Santa Barbara City College Nursing (2026): ADN in Santa Barbara
๐ŸŽ“ Nursing School Profile

Santa Barbara City College Nursing Program Review (2026): Programs, Requirements & Outcomes

Santa Barbara City College ADN in Santa Barbara. 2026 admissions, NCLEX-RN pass rate.

~12 min read Updated Mar 16, 2026 Expert Reviewed
ADN + LVN
Programs Offered
ACEN
ADN Accredited
Coastal
Santa Barbara, CA

Quick Facts

Type
Public, 2โ€‘year
Accreditation
ACEN, CA BRN
Programs
ADN, LVN
Inโ€‘state tuition
Not publicly disclosed
NCLEX Pass Rate
Not publicly disclosed
Deadlines
See program website
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Job Placement
Not publicly disclosed

Key Takeaway

Santa Barbara City College offers an ACEN-accredited ADN and a BVNPT-accredited LVN program on the Cliff campus in Santa Barbara. Programs rank among the top in the nation; confirm current NCLEX and tuition with the School of Nursing and official cost pages.

Overview & Why Students Choose Santa Barbara City College

Located on the Cliff campus in Santa Barbara, California, Santa Barbara City College’s School of Nursing offers programs that rank among the top in the nation. SBCC provides an ACEN-accredited Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) and a BVNPT-accredited Vocational Nursing (LVN) program, giving students a choice of pathways to RN or LVN licensure in a coastal community with strong healthcare demand.

Whether you are a first-time college student aiming for an ADN, or someone seeking the shorter LVN pathway, SBCC’s experienced faculty and hands-on approach prepare graduates for the NCLEX-RN or LVN licensure examination. The college also offers CNA training through the School of Extended Learning (SEL Health Academy).

NCLEX and outcomes

NCLEX-RN pass rate and job placement for SBCC are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For the most current data, consult the SBCC School of Nursing and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Five reasons students choose Santa Barbara City College

๐Ÿ† Top-Ranked Programs

SBCC’s School of Nursing programs rank among the top in the nation, with experienced faculty and hands-on experience.

โœ… ACEN & BVNPT Accredited

ADN is ACEN-accredited and California BRN-approved; LVN is accredited by the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians.

๐Ÿฉบ ADN + LVN + CNA Options

Choose ADN (RN), LVN, or CNA via Extended Learning to match your timeline and career goals.

๐ŸŒŠ Coastal Santa Barbara

Cliff campus location in Santa Barbara with access to local hospitals and community health settings for clinicals.

๐Ÿ“œ Continuing Accreditation

ADN program holds continuing ACEN accreditation; next site visit Spring 2033.

Nursing Programs Offered

Santa Barbara City College’s School of Nursing offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) and a Vocational Nursing (LVN) program. Both are approved by the State of California; the ADN is accredited by ACEN and the LVN program by the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT).

ADN

Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)

Prepares students to become competent entry-level professional registered nurses and lifelong learners. Approved by the California State Board of Registered Nursing and accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). Graduates are qualified to take the state board examination for licensure as registered nurses.

LVN

Vocational Nursing Program

Three-semester program preparing students to function as licensed vocational nurses in skilled nursing and assisted living facilities, memory care units, hospitals, clinics, schools, hospice, and home settings. Accredited by BVNPT. Graduates receive a Certificate of Completion or Associate of Science in Vocational Nursing and are eligible to take the LVN licensure examination.

CNA and no BSN

SBCC does not offer a BSN. For Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) training, see the SEL Health Academy at the School of Extended Learning. ADN graduates may pursue RN-to-BSN at four-year institutions.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

NCLEX-RN pass rate and job placement data for Santa Barbara City College’s ADN program are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
Job PlacementNot publicly disclosed
SourceSBCC School of Nursing; California BRN
Confirm with official sources

For context on how any school’s rate compares to state and national averages, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing report. Confirm the latest NCLEX statistics with the SBCC School of Nursing before relying on any single figure.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Santa Barbara City College may admit international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses; exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by visa type and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN/LVN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with SBCC and the California Board of Registered Nursingโ€”not as a replacement for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether SBCC requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam for admission to the nursing program, and minimum scores.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or a state-approved evaluator and how SBCC wants reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document requirements with the California BRN. For LVN, check the BVNPT.
  • Immigration & visa: Which programs are approved for F-1 or other visas, financial documentation required, and how clinical placements align with your status.

Requirements change. Verify everything with SBCC’s Admissions or International Office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Santa Barbara City College’s nursing programs are selective. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. The School of Nursing has its own application process; check the ADN and LVN program pages on the SBCC website for current steps and deadlines.

Typical admission items (verify with program)
  • Eligibility to attend Santa Barbara City College (application, residency)
  • Prerequisite and general education courses (GPA and course list not fully specified in provided inputs)
  • TEAS or other entrance exam if required (confirm on official program page)
  • Completed application by the program deadline

Application timeline

Application deadlines and entry terms are not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs. Check the SBCC School of Nursing and program application links for current dates.

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance Rate (Nursing)Not publicly disclosed
Typical GPA RangeNot publicly disclosed
TEAS RequiredNot publicly disclosed; confirm with program
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Complete prerequisites with strong grades and confirm current requirements (GPA, TEAS, deadlines) on the official SBCC nursing page. For LVN, verify application steps and prerequisites with the Health Technologies office or VN program director.

Advice by applicant type

๐ŸŽ“ First-time / transfer applicant

Apply to Santa Barbara City College and complete the required prerequisites for the ADN or LVN program. Focus on strong grades in science and math. Healthcare volunteer or work experience can strengthen your application.

๐Ÿ”„ Considering LVN first

SBCC’s three-semester LVN program is a shorter pathway to licensure. After gaining experience, you can pursue ADN or RN-to-BSN elsewhere if you want to become an RN.

๐Ÿฉบ Already an RN

SBCC offers ADN and LVN only. For a BSN or MSN, consider a four-year university or RN-to-BSN program.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Santa Barbara City College is a California community college. Tuition and fee figures for the nursing programs were not available in the sources reviewed for this guide. For a full cost of attendance (enrollment fees, per-unit cost, fees, books, living costs), see the college’s official tuition and financial aid pages.

MetricValue
Tuition (In-State / Out-of-State)Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs/sources
Fees & living costs (housing, books)Not publicly disclosed; see SBCC Cost of Attendance
Financial aidSBCC and SBCC Foundation offer scholarships; many students receive fee waivers, grants, loans, work-study. Check FAFSA and Cal Grant.
Cost note

Tuition and fees can change. For a current breakdown, visit the official SBCC website and look for Tuition, Fees, and Financial Aid (Admissions & Records, Student Affairs, or Business Services).

Financial aid

SBCC reports over $31 million in fee waivers, grants, loans, work-study, and scholarships annually. Complete the FAFSA and check Cal Grant eligibility. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program may be available to qualifying nursing students. Contact SBCC Financial Aid for current information.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
Job PlacementNot publicly disclosed
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

For outcomes and employers hiring SBCC nursing graduates, see the school’s School of Nursing and career services or outcomes resources.

Is Santa Barbara City College the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and location. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at SBCC and who might look elsewhere.

โœ… Good fit for students whoโ€ฆ

  • Want an ACEN-accredited ADN or BVNPT-accredited LVN in coastal California
  • Prefer a community college pathway to RN or LVN licensure
  • Want the option of ADN or a shorter LVN program
  • Plan to work in the Santa Barbara area or Central Coast after graduation
  • Are comfortable completing prerequisites and competing for limited seats

โš ๏ธ May not be ideal for students whoโ€ฆ

  • Want a BSN or accelerated BSN (SBCC offers ADN and LVN only)
  • Need a fully online pre-licensure program
  • Are seeking MSN, DNP, or PhD options (SBCC does not offer graduate nursing)
  • Prefer a four-year university setting

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Santa Barbara and the Central Coast are served by Cottage Health (e.g., Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital, Goleta Valley Cottage Hospital), Sansum Clinic, and other hospitals and community health organizations. Demand for RNs and LVNs in the region remains strong.

Why this matters

Local hospitals and clinics provide clinical placement opportunities for SBCC nursing students. Confirm current placement sites with the SBCC School of Nursing or Health Technologies office.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Santa Barbara City College’s nursing programs are housed in the Health/Human Services division on the Cliff campus (Santa Barbara). The Health Technologies Office (Room A-218) supports the ADN and LVN programs; ADN Director Mary Sullivan and VN Director Rosette Strandberg lead the programs.

In addition to the policies and standards of SBCC, Health Technologies programs follow professional standards of their state and national accrediting boards; see each program’s handbook for details. Student life at SBCC includes clubs, athletics, and support services; for nursing-specific activities and simulation resources, contact the School of Nursing.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Cliff campus, Santa Barbara, CA
Address
721 Cliff Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93109, US
Telephone
(805) 965-0581 ext. 4166 (Health Technologies); ext. 3044 (Dean’s office)
Contact email
healthtech@pipeline.sbcc.edu (Health Technologies); ADN: mtsullivan@pipeline.sbcc.edu; VN: rsstrandberg@pipeline.sbcc.edu
Website
www.sbcc.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official SBCC School of Nursing and download any program brochure or handbook.
  • Review the prerequisite and application requirements for ADN or LVN and compare them to your transcripts.
  • If the program requires the TEAS or another exam, confirm on the official page and register if needed.
  • Draft a list of questions for the Health Technologies office or program directors (ADN: Mary Sullivan; VN: Rosette Strandberg).
  • Reach out to current SBCC nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences.
  • Begin outlining your personal statement or application materials if required.
  • Check the application deadline for your target entry term and set reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Santa Barbara City College a good school for nursing?

SBCC’s School of Nursing offers an ACEN-accredited ADN and a BVNPT-accredited LVN program, both California-approved, and ranks among the top in the nation. NCLEX and job placement rates should be confirmed with the program or California BRN.

What GPA do you need for Santa Barbara City College nursing?

Minimum GPA requirements are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Contact the Health Technologies office or Nursing program for current admission criteria and prerequisite GPA expectations.

Does Santa Barbara City College require the TEAS exam for nursing?

TEAS requirement is not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs. Confirm current admission requirements on the official SBCC School of Nursing page or with the Health Technologies office.

How competitive is admission to Santa Barbara City College nursing program?

The program is selective; acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Check the program application materials and deadlines on the SBCC nursing website.

Does Santa Barbara City College offer an accelerated BSN?

No. SBCC offers Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) and Vocational Nursing (LVN) only. There is no BSN or accelerated BSN; ADN graduates may pursue RN-to-BSN at four-year schools.

What are the clinical placement sites for Santa Barbara City College nursing students?

Clinical placement sites are not fully listed in the provided inputs. Students complete rotations at healthcare facilities in the Santa Barbara area. Confirm current sites with the SBCC School of Nursing or Health Technologies office.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Santa Barbara City College?

NCLEX pass rate for SBCC is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Confirm the latest statistics with the SBCC School of Nursing and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

References

  1. Santa Barbara City College School of Nursingsbcc.edu/nursing
  2. SBCC Admissions & Recordssbcc.edu/admissions
  3. ACEN โ€” Santa Barbara City College ADN program (continuing accreditation)acenursing.org
  4. California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov
  5. Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT)bvnpt.ca.gov
  6. All other data as provided in inputs; any data marked “Not publicly disclosed” is based on unavailability in official sources reviewed.

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.

Published: Mar 17, 2026ยท Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 ยท Medical Review Process ยท Editorial Policy