on the Cerritos nursing application page.
  • Draft a list of questions for the nursing department or admissions.
  • Reach out to current Cerritos nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and the concurrent BSN pathway.
  • Gather transcripts, license info (if LVN/LPT), or BRN referral paperwork as needed for your option.
  • Set a reminder for the application open date so you don’t miss the single annual cycle.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Cerritos College a good school for nursing?

Cerritos College’s nursing program is ACEN-accredited and has reported 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates for Spring 2024, Fall 2024, and Spring 2025 cohorts, with 98% of Fall 2024–Spring 2025 graduates employed as RNs within one year. The program is known for affordable cost and concurrent BSN options on campus.

What GPA do you need for Cerritos College nursing?

Minimum GPA requirements are not publicly disclosed. Check the official Cerritos College nursing application and option-specific pages for current prerequisites and selection criteria.

Does Cerritos College require the TEAS exam for nursing?

TEAS requirement was not available in the provided inputs/sources. Confirm current admission requirements (including TEAS or other exams) on the Cerritos College nursing program website before applying.

How competitive is admission to Cerritos College’s nursing program?

The program accepts applications once per year. Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Selection criteria should be confirmed with the nursing department.

Does Cerritos College offer an accelerated BSN?

Cerritos College offers an ADN only. It has concurrent enrollment partnerships with National University (on campus), CSULA, CSUF, and Chamberlain so students can start BSN coursework while completing the ADN.

What are the clinical placement sites for Cerritos College nursing students?

Specific clinical placement sites were not available in the provided inputs/sources. Contact the Cerritos College nursing department for a current list of clinical partners in the Greater Los Angeles area.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Cerritos College?

Cerritos College reported 100% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates for Spring 2024, Fall 2024, and Spring 2025. The program reports an average first-time pass rate of 95% over recent years. Confirm current data with the school and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

References

  1. Cerritos College Nursing Program — Homepage and application cyclecerritos.edu/nursing
  2. Cerritos College Program Outcomes — NCLEX, completion, employmentcerritos.edu/registered-nurse/f2024/program-outcomes.htm
  3. Cerritos College Registered Nursing — Application options (A–F)cerritos.edu/registered-nurse
  4. Cerritos College Cost of Program (Fall 2024–Spring 2025)cerritos.edu (PDF)
  5. Cerritos College Financial Aidcerritos.edu/financial-aid
  6. California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.

Published: Mar 15, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy