Saddleback College Nursing (2026): ADN & Costs in Mission Viejo
🎓 Nursing School Profile

Saddleback College Nursing Programs in Mission Viejo (2026)

Saddleback College ADN in Mission Viejo. NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements for 2026.

~12 min read Updated Mar 16, 2026 Expert Reviewed
60
Students per Cohort
$46
In-State / Unit
ACEN
Accreditation

Quick Facts

Type
Public, community college
Accreditation
ACEN, CA BRN
Programs
ADN (RN)
In‑state tuition
$46/unit
NCLEX
Exceeds state avg.
Deadlines
Feb / Jul (cycle)
Cohort size
60 per cycle
Clinicals
Orange County

Key Takeaway

Saddleback’s ADN program uses a 100-point multi-criteria selection process: biology GPA, TEAS score, relevant coursework, healthcare experience, and second-language proficiency all count. Strong science grades and a high TEAS score maximize your chances. Applications open twice yearly (February for Fall; July for Spring).

Overview & Why Students Choose Saddleback

Located in Mission Viejo, California, in the heart of Orange County, Saddleback College has offered its Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) program since 1971. The program prepares entry-level registered nurses through a two-year, four-semester curriculum with on-campus lectures and clinical rotations at healthcare facilities across Orange County.

Saddleback is a public community college and does not offer BSN, MSN, or DNP degrees—only the ADN pathway to RN licensure. The program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN).

NCLEX performance

The program reports that its NCLEX pass rates consistently exceed both state and national averages. For the most current figures and comparative data, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing pass rates page.

Five reasons students choose Saddleback

📈 NCLEX Performance

Pass rates consistently exceed state and national averages. The program has been recognized for top licensure exam performance among ADN programs.

💰 Affordable In-State Tuition

California residents pay $46 per unit (enrollment fee). Full-time tuition and fees are among the lowest in the state for an ACEN-accredited ADN.

🩺 Orange County Clinicals

All clinical placements are within Orange County, giving students exposure to a dense healthcare market and diverse patient populations.

📋 Clear Multi-Criteria Selection

Admission is based on a transparent 100-point system: biology GPA, TEAS, coursework, healthcare experience, and second-language proficiency.

🎓 Established Program

Over 50 years of history, with a mission focused on competent entry-level RNs, lifelong learning, and student success.

Nursing Programs Offered

Saddleback College offers one nursing program: the Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN), which leads to eligibility to sit for the NCLEX-RN and become a Registered Nurse. The college does not offer BSN, MSN, DNP, LPN/LVN, or accelerated BSN programs.

Associate · On-campus

Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)

Two-year, four-semester full-time program (Fall and Spring only; no summer sessions). Prerequisites must be completed before application. Lectures on campus (Wednesdays); simulation and skills lab on campus; clinical rotations at Orange County facilities. Graduates are eligible for California RN licensure.

Certificate of Achievement

The program also awards a Certificate of Achievement in Registered Nurse in addition to the Associate of Science degree. Both require completion of the same nursing curriculum.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

Saddleback College states that its NCLEX pass rates consistently exceed both state and national averages. The program has been recognized in national rankings for ADN licensure exam performance. Exact pass rates by cohort are published by the California Board of Registered Nursing.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN performanceConsistently exceeds state and national averages (per program)
Official dataCalifornia BRN Pass Rates
School program pageSaddleback College Nursing
Confirm current data

NCLEX pass rates and state benchmarks change by year and cohort. Before relying on any single percentage, confirm the latest statistics with the California Board of Registered Nursing and Saddleback College’s nursing program.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Saddleback College admits international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses; however, requirements and steps vary by visa status, country of education, and whether you are applying as a student or for RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist and always verify with the college and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Confirm whether Saddleback or the nursing program requires TOEFL, IELTS, or another exam, and the minimum scores for admission.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: International transcripts must be evaluated by a NACES-approved agency for the multi-criteria admission process. Confirm how and when to submit evaluations.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing: For RN licensure (with or without a U.S. degree), verify NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document requirements with the California BRN.
  • Immigration & visa: Confirm F-1 or other visa eligibility for the ADN program, financial documentation requirements, and how clinical placements align with your status.

Requirements change. Always confirm with Saddleback’s admissions/counseling and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Admission to Saddleback’s ADN program is competitive. The program accepts 60 students each application cycle (Fall and Spring) and uses a 100-point multi-criteria selection process. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance.

Minimum eligibility to apply
  • At least 18 years old at time of admission
  • Valid Social Security Number or ITIN
  • Science prerequisites: Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology with minimum 2.8 GPA (physiology within 7 years of deadline)
  • English C1000 (or ENG 1A equivalent) with C or higher
  • ATI TEAS Version 7 minimum overall score 62% (official scores sent to Saddleback)

Application timeline

Entry TermApplication PeriodDeadline (typical)
FallFebruary cycleMid-February (e.g. 2/15)
SpringJuly cycleJuly 1–15 (e.g. Spring 2027)

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Seats per cycle60 (plus ~25–30 alternates)
Minimum science GPA2.8 (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology)
TEAS RequiredYes (Version 7, min 62%)
Healthcare experienceCan earn up to 15 points (within past 5 years)
Selection100-point system; highest points offered first
Honest tips for applicants

Maximize points: complete relevant coursework (e.g. N160 Pharmacology, N165, N161, psychology, communication, math) with C or better before applying. Higher biology GPA and TEAS scores earn more points. Documented healthcare work experience and second-language proficiency also add points. Meet with a Saddleback counselor before applying to confirm eligibility.

Advice by applicant type

🎓 First-time / transfer applicant

Complete all science prerequisites and English with strong grades. Take the TEAS early and aim above the minimum. Complete as many of the “relevant coursework” classes as possible for extra points. Schedule a counseling appointment to verify course equivalencies if you took classes elsewhere.

🔄 Second-degree / career-change applicant

Saddleback offers only the ADN. Your bachelor’s degree can earn you 5 points in the selection process. Highlight healthcare or related experience for work-experience points. Ensure physiology is within 7 years of the application deadline.

🩺 Already an LVN or healthcare worker

Documented healthcare work experience within the past five years can earn up to 15 points. Have your employer verify dates and role. The program does not offer an LVN-to-RN bridge; you apply to the same ADN program as other applicants.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Saddleback College is a California community college. Tuition is set by the state and is among the lowest in the nation for an ACEN-accredited ADN program.

MetricValue
Enrollment fee (in-state, per unit)$46
Health fee (Fall/Spring)$26 per term
Nonresident tuition (per unit, 2024–25)$376 + $70 capital outlay
Full-time tuition & fees (in-state, ~15 units/semester)~$1,432 per semester
Fees, books, housingNot publicly disclosed in inputs; see Cost of Attendance page
Financial aidFAFSA; contact scfinaid@saddleback.edu
Cost note

Fees and cost of attendance (books, housing, transportation) vary. For the current breakdown and nonresident rates, visit the official Saddleback College Fees and Estimated Cost of Attendance pages.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA for federal grants and loans. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other state or local scholarships may be available; check the Saddleback Financial Aid office.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN performanceConsistently exceeds state and national averages (per program)
Job placement rateNot publicly disclosed
Alumni employersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

The program states that graduates have pursued a wide range of nursing careers and many advance to upper-degree programs. For current outcomes and employment data, see the school’s nursing program page and the California BRN pass rates.

Is Saddleback the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, career goals, and schedule. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Saddleback and who might look elsewhere.

✅ Good fit for students who…

  • Want an affordable, ACEN-accredited ADN in Southern California
  • Can attend full-time, on-campus lectures (Wednesdays) and Orange County clinicals
  • Are comfortable with a competitive, point-based admission process
  • Plan to work as an RN after graduation or transfer to an RN-to-BSN program later
  • Have completed or can complete science prerequisites and TEAS with strong scores

⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…

  • Need a BSN, MSN, or DNP (Saddleback offers ADN only)
  • Want a fully online or weekend-only program
  • Cannot commit to full-time study or limited work hours (program recommends ≤20 hrs/week)
  • Are outside California and would pay nonresident tuition

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Orange County is one of the largest and most diverse healthcare markets in the United States. Saddleback’s clinical placements are all within the county, giving ADN students access to hospitals, community health settings, and specialty facilities in a high-demand region for nurses.

Why this matters

Clinical site assignments are made by the program; students cannot choose their site. Rotations provide experience across the county’s healthcare settings. California’s demand for RNs remains strong, and an ADN from an ACEN-accredited program qualifies graduates for the NCLEX-RN and California licensure.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Nursing lectures are held on campus on Wednesdays (approximately 8:30 a.m. to 12:50 p.m.). Core nursing courses (N 170, N 171, N 172, N 173, N 176) are offered in person only, with no online option. Prior to clinicals, students complete skills lab and simulation training on campus.

The program does not offer weekend or evening classes; clinical days and skills days vary by assignment. The college recommends working no more than 20 hours per week and securing a job with flexibility around class and clinical schedules.

Saddleback College is in Mission Viejo with easy access to Orange County’s healthcare and community resources. For counseling and support, students can schedule appointments via the counseling services page or call (949) 582-4572.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Mission Viejo, CA
Address
28000 Marguerite Parkway, Mission Viejo, CA 92692, US
Telephone
(949) 582-4572 (counseling); (949) 582-4500 (main)
Contact email
scfinaid@saddleback.edu (financial aid); see website for admissions
Website
www.saddleback.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Saddleback Nursing program page and review eligibility and application steps.
  • Review the prerequisite list (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, English C1000) and compare to your transcripts. Confirm physiology is within 7 years of the application deadline.
  • Register for the ATI TEAS (Version 7) if you have not taken it. Aim for above the 62% minimum; higher scores earn more points.
  • Schedule a counseling appointment (call (949) 582-4572 or use the Make a Counseling Appointment page) to verify eligibility.
  • Complete any relevant coursework (e.g. N160, N165, N161, psychology, communication, math) with C or better for extra points.
  • Gather documentation for healthcare work experience and second-language proficiency if applicable.
  • Note the next application period (July 1–15 for Spring 2027; February cycle for Fall) and set reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Saddleback College a good school for nursing?

Saddleback’s ADN program is ACEN and California BRN accredited and reports that NCLEX pass rates consistently exceed state and national averages. It is a two-year, cohort-based program with Orange County clinical placements and affordable in-state tuition.

What GPA do you need for Saddleback College nursing?

You need a minimum 2.8 GPA across the three science prerequisites (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology). Physiology must be completed within 7 years of the application deadline. Higher GPAs earn more points in the 100-point selection process.

Does Saddleback College require the TEAS exam?

Yes. The ATI TEAS (Version 7) is required with a minimum overall score of 62%. Higher TEAS scores earn more points. Official scores must be sent to Saddleback College. Preliminary scores are not accepted.

How competitive is admission to Saddleback College’s nursing program?

The program accepts 60 students per cycle (Fall and Spring) and uses a 100-point multi-criteria process. Selection is competitive; meeting minimums does not guarantee acceptance. Points come from biology GPA, TEAS, relevant coursework, healthcare experience, and second-language proficiency.

Does Saddleback College offer an accelerated BSN?

No. Saddleback offers only the Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN). It does not offer BSN, MSN, DNP, or an accelerated BSN. The ADN is a two-year, four-semester full-time program.

What are the clinical placement sites for Saddleback College nursing students?

All clinical placements are within Orange County. Assignments are made by the program; students cannot choose their site. Students complete skills lab and simulation on campus before clinicals.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Saddleback College?

The program states that its NCLEX pass rates consistently exceed both state and national averages. For the most current data, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing pass rates page (rn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml).

References

  1. California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX pass ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml
  2. Saddleback College Tuition and Feessaddleback.edu/apply-pay/tuition-fees/fees
  3. Saddleback College Estimated Cost of Attendancesaddleback.edu/apply-pay/financial-aid/estimated-cost-attendance
  4. California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN)rn.ca.gov
  5. All other data as provided in inputs. NCLEX and tuition data from official sources above. Any data marked “Not publicly disclosed” was unavailable in sources reviewed.

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with Saddleback College and the California Board of Registered Nursing before making decisions.

Published: Mar 16, 2026 · Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy