Grossmont College Nursing Programs: What to Know (2026)
Grossmont College reported 96% first-time NCLEX-RN (Pass Rate). ADN in El Cajon. 2026 admissions, nursing programs.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
Grossmont College’s ADN program combines four semesters of nursing coursework with clinical experience at local hospitals and health agencies in the San Diego region. The program is ACEN-accredited and BRN-approved, with strong NCLEX performance and high on-time completionโa solid, affordable path to RN licensure in California.
Overview & Why Students Choose Grossmont
Located in El Cajon, California, in the San Diego metropolitan area, Grossmont College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) that prepares graduates for NCLEX-RN and practice in critical, acute, chronic, ambulatory, and home health care settings. The program combines four semesters of nursing courses with prerequisite and general education requirements, and places students in local hospitals and health agencies under the guidance of nursing faculty.
If you are looking for an affordable, ACEN-accredited path to RN licensure with strong reported outcomes and a supportive learning environment, Grossmont’s nursing program deserves a close look.
Grossmont’s 2024-2025 program outcomes report a 96% annual NCLEX-RN pass rate. For context on how this compares to state and national averages, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing report.
Five reasons students choose Grossmont
๐ NCLEX Performance
96% annual NCLEX-RN pass rate (2024-2025) with 80.5% job placement and 89.8% on-time completion.
๐ฅ San Diego Clinical Placements
Nursing science didactic is coordinated with laboratory experience in local hospitals and health agencies under faculty guidance.
โ ACEN & BRN Approved
Program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing.
๐ต Community College Value
California community college tuition makes the ADN an affordable route to RN licensure; many graduates later pursue RN-to-BSN at four-year schools.
๐ Strong Graduate Feedback
Graduates consistently cite dedicated faculty, strong preparation for practice, and a supportive program culture.
Nursing Programs Offered
Grossmont College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) that prepares individuals for national licensure to practice professional nursing in critical, acute, chronic, ambulatory, and home health care settings.
Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)
For students without previous nursing education, nursing courses cover four semesters plus prerequisite science courses. Nursing science didactic is coordinated with laboratory experience in local hospitals and health agencies under the guidance of nursing faculty. The major also requires selected general education courses from the natural, behavioral, and social sciences. Leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility.
Grossmont College does not offer a BSN, MSN, or DNP. Graduates who want a bachelor’s or advanced degree typically transfer to a four-year institution for RN-to-BSN or graduate programs.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
Grossmont College reports program outcomes annually. The 2024-2025 annual NCLEX-RN pass rate was 96%. Previous years: 97.3% (2023-2024) and 98.5% (2022-2023), as reported on the Grossmont College Nursing Program website.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN Pass Rate (2024-2025) | 96% |
| On-Time Completion Rate (2024-2025) | 89.8% |
| Job Placement Rate (2024-2025) | 80.5% |
| Source | Grossmont College Nursing Program |
NCLEX outcomes can change by cohort. For the most current pass rates and state comparisons, confirm with the California Board of Registered Nursing and the Grossmont College nursing program.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
Grossmont College may admit international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses, but exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa category, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with Grossmont and the California Board of Registered Nursing; never as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether Grossmont or the district requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam for non-native English speakers, and minimum scores for the ADN program.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the college wants those reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document translation requirements with the California BRN.
- Immigration & visa support: Whether the ADN program is approved for Fโ1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.
Policies for international students and foreignโeducated nurses change frequently. Before you rely on any single blog, video, or forum post, verify everything with Grossmontโs admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Grossmont College’s ADN program has limited seats. Applications are accepted only during published windows: January 1โ31 for fall start and July 1โ31 for spring start. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance.
- Fall start: Application period Jan 1โJan 31
- Spring start: Application period July 1โJuly 31
- Prerequisite and selection criteria are detailed on the nursing program’s Future Students page; contact the nursing office for current requirements (GPA, TEAS or other exams, etc.).
Application timeline
| Program Start | Application Period |
|---|---|
| Fall | January 1 โ January 31 |
| Spring | July 1 โ July 31 |
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Typical GPA Range | Not publicly disclosed |
| TEAS Required | Not available in the provided inputs/sourcesโconfirm on official admissions page |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Not publicly disclosed |
Complete all prerequisites and general education requirements before or during the application window. Download the program brochure and review the Future Students section on the Grossmont nursing website. Contact the nursing office early with questions about selection criteria and deadlines.
Advice by applicant type
๐ First-time college / high school applicant
Complete prerequisite science and general education courses with strong grades. Use the Grossmont nursing Future Students page to plan your timeline. Healthcare volunteer work or shadowing can strengthen your application and confirm your interest.
๐ Second-degree / career-change applicant
Grossmont offers an ADN only (no accelerated BSN). Plan for four semesters of nursing courses plus prerequisites. Highlight any healthcare-adjacent experience in your materials. After earning your RN, you can pursue RN-to-BSN at a four-year school.
๐ฉบ LVN or other healthcare experience
Check with the nursing department whether advanced placement or LVN-to-RN options are available. Emphasize your clinical experience and readiness for the ADN curriculum in any required statements or interviews.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Grossmont College is part of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District. California community colleges charge per unit; in-state tuition is typically lower than at four-year institutions. Fees, books, and living costs are not provided in the sources reviewed for this guide.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Tuition (In-State) | Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs/sources |
| Tuition (Out-of-State) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Fees, Books, Housing | Not publicly disclosed |
For current tuition, fees, and cost of attendance, visit the official Grossmont College Tuition and Fees page or the district website.
Complete the FAFSA to determine eligibility for federal and state aid. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other nursing-specific scholarships may be available; check the Grossmont financial aid office and nursing program for opportunities.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN Pass Rate (2024-2025) | 96% |
| Job Placement Rate (2024-2025) | 80.5% |
| On-Time Completion (2024-2025) | 89.8% |
| Continue on to Advanced Degrees | 90% (2024-2025) |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For information about employers hiring Grossmont nursing graduates, see the program’s outcomes page and the college’s career services at grossmont.edu/academics/programs/nursing.
Is Grossmont the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, and career goals. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Grossmont and who might look elsewhere.
โ Good fit for students whoโฆ
- Want an affordable, ACEN-accredited ADN path to RN licensure
- Prefer a community college setting in the San Diego / El Cajon area
- Are prepared for a competitive application window and four semesters of nursing courses
- Plan to work as an RN and possibly pursue RN-to-BSN later
- Value strong reported NCLEX and job placement outcomes
โ ๏ธ May not be ideal for students whoโฆ
- Are seeking a BSN, MSN, or DNP directly from the same institution
- Need an accelerated BSN (ABSN) or fully online pre-licensure program
- Prefer a four-year university with graduate nursing options
- Live outside California and want in-state tuition elsewhere
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
El Cajon and the greater San Diego region form one of the largest healthcare markets in California. Major hospital systems, community hospitals, and outpatient facilities provide a wide range of clinical placement opportunities for nursing students.
Grossmont’s nursing program coordinates laboratory and clinical experience at local hospitals and health agencies under the guidance of nursing faculty. Specific site names were not listed in the provided sources; the nursing department can confirm current clinical partners.
San Diego County has strong demand for RNs across acute, ambulatory, and community settings. Graduates of Grossmont’s ADN program are well positioned to seek employment in the region or pursue RN-to-BSN at nearby four-year schools.
Student Experience & Campus Life
Grossmont College’s nursing program is located in Building 34 (nursing office: Room 256). Didactic and lab experiences are coordinated with clinical rotations at local hospitals and health agencies.
Graduates consistently report that faculty are dedicated and supportive and that the program prepared them well for safe, competent practice. The college is part of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District and serves a diverse student body in the East County San Diego area.
For details on simulation labs, student organizations, and campus resources, visit the Grossmont College website and the nursing program’s Current Students page.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- El Cajon, CA
- Address
- 8800 Grossmont College Dr, El Cajon, CA 92020, US
- Telephone
- (619) 644-7300
- Contact email
- grossmont.nursing@gcccd.edu
- Website
- www.grossmont.edu (Nursing)
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official Grossmont Nursing website and download the program brochure if available.
- Review the prerequisite and general education requirements on the Future Students page and compare them to your transcripts.
- Confirm whether the TEAS or another exam is required; check the official nursing application page or contact the nursing office.
- Draft a list of questions for the nursing department (Building 34, Office 256; grossmont.nursing@gcccd.edu).
- Reach out to current or former Grossmont nursing students on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
- Begin outlining any required personal statement or prepare for interviews if applicable.
- Note the application window for your target term (Jan 1โ31 for fall; July 1โ31 for spring) and set reminders.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Grossmont College a good school for nursing?
Grossmont College’s ADN program is ACEN-accredited and California BRN-approved. The program reported a 96% annual NCLEX-RN pass rate for 2024-2025, with strong on-time completion and job placement. Graduates consistently praise faculty support and preparation for practice.
What GPA do you need for Grossmont College nursing?
Grossmont College does not publish a minimum GPA in the sources reviewed for this guide. Prerequisite and selection criteria are detailed in the nursing application materials. Contact the nursing department or review the official Future Students page for current requirements.
Does Grossmont College require the TEAS exam for nursing?
TEAS requirement is not explicitly stated in the provided sources. Confirm current admission requirements (including TEAS or other standardized tests) on the official Grossmont College nursing application page or with the nursing office.
How competitive is admission to Grossmont College nursing program?
Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. The ADN program has limited seats and uses an application window (Jan 1โ31 for fall; July 1โ31 for spring). Applicants should complete prerequisites and meet all stated requirements; contact the nursing department for selection criteria.
Does Grossmont College offer an accelerated BSN?
No. Grossmont College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) only. The program includes four semesters of nursing courses plus prerequisite coursework. Graduates are eligible for NCLEX-RN; many later pursue RN-to-BSN at four-year schools.
What are the clinical placement sites for Grossmont College nursing students?
Clinical placements are at local hospitals and health agencies in the San Diego/El Cajon region under the guidance of nursing faculty. Specific site names were not listed in the provided sources; confirm current sites with the nursing department or student handbook.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for Grossmont College?
Grossmont College reported a 96% annual NCLEX-RN pass rate for 2024-2025. Previous years were 97.3% (2023-2024) and 98.5% (2022-2023). For the latest rates and state comparisons, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing.
References
- Grossmont College Nursing Program โ Program outcomes, accreditation, contactgrossmont.edu/academics/programs/nursing
- Grossmont College Nursing โ Future Studentsgrossmont.edu (Future Students)
- Tuition and cost of attendancegrossmont.edu (Tuition & Fees)
- California Board of Registered Nursing โ NCLEX pass rates and licensurern.ca.gov
- Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) โ Grossmont College programacenursing.org
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 16, 2026 ยท Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 ยท Medical Review Process ยท Editorial Policy
