National University Nursing Program Review (2026): Programs, Requirements & Outcomes
BSN, RN-to-BSN, and MSN in San Diego at National University. 2026 admissions, NCLEX-RN pass rate.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
National University is the first academic institution to achieve Planetree Silver Recognition, reflecting a commitment to person-centered, compassionate health professions education. NU offers a four-week course format, flexible online and hybrid nursing programs from BSN through DNP and DNAP, and partnerships for clinical and community engagement. Confirm current NCLEX outcomes and tuition with the school and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Overview & Why Students Choose NU
National University, headquartered in San Diego, California, serves working adults and offers nursing programs through its School of Health Professions. The Department of Nursing prepares students for patient-centered care with a broad range of programs from BSN through DNP and Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice (DNAP), plus post-graduate certificates. NU is the first academic institution to achieve Planetree Silver Recognition for person-centered health professions education.
Whether you are seeking a pre-licensure BSN (generic or second bachelor’s), an RN-to-BSN, an LVN-to-RN option, an MSN, or a doctoral program, NU’s Department of Nursing offers flexible formats including online and hybrid options and a four-week course model designed for busy adults.
The most recent NCLEX-RN pass rate for National University was not available in the provided inputs. For current pass rates by school, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing report.
Five reasons students choose National University for nursing
⭐ Planetree Silver
NU is the first academic institution to achieve Planetree Silver Recognition for person-centered, compassionate health professions education.
📅 Four-week courses
Focus on one subject at a time and progress through your program quickly—especially beneficial for working adults.
💻 Flexible formats
Many programs, including RN-to-BSN and graduate nursing, are offered fully online or in hybrid formats.
🎓 BSN through DNP / DNAP
Pathways from pre-licensure BSN (California), RN-to-BSN, LVN-to-RN 30-unit option, MSN, DNP Executive Leadership, and Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice.
🏥 Practice partnerships
Academic-practice partnerships and community engagement support clinical experiences and real-world health outcomes; HRSA-funded nurse-managed clinic and virtual healthcare initiatives.
Nursing Programs Offered
National University’s Department of Nursing offers undergraduate and graduate programs plus certificates. Program formats include online and hybrid options; many use the university’s four-week course model. Verify current accreditation and BRN approval for California programs on the NU nursing page and the California BRN.
BSN – Generic Entry (California)
Pre-licensure BSN for California; leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility. Confirm structure and clinical requirements on the NU nursing program page.
BSN – Second Bachelor (California)
For students who already hold a bachelor’s degree; second-degree pathway to BSN and RN licensure in California.
RN to BSN
For working RNs with an ADN or diploma. Flexible online format; designed for busy professionals.
LVN to RN 30 Unit Option
California certificate option for licensed vocational nurses to meet RN eligibility requirements; complete third and fourth semesters of the RN curriculum.
Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)
Graduate nursing program; flexible formats. Confirm tracks and delivery (online/hybrid) on the NU website.
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) – Executive Leadership
Practice doctorate focused on executive leadership in nursing.
Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice (DNAP)
Doctoral program for nurse anesthesia practice.
NU offers Post Graduate Family Nurse Practitioner and Post Graduate Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner certificates, plus a Graduate Certificate in Nursing Quality and Safety. Verify current offerings on the NU nursing degrees page.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
The most recent NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate for National University was not available in the provided inputs/sources. California programs report outcomes to the California Board of Registered Nursing, which publishes pass rates by institution.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Job Placement (e.g. within 6 months) | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
| Source for current data | California Board of Registered Nursing |
NCLEX pass rates can change by cohort. Before making a decision, confirm the latest NCLEX statistics for National University with the school’s nursing department and the official California Board of Registered Nursing report.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
NU admits international students and California licenses internationally educated nurses, but the **exact steps, documents, and test scores** vary by country, visa category, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with NU and the California Board of Registered Nursing—never as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether NU currently requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how NU wants those reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure (with or without a U.S. degree), confirm NCLEX eligibility steps, any CGFNS-type reports, and document translation requirements directly with the Board.
- Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.
Policies for international students and foreign‑educated nurses change frequently. Before you rely on any single blog, video, or forum post, cross‑check everything with NU’s International Admissions team and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
National University serves working adults with flexible start dates (rolling or monthly, depending on program). Nursing admission criteria and application steps are set by the Department of Nursing. Confirm current requirements, deadlines, and prerequisites on the official NU nursing and admissions pages.
- Pre-licensure BSN: Prerequisites, minimum GPA (if any), TEAS or other exam requirements, and application deadlines.
- RN-to-BSN / MSN / DNP / DNAP: RN license, prior degree and GPA expectations, and any standardized test or interview requirements.
- Application and start dates vary by program; check nu.edu and the School of Health Professions / nursing pages.
Admissions snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance rate (nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum GPA / prerequisites | Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs; verify with NU |
| TEAS or other exam | Not available in the provided inputs; verify with NU |
| Application deadlines | Varies by program; rolling or monthly starts common |
Contact NU admissions or the Department of Nursing for current requirements, application windows, and program-specific criteria. Use the official NU nursing and tuition pages to plan cost and timeline.
By applicant type
🎓 Pre-licensure (BSN generic or second bachelor)
Confirm prerequisites, GPA, and any entrance exam or interview with NU. Strong grades in science and math generally help; healthcare experience can strengthen your application.
🔄 Second-degree / career-change
NU offers BSN Second Bachelor (California) and Generic Entry BSN (California). Check current structure and prerequisites. If you already have a bachelor’s and RN license, RN-to-BSN or MSN may fit your goals.
🩺 RN seeking advancement
RN-to-BSN, MSN, DNP, and DNAP are designed for working nurses. Confirm GPA, license, and application requirements on the NU nursing and admissions pages.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Tuition at National University varies by program and format. Specific tuition and fee figures for nursing programs were not available in the provided inputs. NU publishes tuition information on its admissions site; many programs use a per-unit or per-course structure consistent with the university’s four-week course model.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Undergraduate (BSN, RN-to-BSN) Tuition | Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs |
| Graduate (MSN, DNP, DNAP) Tuition | Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs |
| Fees (e.g. clinical, technology) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Financial Aid | FAFSA and NU scholarships apply; see nu.edu/admissions/financial-aid-and-scholarships |
For current tuition, fees, and cost of attendance, visit the official NU Tuition page.
Complete the FAFSA and check NU’s scholarships and financial aid options. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other nursing-specific aid may be available to qualifying students.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Job Placement (e.g. within 6 months) | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For information about specific employers hiring NU nursing graduates, see the school’s outcomes or career services page at nu.edu (nursing).
Is NU the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and life circumstances. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at NU and who might be better served elsewhere.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Are working adults and want flexible online or hybrid nursing programs
- Prefer a four-week course format to focus on one subject at a time
- Want BSN (generic, second degree, or RN-to-BSN), MSN, DNP, or DNAP options
- Value person-centered education (NU has Planetree Silver Recognition)
- Are in or near California and considering San Diego–area or online programs
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Prefer a large research university with a PhD in Nursing
- Want a traditional semester-based, fully on-campus pre-licensure BSN only
- Need the lowest possible tuition (private tuition; confirm current rates on nu.edu)
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
San Diego and Southern California are major healthcare regions with numerous hospital systems and medical centers. National University partners with local hospitals, community clinics, and healthcare organizations for clinical training; the university has also expanded mobile health initiatives and received HRSA funding for the Dr. Gloria J. McNeal Nurse-Managed Clinic.
| Context | Details |
|---|---|
| San Diego / Southern California | Major hospital systems and medical centers; strong demand for RNs and advanced practice nurses. |
| NU partnerships | Academic-practice partnerships with local hospitals, clinics, and community organizations; mobile health and nurse-managed clinic initiatives. |
| Regional demand | California has strong demand for nurses; confirm current clinical placement sites with the NU nursing department. |
This concentration of facilities means NU students gain exposure to diverse clinical settings—from high-acuity surgical care to maternal-child health, veteran populations, and community health—all within a manageable geographic area. California’s statewide RN demand remains strong.
Student Experience & Campus Life
National University is designed for working adults with flexible scheduling and a four-week course format so students focus on one subject at a time. The School of Health Professions is the first academic institution to achieve Planetree Silver Recognition for person-centered health professions education. NU has partnered with Axon Park to build a virtual healthcare learning environment and offers online and hybrid nursing programs alongside in-person options where applicable.
Clinical and community engagement are emphasized; partnerships with local hospitals, community clinics, and the HRSA-funded nurse-managed clinic support real-world learning. For program-specific simulation labs, campus locations, and student organizations, confirm with the NU Department of Nursing and student services.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- San Diego, CA (headquarters)
- Address
- 9388 Lightwave Ave, San Diego, CA 92123, US
- Telephone
- (858) 541-7784
- Contact email
- See nu.edu/admissions and School of Health Professions for program contacts
- Website
- www.nu.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official NU Nursing programs page and review the program that fits your goals (BSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN, DNP, DNAP, or certificates).
- Review prerequisite and admission requirements for your target program on the NU website and compare them to your transcripts.
- If the program requires the TEAS or another exam, confirm on the official admissions or nursing page and register if needed.
- Draft a list of questions for an NU admissions counselor or the Department of Nursing.
- Reach out to current NU nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about the four-week format and clinical experiences.
- Begin outlining your personal statement (graduate programs) or prepare application materials (BSN applicants).
- Check application deadlines for your target program and term; NU often has rolling or monthly starts—confirm on nu.edu.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is National University a good school for nursing?
National University offers BSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN, DNP, and DNAP programs with flexible online and hybrid formats and a four-week course model. NU is the first academic institution to achieve Planetree Silver Recognition for person-centered health professions education. NCLEX pass rate and job placement were not available in the provided inputs; confirm with the school and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
What GPA do you need for NU’s nursing program?
Minimum GPA and prerequisite requirements are set by the nursing department. Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs. Check the official NU nursing program and admissions pages for current requirements.
Does NU require the TEAS exam for nursing?
TEAS or other entrance exam requirements are not available in the provided inputs. Verify current requirements on the official National University nursing program or admissions page.
How competitive is admission to NU’s nursing program?
Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. NU serves working adults and often has rolling or monthly starts; confirm selection criteria and application deadlines with the NU Department of Nursing and admissions.
Does NU offer an accelerated BSN?
NU offers a BSN – Second Bachelor (California) for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree, and a Generic Entry BSN (California) for pre-licensure students. RN-to-BSN is available for licensed RNs. Confirm current program names and structure on the NU nursing page.
What are the clinical placement sites for NU nursing students?
Clinical placement sites were not available in the provided inputs. NU has academic-practice partnerships with local hospitals and community clinics and has received HRSA funding for a nurse-managed clinic. Confirm current clinical partners with the NU Department of Nursing.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for NU?
The most recent NCLEX-RN pass rate for National University was not available in the provided inputs. For current pass rates by school, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing annual reports.
References
- National University School of Health Professions – Nursingnu.edu (nursing)
- NU Admissionsnu.edu/admissions
- NU Tuitionnu.edu/admissions/tuition
- California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX pass rates and school approvalrn.ca.gov
- Tuition and other data as provided in inputs. Data points marked “Not publicly disclosed” or “Not available in the provided inputs/sources” reflect unavailability in sources reviewed for this guide.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 16, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
