Santa Ana College Nursing: Programs, NCLEX & Requirements (2026)
ADN in Santa Ana at Santa Ana College. First-time NCLEX-RN was 95.06% (2024/25 · CA BRN). 2026 admissions, nursing programs.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
Santa Ana College’s Registered Nursing program holds concurrent ACEN accreditation and California BRN approval, with three pathways: a two-year Generic RN track, a one-year LVN-to-RN track, and the Thirty Unit LVN option. Located in Orange County, SAC offers one of the most affordable ADN routes in the region.
Overview & Why Students Choose Santa Ana College
Santa Ana College (SAC), part of the Rancho Santiago Community College District in Santa Ana, California, offers an Associate Degree in Nursing program that is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN). Located in Orange County, SAC gives nursing students access to a dense healthcare market and diverse clinical settings.
Whether you are a first-time college student aiming for an ADN, a licensed vocational nurse (LVN) ready to bridge to RN, or considering the non-degree Thirty Unit LVN option, Santa Ana College’s nursing program offers a structured, affordable path to RN licensure eligibility.
According to the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) pass rates for first-time CA-educated exam testers, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for Santa Ana College was 95.06% (2024/2025, 81 test takers). For the latest data, see the California BRN pass rates page.
Five reasons students choose Santa Ana College
✅ ACEN & BRN
Concurrent ACEN accreditation and California BRN approval signal program quality and eligibility to sit for the NCLEX-RN.
🧩 Three pathways
Generic RN (two-year), LVN to RN (one-year), and Thirty Unit LVN option give LVNs and first-time applicants clear routes to RN.
🏥 Orange County clinicals
Placements in Orange County’s hospitals and healthcare facilities provide experience in a high-demand region.
💵 Affordable tuition
$46 per unit in-state makes SAC one of the most affordable ADN options in California. Fee waivers and financial aid available.
📋 Multi-criteria admission
Admission is based on prerequisites, GPA, and coursework completion rather than a single entrance exam.
Nursing Programs Offered
Santa Ana College offers Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) pathways only. All lead to eligibility to take the NCLEX-RN. The program is ACEN-accredited and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Option I — Generic RN
Two-year academic program for applicants without prior nursing experience. Prerequisites include English 101, Anatomy, Physiology, and other required courses. Graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN and may transfer to a four-year institution for a BSN.
Option II — LVN to RN
One-year program for licensed vocational nurses. LVNs enter at the beginning of the second year. Completes the ADN and leads to RN licensure eligibility.
Option III — Thirty Unit LVN Option
One-year non-degree option for licensed vocational nurses. Meets California BRN requirements for RN licensure without awarding the associate degree. Confirm current policy with the program and California BRN.
Santa Ana College is a community college and does not offer bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral nursing degrees. Graduates who want a BSN can transfer to a four-year school for RN-to-BSN completion.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
According to the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) pass rates for first-time CA-educated exam testers, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for Santa Ana College was 95.06% (2024/2025 annual period, 81 test takers). The program is ACEN-accredited and BRN-approved; graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | 95.06% (2024/2025) |
| Job Placement (within 6 months) | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
| Source | California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) pass rates |
Before relying on any single statistic, confirm the latest NCLEX outcomes with the California Board of Registered Nursing and Santa Ana College’s nursing department. Reporting practices can change.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
Santa Ana College admits international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses; however, the exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa type, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with SAC and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether SAC or the district requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam for non-native English speakers, and minimum scores for the nursing program.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the college wants reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document translation requirements with the California BRN.
- Immigration & visa: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit your immigration status.
Requirements change frequently. Verify everything with Santa Ana College’s admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Santa Ana College’s nursing program uses a multi-criteria admission process. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Applicants must complete prerequisites and submit during the designated application windows.
- High school diploma, GED, or college degree
- English 101 (4 units), Biology 239 (General Human Anatomy, 4 units), Biology 249 (Human Physiology, 4 units)
- Minimum 2.5 GPA in science courses (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology), with C or higher, completed within 7 years
- Additional science and general education as required by the program
- Nursing orientation is strongly advised
Application timeline
| Entry Term | Application Period |
|---|---|
| Fall | February 1–15 |
| Spring | September 1–15 |
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum Science GPA | 2.5 (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology; C or higher; within 7 years) |
| TEAS Required | Not publicly disclosed (multi-criteria admission) |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Not publicly disclosed |
Complete all prerequisites with strong grades, especially in anatomy, physiology, and microbiology. Attend a nursing orientation and confirm the current application process (multi-criteria or other) and any TEAS or other test requirements on the official SAC nursing or admissions page before applying.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 First-time / high school applicant
Complete English 101, Anatomy, Physiology, and other required courses with a 2.5 or higher science GPA. Apply during the February (fall) or September (spring) window. Consider healthcare volunteer or shadowing to strengthen your profile.
🩺 LVN to RN
Confirm you meet the LVN-to-RN or Thirty Unit option requirements. Apply during the same application periods; entry is at the second year for the full ADN pathway.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Santa Ana College is one of California’s most affordable community colleges. Below are key fee figures; all fees are subject to change by the state or district.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Enrollment fee (per unit, in-state) | $46 per unit |
| Nonresident tuition (per unit) | $412 per unit (includes capital outlay and tuition) |
| Health fee (Fall/Spring) | $23 per semester |
| Student representation fee | $2 per semester |
| Parking (optional, per semester) | $30 |
| Estimated full-time in-state (tuition/fees) | ~$1,180/year (estimate; varies by units) |
| Estimated out-of-state | ~$9,460/year (estimate; varies by units) |
| Fees, housing, books | Not publicly disclosed in inputs; see SAC Cost of Attendance / Financial Aid pages |
Fees and nonresident tuition are subject to change. For current amounts, refund policy, and fee waivers (e.g. California College Promise Grant), visit the official Santa Ana College Fees and Financial Aid pages.
Complete the FAFSA and check eligibility for the California College Promise Grant (fee waiver), Pell Grant, and other aid. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program may be available to qualifying nursing students.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | 95.06% (CA BRN 2024/2025) |
| Job Placement (within 6 months) | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For information about NCLEX outcomes and employers hiring Santa Ana College nursing graduates, see the program’s outcomes page and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Is Santa Ana College the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and life circumstances. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Santa Ana College and who might be better served elsewhere.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Want an affordable, ACEN-accredited ADN in Orange County
- Are LVNs ready to bridge to RN (LVN-to-RN or Thirty Unit option)
- Prefer a multi-criteria admission process over a single entrance exam
- Plan to work in California and want BRN-approved preparation for NCLEX-RN
- Are okay with an associate degree and may later pursue RN-to-BSN elsewhere
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Want a BSN, MSN, or DNP from the same institution
- Need a fully online pre-licensure program
- Are looking for an accelerated BSN (ABSN)
- Prefer a four-year university with graduate nursing options
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Orange County is one of the largest healthcare markets in California, with major hospital systems, medical groups, and community health settings. Santa Ana and surrounding cities host numerous acute care hospitals, ambulatory centers, and clinics where nursing students can complete clinical rotations.
Clinical placement sites for SAC nursing students are not listed in the provided inputs/sources. Contact the Santa Ana College Nursing Department for a current list of partner facilities. Orange County’s demand for RNs remains strong, and ADN graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN and work in the same settings as BSN-prepared nurses while often pursuing RN-to-BSN completion.
Student Experience & Campus Life
Santa Ana College is part of the Rancho Santiago Community College District (RSCCD). The main campus is at 1530 W. 17th Street in Santa Ana. Nursing program offices and lab spaces are on campus; specific simulation or skills lab details are not available in the provided inputs/sources—contact the Nursing Department for a tour or current facilities information.
RSCCD and SAC offer student support services, counseling, financial aid, and campus life activities. For nursing-specific clubs, honor societies, or peer support, check the college’s student life or nursing program pages.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Santa Ana, CA
- Address
- 1530 W. 17th Street, Santa Ana, CA 92706, US
- Telephone
- (714) 564-6825 (Nursing Department)
- Contact email
- See SAC nursing or admissions page for current email
- Website
- www.sac.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official Santa Ana College Nursing website and download the current program brochure if available.
- Review the prerequisite list (English 101, Biology 239, Biology 249, etc.) and compare to your transcripts. Confirm science GPA and 7-year recency rules.
- Confirm on the SAC nursing or admissions page whether the TEAS or any other exam is required for your application cycle.
- Draft a list of questions for the Nursing Department (714) 564-6825 or admissions.
- Reach out to current SAC nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
- Note application windows: Fall (Feb 1–15), Spring (Sep 1–15), and set reminders.
- Complete FAFSA and check California College Promise Grant (fee waiver) eligibility.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Santa Ana College a good school for nursing?
Santa Ana College’s Registered Nursing program is ACEN-accredited and California BRN-approved, with three pathways: Generic ADN, LVN to RN, and Thirty Unit LVN option. According to the California BRN pass rates, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for Santa Ana College was 95.06% (2024/2025).
What GPA do you need for Santa Ana College nursing?
Applicants must maintain a minimum 2.5 GPA in science courses (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology), with grades of C or higher, completed within 7 years. Prerequisites include English 101, Biology 239, and Biology 249.
Does Santa Ana College require the TEAS exam for nursing?
TEAS requirement is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. The program uses a multi-criteria admission process. Confirm current requirements on the official Santa Ana College nursing or admissions page.
How competitive is admission to Santa Ana College’s nursing program?
Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Admission is multi-criteria based on prerequisites, GPA, and coursework. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Contact the Nursing Department for current selectivity.
Does Santa Ana College offer an accelerated BSN?
No. Santa Ana College is a community college and offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) only, with Generic RN, LVN to RN, and Thirty Unit LVN options. It does not offer a BSN, MSN, or DNP.
What are the clinical placement sites for Santa Ana College nursing students?
Clinical placement sites are not available in the provided inputs/sources. Contact the Santa Ana College Nursing Department or visit the program website for a list of clinical partners in Orange County.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for Santa Ana College?
According to the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) pass rates for first-time CA-educated exam testers, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for Santa Ana College was 95.06% (2024/2025, 81 test takers). For the latest data, see the California BRN pass rates page.
References
- Santa Ana College Nursing Programsac.edu Nursing
- Santa Ana College Registered Nursing — Concurrent ACEN Accreditation and BRN Approvalsac.edu newsroom
- Santa Ana College Fees and Refundssac.edu/admissions/fees.php
- Santa Ana College Financial Aidsac.edu Financial Aid
- California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX and licensurern.ca.gov
- All other data as provided in inputs. Data marked “Not publicly disclosed” is based on unavailability in official sources reviewed for this guide.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with Santa Ana College and the California Board of Registered Nursing before making decisions.
Published: Mar 17, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
