Orange Coast College Nursing (2026): ADN, Costa Mesa
🎓 Nursing School Profile

Orange Coast College Nursing: Programs & Requirements (2026)

Orange Coast College in Costa Mesa offers ADN. Compare NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements in Costa Mesa.

~12 min read Updated Mar 16, 2026 Expert Reviewed
ADN
Program
Costa Mesa
Location
Public
Community College

Quick Facts

Type
Public, community college
Accreditation
ACEN, CA BRN
Programs
ADN, LVN→RN, CEP
In‑state tuition
Not publicly disclosed
NCLEX Pass Rate
Not publicly disclosed
Deadlines
Not publicly disclosed
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Job in 6 Mo
81%

Key Takeaway

Orange Coast College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) in Costa Mesa as part of the Coast Community College District. The district includes OCC, Golden West College, and Coastline College; nursing application processes may be shared. Confirm current programs, accreditation, and deadlines with OCC and the district.

Overview & Why Students Choose Orange Coast College

Orange Coast College, in Costa Mesa, Orange County, is part of the Coast Community College District and offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) program. The college serves students seeking an affordable path to RN licensure in one of California’s largest community college districts.

OCC’s nursing program is housed within the Health Sciences division. Application and curriculum may be coordinated with the district; prospective students should confirm current program offerings, accreditation status, and application windows with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Coast Community College District

OCC is one of three colleges in the district (with Golden West College and Coastline College). Nursing application processes and program details may be shared across the district; verify with OCC’s Nursing or Health Sciences department for the most current information.

Five reasons students consider Orange Coast College

📍 Costa Mesa Location

Central Orange County location with access to hospitals and healthcare systems in the greater Los Angeles and Orange County region.

💰 Public Community College

California community college tuition and fees; confirm current per-unit cost and total cost of attendance with the college.

🎓 ADN Path to RN

Associate Degree in Nursing leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility; after licensure, graduates may pursue RN-to-BSN at four-year schools.

🏥 Orange County Clinical Access

Orange County has strong demand for nurses and numerous clinical placement opportunities; confirm current sites with the program.

📜 Accreditation

Accreditation status is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed; confirm with OCC and the California BRN before applying.

Nursing Programs Offered

Orange Coast College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) program. The ADN is a pre-licensure program that leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility. OCC is part of the Coast Community College District; application processes and additional pathways (e.g., LVN to RN, concurrent BSN enrollment) may be coordinated at the district level—confirm current offerings with the OCC Nursing or Health Sciences department.

Pre-Licensure

Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)

Nursing curriculum with clinical practicum leading to RN licensure (NCLEX-RN). Prerequisites and unit requirements are set by the program; contact OCC for the current curriculum, prerequisites, and application requirements.

Application and deadlines

Application windows and deadlines are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. The Coast Community College District (OCC, Golden West, Coastline) may use a shared nursing application; you typically need a student ID and email from one of the district colleges. Check the OCC website and Health Sciences/Nursing pages for current filing periods.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate for Orange Coast College is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. Outcomes may be reported to the California Board of Registered Nursing and sometimes shared on the college or district website.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
SourceOrange Coast College; California Board of Registered Nursing
Confirm with official sources

Before relying on any single percentage, confirm the latest NCLEX statistics with Orange Coast College and the California Board of Registered Nursing. For state or national comparisons, consult the Board’s official reports.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Orange Coast College and the Coast Community College District may admit international students; California licenses internationally educated nurses. Exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa type, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with OCC (or the district) and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a replacement for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether OCC or the nursing program requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam and minimum scores for admission.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the college wants those reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document translation with the California BRN.
  • Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit your immigration status.

Requirements change frequently. Cross‑check everything with OCC’s admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing. This is guidance only, not legal or licensing advice.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Orange Coast College’s nursing program is competitive with limited seats. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Applications may be accepted only during published filing periods; the Coast Community College District (OCC, Golden West, Coastline) may use a shared nursing application. You typically need a student ID and email from one of the district colleges to apply.

What you typically need
  • Admission to Orange Coast College (or another Coast CCD college) for a student ID and email
  • Prerequisites completed as required by the program (e.g., anatomy, physiology, microbiology with lab; confirm current list with OCC)
  • TEAS or other exam if required (confirm with the Nursing/Health Sciences department)
  • Application submitted during the official filing period

Application timeline

Application periods and deadlines are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Check the OCC website and Health Sciences/Nursing pages for current filing windows.

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance Rate (Nursing)Not publicly disclosed
Typical GPA RangeNot publicly disclosed
TEAS RequiredNot publicly disclosed; confirm with OCC
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Apply to OCC (or the district) first to get your student ID and email. Complete prerequisites with strong grades. Attend an information session if offered. Confirm application windows and selection criteria with the Nursing or Health Sciences department.

Advice by applicant type

🎓 First-time / transfer applicant

Apply to Orange Coast College (or another Coast CCD college) to get your student ID and email. Complete required prerequisites with the best grades possible. Check course equivalency if you took classes elsewhere.

🔄 LVN or other advanced placement

If OCC or the district offers an LVN-to-RN or advanced placement pathway, application windows may differ. Contact the Nursing/Health Sciences department for current options.

🎓 Planning for BSN later

After earning your ADN and passing the NCLEX-RN, you can pursue an RN-to-BSN at a four-year school. Some district colleges offer concurrent BSN enrollment; confirm with OCC for current partnerships.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Orange Coast College is a California community college; tuition and fees are set at the state and district level. Specific per-unit enrollment fees, health fees, and other charges were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. California residents typically pay a per-unit enrollment fee; non-resident and international tuition is higher.

MetricValue
Enrollment Fee (California Residents)Not publicly disclosed in sources; confirm with OCC
Fees, Books, LivingNot publicly disclosed
Cost note

For current tuition, fees, and cost of attendance, visit the official Orange Coast College website (Admissions, Financial Aid, or Student Business Office). Residency rules and payment plans may apply.

Financial aid

File the FAFSA and check OCC’s financial aid office for grants, scholarships, and waivers. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program may be available to qualifying nursing students.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
Job Placement / CompletionNot publicly disclosed
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

For outcomes and career resources, see the Orange Coast College Nursing or Health Sciences pages and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Is Orange Coast College the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, and career goals. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at OCC and who might be better served elsewhere.

✅ Good fit for students who…

  • Want an affordable ADN at a California community college in Orange County
  • Are in or near Costa Mesa and can attend in-person classes and clinicals
  • Have completed or can complete prerequisites with strong grades
  • Plan to pursue RN licensure and possibly an RN-to-BSN later
  • Are comfortable applying through the Coast CCD process if required

⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…

  • Want a BSN-only or accelerated BSN (ABSN) from the start
  • Need a fully online pre-licensure program
  • Are outside California and cannot establish residency (out-of-state tuition is much higher)
  • Prefer an MSN, DNP, or PhD in Nursing (OCC offers ADN)

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Costa Mesa and Orange County are part of one of the nation’s largest healthcare and biotech regions. Major systems such as MemorialCare, Hoag, UCI Health, and Providence St. Joseph serve the area, offering a wide range of acute care, outpatient, and community settings for clinical placements.

Why this matters

Orange Coast College’s location gives nursing students access to diverse clinical experiences in Orange County and the Greater Los Angeles area. California’s demand for RNs remains strong; an ADN positions you for licensure and employment, with the option to pursue an RN-to-BSN at a four-year school.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Orange Coast College’s nursing program is part of the Health Sciences division. Specific details about simulation labs, information sessions, and student support were not available in the sources reviewed. Contact the college and Health Sciences/Nursing for current curriculum, handbooks, and campus resources.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Costa Mesa, CA
Address
2701 Fairview Road, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, US
Telephone
(714) 432-5772
Contact email
See OCC website for Nursing/Health Sciences contact
Website
www.orangecoastcollege.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Orange Coast College website and locate the Nursing or Health Sciences program page.
  • Review prerequisites and curriculum; compare to your transcripts and contact the college for course equivalency if needed.
  • If required, register for the TEAS or other exam—confirm test requirements with the Nursing/Health Sciences department.
  • Attend an information session if offered to review requirements and application deadlines.
  • If you are not an OCC (or Coast CCD) student, complete the college application to get your student ID and email.
  • Note the application window for the nursing program; confirm current filing periods on the OCC or district website.
  • Check the nursing application page—the link may be available only during the filing period.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Orange Coast College a good school for nursing?

Orange Coast College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) program in Costa Mesa as part of the Coast Community College District. Accreditation and NCLEX outcomes should be confirmed with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing. The program provides an affordable path to RN licensure in Orange County.

What GPA do you need for Orange Coast College nursing?

Minimum GPA and selection criteria are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. Contact the Orange Coast College Nursing Program or Health Sciences division for current prerequisite and multi-criteria requirements.

Does Orange Coast College require the TEAS exam for nursing?

TEAS or other test requirements are not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs. Confirm current requirements with the OCC Nursing Program or the Coast Community College District nursing application materials.

How competitive is admission to Orange Coast College nursing program?

Admission is competitive with a limited cohort. The acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Contact the program for current selection criteria and application windows.

Does Orange Coast College offer an accelerated BSN?

Orange Coast College does not offer an accelerated BSN (ABSN). It offers an ADN (Associate Degree in Nursing). After earning the ADN and passing the NCLEX-RN, graduates may pursue RN-to-BSN programs at four-year institutions.

What are the clinical placement sites for Orange Coast College nursing students?

Specific clinical placement sites were not available in the provided inputs. OCC is in Costa Mesa with access to Orange County healthcare facilities. Contact the Nursing Program for a current list of clinical partners.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Orange Coast College?

NCLEX-RN pass rate for Orange Coast College is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Confirm the latest outcomes with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing (rn.ca.gov).

References

  1. Orange Coast Collegeorangecoastcollege.edu
  2. California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX pass rates and licensurern.ca.gov
  3. Coast Community College Districtcccd.edu
  4. All other data as provided in inputs. Data marked Not publicly disclosed is unavailable in sources reviewed.

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and the California Board of Registered Nursing before making decisions.

Published: Mar 16, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy