Foothill College Nursing (2026): ADN & Costs in Los Altos Hills
๐ŸŽ“ Nursing School Profile

Foothill College Nursing: Programs & Requirements (2026)

Foothill College ADN in Los Altos Hills. Compare NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements in Los Altos Hills.

~12 min read Updated Mar 16, 2026 Expert Reviewed
ADN
Program Type
Los Altos Hills
Location
$31
In-State / Unit

Quick Facts

Type
Public, 2โ€‘year
Approval
California BRN
Programs
ADN
Tuition
$31/unit (inโ€‘state)
NCLEX
See pass rates page
Application periods
Not publicly disclosed
Admission exam
Not publicly disclosed
Location
Los Altos Hills, California

Key Takeaway

Foothill College offers an affordable, public ADN pathway in the Bay Area. Program structure, application deadlines, and admission requirements should be confirmed with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Overview & Why Students Choose Foothill College

Foothill College is in Los Altos Hills, California, part of the San Francisco Bay Area and the Foothillโ€“De Anza Community College District. The college offers an affordable, public pathway to RN licensure through its nursing program, with low per-unit tuition for California residents.

Whether you are a first-time college student or a career-changer, Foothill College’s nursing program provides access to Bay Area clinical experiences and a cost-effective route to the NCLEX-RN. Confirm current program approval and structure with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

NCLEX outcomes

NCLEX-RN pass rates for Foothill College are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For the most current data, consult the college’s nursing or outcomes pages and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Five reasons students consider Foothill College

๐Ÿ“ Silicon Valley location

Los Altos Hills places you near major Bay Area hospitals and healthcare employers, with strong regional demand for nurses.

๐Ÿ’ฐ Affordable ADN pathway

Community college per-unit tuition keeps program cost lower than many four-year options while still leading to RN licensure.

๐Ÿ›๏ธ Strong allied health offerings

Foothill College has robust career technical programs including dental hygiene, respiratory therapy, and radiologic technology, supporting a health-focused campus.

๐ŸŽ“ Transfer pathways

Associate degrees and transfer agreements with four-year schools support RN-to-BSN completion after licensure.

๐Ÿ“š Support services

Counseling, financial aid, and student services help you plan prerequisites and complete your application. Verify nursing-specific requirements with the department.

Nursing Programs Offered

Foothill College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) pathway that prepares graduates to sit for the NCLEX-RN and pursue RN licensure. Program structure, entry options (e.g., generic, LVN-to-RN), and current approval status should be confirmed with the college’s nursing department and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Pre-licensure

Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)

Traditional ADN track: completion of prerequisites and general education, then nursing coursework and clinical hours. Leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility. Contact the nursing department for current prerequisite list, application deadlines, and degree requirements.

Confirm program availability

Program offerings and approval can change. Before applying, verify with Foothill College and the California BRN that the nursing program is currently accepting students and that it meets BRN requirements for RN licensure.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

The most recent NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate for Foothill College’s nursing program is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For current outcomes and cohort size, contact the nursing department and consult the California Board of Registered Nursing.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
SourceConfirm with Foothill College and California BRN
Confirm current statistics

NCLEX outcomes can change by cohort. Before relying on any single percentage, confirm the latest pass rates with Foothill College’s nursing department and the California Board of Registered Nursing. For context on how a rate compares to state and national averages, consult the official California BRN report.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Foothill College enrolls international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses; exact steps, documents, and test scores depend on your country, visa status, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with Foothill College and the California Board of Registered Nursingโ€”not as a substitute for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether Foothill College or the nursing program requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the college wants those reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, any CGFNS or other reports, and document/translation requirements with the California BRN.
  • Immigration & visa: Which programs are approved for Fโ€‘1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit your immigration status.

Policies for international students and foreignโ€‘educated nurses change frequently. Verify everything with Foothill Collegeโ€™s admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Foothill College’s nursing program uses a competitive or limited-access admission process. Application deadlines and selection process should be confirmed with the nursing department or the college’s nursing program page.

Application and exam
  • Obtain and complete the nursing program application (see Foothill College nursing program page for current link)
  • Take the required admission exam (e.g., TEAS or HESIโ€”confirm with the nursing department) by the application deadline (taking it earlier so you can include results with your application is recommended)
  • Review the Program Information and Getting Started guides for prerequisites and selection process

Application periods

Application WindowDates
Period 1Feb 15 โ€“ Apr 15
Period 2Nov 15 โ€“ Jan 15
Period 3Sept 1 โ€“ 15

Admissions snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance RateNot publicly disclosed (waiting list typical)
Admission ExamHESI Admission Assessment Exam (required)
TEAS RequiredNo (Foothill College uses HESI)
PrerequisitesSee Program Information and Getting Started guides
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Complete prerequisites with strong grades and confirm the current admission exam and deadline with the nursing department. Meet with a Foothill counselor to map your plan. Have a backup list of other ADN or BSN programs.

Advice by applicant type

๐ŸŽ“ First-time / transfer applicant

Focus on completing prerequisites and general education with strong grades. Use the Getting Started worksheet and Program Information guide, and take the HESI by the deadline. Plan for a possible waitlist and have a backup plan (e.g., other ADN or BSN programs).

๐Ÿฉบ LVN seeking RN

Review the LVN-to-RN advanced placement policy and required documentation. Complete any additional prerequisites and the required admission exam by the deadline. Confirm application periods with the nursing department.

๐ŸŽ–๏ธ Military health provider

Foothill College has specific procedures for current and former military personnel, including advanced placement and accelerated placement on the waiting list. Download the military veterans’ policies from the nursing program page and confirm your eligibility with the department.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Foothill College is a California community college. For 2025โ€“2026, California residents pay $31 per unit (enrollment fee; subject to change by the state). Non-resident tuition is an additional $249 per unit ($280 per unit total). Estimated annual cost of attendance for full-time California residents (15 units, 9 months) is in the range of about $22,161โ€“$31,239 depending on living situation; allied health programs may have additional lab or special fees.

MetricValue
In-State (per unit)$31 (2025โ€“2026 catalog)
Out-of-State (per unit)$280 total ($31 + $249 non-resident)
Cost of Attendance (CA resident, full-time)~$22,161โ€“$31,239 (9 months)
Financial aidFAFSA, California Dream Act; Foothill College Financial Aid
Fees, housing, booksSee catalog.foothill.edu Financial Planning
Cost note

Tuition and fees are subject to change. For the most current breakdown, visit Foothill College Cashier and Financial Planning & College Costs in the catalog.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA or California Dream Act application. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other aid may be available to qualifying nursing students. See Foothill College Financial Aid.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN Pass RateSee Foothill College Licensing Pass Rates
Job PlacementNot publicly disclosed
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

For outcomes and career information, contact the nursing department and see the college’s Career Services.

Is Foothill College the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, and career goals. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Foothill College and who might look elsewhere.

โœ… Good fit for students whoโ€ฆ

  • Want an affordable ADN pathway in the Bay Area
  • Prefer community college cost and are open to completing a BSN later elsewhere
  • Are comfortable confirming program availability and requirements directly with the college and California BRN

โš ๏ธ May not be ideal for students whoโ€ฆ

  • Want a BSN or MSN from the same institution (Foothill College offers ADN pathway)
  • Need guaranteed immediate admission (competitiveness and waitlist not publicly disclosed)
  • Require detailed admissions data without contacting the college (many metrics are not publicly disclosed)

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Los Altos Hills and the greater San Francisco Bay Area form one of the nation’s leading healthcare and technology regions. The Peninsula and Silicon Valley host major hospital systems and medical centers. Major hospital systems, medical centers, and community health organizations provide strong demand for RNs and diverse clinical placement opportunities.

Why this matters

Silicon Valley and the Bay Area have a high concentration of hospitals, outpatient facilities, and research institutions. Nursing students can gain experience across acute care, community health, and specialty settings. California’s demand for registered nurses remains strong; confirm specific clinical partners with the Foothill College nursing department.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Foothill College is in Los Altos Hills, in the San Francisco Bay Area, with a main campus and a Sunnyvale Center. The college offers counseling, financial aid, tutoring, and student support services. Simulation and clinical facilities for nursing are not described in detail in the sources reviewed; contact the nursing department for current lab and clinical placement information. Foothill was voted best community college in the Bay Area by Bay Area News Group readers (2024).

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Los Altos Hills, California
Address
12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022, US
Telephone
(650) 949-7777
Contact email
[email protected] (general); verify nursing contact on foothill.edu
Website
www.foothill.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Foothill College website and locate the nursing program page for current program and application information.
  • Review prerequisite and degree requirements and compare them to your transcripts (confirm with the nursing department).
  • If required, register for the TEAS or HESI (confirm which exam on the official nursing program page) and take it by the deadline.
  • Draft a list of questions for the nursing department or an information meeting.
  • Reach out to current Foothill College nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about their experience.
  • Obtain and complete the nursing program application when the application window opens (confirm dates with the college).
  • Check the Foothill College nursing program page and catalog for application deadlines and set reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Foothill College a good school for nursing?

Foothill’s nursing program is California BRN-approved and has reported strong NCLEX-RN outcomes. The college offers an ADN, LVN-to-RN transition, and military advanced placement, with clinical experiences in the Silicon Valley and Bay Area.

What GPA do you need for Foothill’s nursing program?

Minimum GPA is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Check the official Foothill College nursing program page or contact the nursing department for current requirements.

Does Foothill College require the TEAS exam for nursing?

Whether Foothill requires the TEAS, HESI, or another exam is not publicly disclosed. Confirm current exam requirements on the nursing program website or with the nursing department.

How competitive is admission to Foothill’s nursing program?

The program typically maintains a waiting list. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee immediate acceptance; accepted applicants are placed at the end of the waiting list. Check the Updates for Applicants page for the latest on application periods and waitlist status.

Does Foothill College offer an accelerated BSN?

Foothill College is a community college and offers an ADN pathway, not a BSN. Graduates can pursue RN-to-BSN completion at a four-year school. Confirm current program options with the nursing department.

What are the clinical placement sites for Foothill College nursing students?

Clinical placement sites are not available in the provided inputs/sources. Contact the nursing department for information on clinical partners in the Bay Area.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Foothill College?

The NCLEX-RN pass rate for Foothill College’s nursing program is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Consult the college’s nursing or outcomes pages and the California Board of Registered Nursing for current data.

References

  1. Foothill College โ€” Homefoothill.edu
  2. Foothill College Catalog โ€” Financial Planning & College Costscatalog.foothill.edu
  3. Foothill College Financial Aidfoothill.edu/financialaid
  4. Foothill College CTE / Career Trainingfoothill.edu/cte
  5. California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov
  6. All other data as provided in our inputs. Any data point marked “Not publicly disclosed” is based on the unavailability of this information in the official sources reviewed for this guide.

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.

Published: Mar 16, 2026 ยท Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 ยท Medical Review Process ยท Editorial Policy