West Coast University Nursing Program Review (2026): Programs, Requirements & Outcomes
BSN, RN-to-BSN, and MSN in Ontario at West Coast University. First-time NCLEX-RN was 90.03% (Pass Rate (CA BRN). 2026 admissions, nursing programs.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
West Coast University offers a multi-campus BSN and a fast RN-to-BSN online option (as few as 8 months) plus MSN and DNP pathways, all CCNE-accredited. With campuses in Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario and a large cohort (3,070 first-time NCLEX testers in 2024/2025 per California BRN), WCU is a major California nursing educator—verify tuition and deadlines by program on the official site.
Overview & Why Students Choose West Coast University
West Coast University (WCU) is a private, for-profit institution with nursing campuses in Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario, California, and online programs. The College of Nursing is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and offers pre-licensure BSN, RN-to-BSN, RN-to-MSN, MSN, and DNP programs.
Whether you are a first-time or transfer student seeking a BSN, an RN completing a bachelor’s or master’s online, or a nurse pursuing a DNP in executive leadership, WCU provides multiple entry points and flexible pacing. The California Board of Registered Nursing reports first-time NCLEX-RN outcomes for WCU annually.
According to the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) pass rates for first-time CA-educated exam testers, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for West Coast University was 90.03% (2024/2025, 3,070 testers). For the latest data, see the California BRN pass rates page.
Five reasons students choose West Coast University
📈 NCLEX & scale
California BRN reports 90.03% first-time pass rate (2024/2025). WCU is one of the largest producers of pre-licensure RN graduates in the state by volume.
🏥 Three California campuses
BSN at Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario with simulation labs and clinical placement support. Online options for RN-to-BSN, MSN, and DNP.
🎓 BSN through DNP
Traditional BSN (39–54 months), RN-to-BSN (8–20 months online), RN-to-MSN, MSN (FNP, PMHNP, AGNP, Leader, Educator), and DNP Executive Leadership.
✅ CCNE-accredited
College of Nursing programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. Verify current status on the school and CCNE websites.
💻 Flexible RN-to-BSN
Online RN-to-BSN completable in as few as 8 months (Accelerated Plus), 12 months, or 20 months for working RNs.
Nursing Programs Offered
West Coast University’s College of Nursing offers pre-licensure BSN at three California campuses, online RN-to-BSN and graduate programs, and CCNE-accredited MSN and DNP pathways. Confirm current program list, delivery format, and requirements on the official WCU Nursing website.
Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)
Traditional pre-licensure BSN at Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario campuses. 120 credits; 39–54 months. Includes simulation labs and clinical placements. Leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility.
RN to BSN
For licensed RNs with an ADN or diploma. 120-credit degree completion; online. Accelerated Plus (as few as 8 months), 12-month, or 20-month options. Covers evidence-based practice, leadership, community health, informatics.
RN to MSN & MSN
RN-to-MSN and MSN for BSN-prepared nurses. Tracks: PMHNP, FNP, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care/Acute Care NP, Nurse Leader, Nurse Educator. Online delivery.
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP)
Online DNP with Executive Leadership track. About 30 credits, 20 months. Requires MSN and 3.0 GPA. Confirm current requirements on the WCU catalog.
Certificate options (e.g. Post-Master’s AGPCNP) may be offered. Tuition, credit hours, and start dates vary by program. Always confirm current structure on westcoastuniversity.edu/nursing and the university catalog.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
According to the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) pass rates for first-time CA-educated exam testers, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for West Coast University was 90.03% (2024/2025, 3,070 testers). Prior years: 92.94% (2023/2024), 81.09% (2022/2023).
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | 90.03% (2024/2025, 3,070 testers) — California BRN |
| Prior Year | 92.94% (2023/2024) |
| Source | California BRN NCLEX Pass Rates |
Rates are published annually by the California BRN. Confirm the latest NCLEX statistics with the California Board of Registered Nursing and West Coast University before making decisions.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
West Coast University may admit international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses. Exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa category, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with WCU and the California Board of Registered Nursing—never as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether WCU requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the university wants reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document translation requirements with the California BRN.
- Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.
Policies for international students and foreign‑educated nurses change frequently. Before you rely on any single blog, video, or forum post, cross‑check everything with West Coast University’s admissions and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Admission to West Coast University’s nursing programs is competitive. Requirements and deadlines differ by program (BSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN, DNP). Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Confirm all criteria and application steps on the official WCU Admissions and College of Nursing pages.
- BSN: Prerequisites and program-specific requirements; campuses in LA, Orange County, Ontario.
- RN-to-BSN / MSN: Unencumbered RN license; GPA and other requirements vary by track.
- DNP: MSN and 3.0 GPA required for Executive Leadership track.
- TEAS or other test requirements: confirm on the official admissions page for your program.
Application timeline
Application windows and deadlines are set by program and term. Confirm current dates on the official West Coast University Admissions website.
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Typical GPA Range | Not publicly disclosed; DNP requires 3.0 MSN GPA |
| TEAS Required | Confirm by program on official admissions page |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Not publicly disclosed |
Prepare a strong application: complete prerequisites with strong grades, confirm TEAS or other test requirements for the BSN, and highlight healthcare or leadership experience where relevant. For RN-to-BSN and graduate programs, emphasize clinical experience and career goals. Verify deadlines and requirements for your chosen program and campus.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 First-time or transfer BSN applicant
Apply to WCU for the pre-licensure BSN at Los Angeles, Orange County, or Ontario. Focus on strong grades in prerequisite courses. Confirm application cycles and TEAS requirements on the College of Nursing or admissions website.
🔄 RN completing BSN or MSN
WCU’s online RN-to-BSN (8–20 months) and RN-to-MSN or MSN pathways are designed for working nurses. Check GPA and license requirements for your track. Emphasize clinical experience and how the degree aligns with your goals.
🩺 Nurse seeking DNP
WCU’s DNP Executive Leadership track requires an MSN and 3.0 GPA. Confirm application deadlines and course requirements on the university catalog or graduate admissions page.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
West Coast University tuition varies by program and delivery format. Graduate nursing tuition from published catalog sources is noted below; confirm all current rates on the official WCU Tuition and Fees page.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| BSN (Undergraduate) | Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs/sources. Confirm on WCU Tuition and Fees page. |
| RN-to-MSN / Graduate (per credit) | Catalog references ~$680–$810 per credit (varies by track and effective date) |
| DNP Executive Leadership (per credit) | $1,074 per credit (catalog; verify current) |
| Fees, Housing, Books | Not publicly disclosed in the provided inputs/sources. See official Cost of Attendance page. |
Tuition and fees change periodically. For current tuition, fees, and cost of attendance by program, visit the official West Coast University Tuition and Fees page.
Complete the FAFSA and check WCU financial aid and scholarship options. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other state/federal aid may be available to qualifying nursing students.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | 90.03% (2024/2025, 3,070 testers) — California BRN |
| Job Placement | Not publicly disclosed |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For information about employers hiring West Coast University nursing graduates, see the school’s outcomes or career services page at westcoastuniversity.edu/nursing.
Is West Coast University the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and life circumstances. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at WCU and who might be better served elsewhere.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Want CCNE-accredited BSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN, or DNP with campus (LA, Orange County, Ontario) or online options
- Prefer a fast RN-to-BSN online (as few as 8 months) or flexible pacing
- Are comfortable with a large, multi-campus nursing program and private for-profit tuition
- Are working RNs seeking online MSN or DNP Executive Leadership
- Want access to simulation labs and clinical placement support in Southern California
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Are seeking the lowest-cost public option (WCU is private for-profit)
- Want a PhD in Nursing (WCU offers DNP, not PhD)
- Prefer a small cohort or highly selective admission pool
- Need a fully online pre-licensure BSN (BSN is campus-based at WCU)
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
West Coast University’s campuses in Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario sit in one of the nation’s largest healthcare markets. Major systems include Kaiser Permanente, Dignity Health, Providence, HCA, and numerous community hospitals and clinics across the Greater LA area and Inland Empire.
| Facility / Region | Details |
|---|---|
| Los Angeles area | Major academic medical centers, county facilities, and community hospitals; diverse clinical placement options. |
| Orange County | Strong hospital and outpatient presence; WCU Orange County campus serves the region. |
| Ontario / Inland Empire | Ontario campus (2855 E. Guasti Rd.) near San Bernardino County and Inland Empire healthcare facilities. |
WCU students at all three campuses gain access to clinical placements across Southern California. California’s demand for RNs and advanced practice nurses remains strong; the Greater LA and Inland Empire regions offer many employment options for new graduates.
Student Experience & Campus Life
West Coast University’s College of Nursing operates at three California campuses—Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario—with simulation labs and clinical placement support. Online programs (RN-to-BSN, MSN, DNP) serve working nurses. The university reports NCLEX preparation support, tutoring, and career services; confirm current student resources and organizations on the College of Nursing and Contact Us pages.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus locations
- Los Angeles, Orange County, Ontario (CA)
- Address (Ontario)
- 2855 E. Guasti Rd., Ontario, CA 91761, US
- Telephone
- (909) 467-6100 (Ontario); see Contact Us for all campuses
- Website
- westcoastuniversity.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official West Coast University Nursing website and download program information.
- Review the prerequisite course list for your program (BSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN, DNP) and compare it to your transcripts.
- If required, register for the TEAS or other exam; confirm requirements on the official admissions page.
- Draft a list of questions for a WCU admissions counselor or the College of Nursing.
- Reach out to current WCU nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
- Begin outlining your personal statement (graduate programs) or prepare application materials (BSN applicants).
- Check the application deadline for your target program and campus and set reminders.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is West Coast University a good school for nursing?
West Coast University’s College of Nursing is CCNE-accredited. According to the California Board of Registered Nursing, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for West Coast University was 90.03% (2024/2025, 3,070 testers). WCU offers BSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN, and DNP at Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario campuses and online.
What GPA do you need for West Coast University nursing?
Admission requirements vary by program. DNP Executive Leadership requires an MSN and 3.0 GPA. Confirm current GPA and prerequisite requirements for BSN, RN-to-BSN, and MSN on the official West Coast University admissions page.
Does West Coast University require the TEAS exam for nursing?
Confirm current TEAS or other test requirements for the pre-licensure BSN program on the official West Coast University College of Nursing or admissions website.
How competitive is admission to West Coast University nursing program?
The nursing program acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Admission is competitive; confirm current requirements and cohort size with the university.
Does West Coast University offer an accelerated BSN?
West Coast University offers a traditional BSN (39–54 months) at Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ontario campuses, and an online RN to BSN that can be completed in as few as 8 months (Accelerated Plus), 12 months, or 20 months.
What are the clinical placement sites for West Coast University nursing students?
WCU reports clinical placement support and simulation labs. Clinical sites are at healthcare facilities in the regions surrounding its campuses. Confirm current placement partners with the College of Nursing.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for West Coast University?
According to the California Board of Registered Nursing, the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for West Coast University was 90.03% (2024/2025, 3,070 testers). For the latest data see the California BRN pass rates page.
References
- West Coast University College of Nursingwestcoastuniversity.edu/nursing
- West Coast University Admissionswestcoastuniversity.edu/admissions
- West Coast University Tuition and Feeswestcoastuniversity.edu/tuition-financial-aid/tuition-fees
- California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX pass ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml
- All other data as provided in inputs. Any data marked “Not publicly disclosed” is based on unavailability in the sources reviewed for this guide.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 17, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
