Hawaii Pacific University Nursing (2026): LPN, BSN & Costs in Honolulu
📋 Nursing School Profile

Hawaii Pacific University Nursing Programs in Honolulu (2026)

LPN, BSN, and RN-to-BSN at Hawaii Pacific University in Honolulu, Hawaii. Published tuition includes $21,264 UG nursing tuition (12–17 cr/sem, 2025–26). Compare NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements in Honolulu.

~12 min read Updated March 2026 Expert Reviewed
See HI BON
NCLEX-RN (annual pass-rate reports)
$21,264
UG nursing tuition (12–17 cr/sem, 2025–26)
BSN–DNP
Programs

Quick Facts

Type
Private university
Accreditation
CCNE (BSN, MSN, DNP, post-master APRN certs)
Programs
BSN pathways, RN-to-BSN, online MSN, PMC, DNP
Tuition
UG nursing L1+: $21,264/sem FT (12–17 cr, 2025–26); grad nursing $1,117/cr
NCLEX Pass Rate
See Hawaii DCCA BON annual reports
Deadlines
BSN Fall 2026 competitive: Feb 15 priority; Apr 1 secondary (space permitting)

Key Takeaway

HPU emphasizes simulation and community-focused clinical training on Oʻahu, and publishes separate BSN pathways (including RN-to-BSN and military corpsman) alongside online graduate nursing programs. Verify pathway details and deadlines on the official School of Nursing pages.

Overview & Why Students Choose HPU

Hawaiʻi Pacific University’s School of Nursing (Honolulu) offers a multicultural learning environment with clinical placements across Oʻahu and a campus Experiential Learning Center for simulation. The program portfolio spans pre-licensure BSN routes (including HM-to-BSN and LPN/LVN-to-BSN), an RN-to-BSN completion option, and CCNE-accredited graduate nursing programs delivered online (MSN, post-master NP certificates, and DNP).

NCLEX & outcomes

For first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates by Hawaii nursing program, use the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), Professional & Vocational Licensing Division, Board of Nursing annual pass-rate publications (not reproduced here). Confirm the latest cohort results with the Board and with HPU.

Reasons students choose HPU

Multiple BSN entry routes

Traditional BSN, HM-to-BSN, LPN/LVN-to-BSN, and RN-to-BSN pathways—each with its own published term options and timelines.

Experiential Learning Center

Simulation-based learning aligned with HPU’s emphasis on hands-on clinical preparation before and alongside community placements.

Oʻahu clinical footprint

HPU states that nursing students should expect clinical experiences at facilities across Oʻahu and must have reliable transportation.

Online MSN & NP certificates

Graduate tracks include FNP, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP, and Psychiatric Mental Health NP, plus post-master NP certificates.

Online DNP

Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) offered online through HPU’s School of Nursing, per the official program page.

Nursing Programs Offered

HPU lists nursing programs under its School of Nursing (the public site uses “School of Nursing,” not “College of Nursing”). The following reflects HPU’s published nursing portfolio; separate public health degrees (BSPH/MPH) are not nursing programs—public health accreditation status is distinct from CCNE nursing accreditation.

Pre-licensure & completion (undergraduate)

Undergraduate

BSN (Traditional pathway)

CCNE-accredited BSN totaling 120 credit hours (general education plus prerequisites, then 60 credits of nursing coursework/clinicals). HPU requires minimum nursing and GPA standards once in NUR coursework.

Undergraduate

HM-to-BSN (Military Corpsman)

Three-semester, full-time track with Fall entry as listed on HPU’s nursing pages.

Undergraduate

LPN/LVN-to-BSN

Three-semester, full-time track with Fall entry as listed on HPU’s nursing pages.

Post-licensure

RN-to-BSN

Two-semester, full-time completion track with Fall entry as listed on HPU’s nursing pages.

Graduate & doctoral

Graduate · Online

Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)

Online MSN with concentrations in Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP (AGACNP), and Psychiatric Mental Health NP (PMHNP).

Graduate · Online

Post-master’s NP certificates

Post-master certificates aligned with AGACNP, FNP, and PMHNP as listed on HPU’s graduate nursing pages.

Doctoral · Online

Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP)

Online DNP program as listed on HPU’s School of Nursing website.

Program accuracy

Pathway names, lengths, and entry terms can change. Confirm your exact track, catalog year, and course sequence on hpu.edu/nursing and in the current student handbooks.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

Not publicly disclosed on this page. Hawaii’s Board of Nursing (DCCA) publishes annual NCLEX pass-rate information for Hawaii nursing programs; use those official publications to compare HPU’s most recent first-time pass rates with other Hawaii programs.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed (confirm in Hawaii DCCA Board of Nursing annual pass-rate publications)
SourceHawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA) · Hawaii nursing programs. Confirm current data with the Board and HPU.
Disclaimer

NCLEX outcomes change by cohort. Always confirm the latest pass rates with the Hawaii Board of Nursing and HPU.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Requirements for international students and internationally educated nurses vary by institution and state. Use the points below as a checklist; verify everything with Hawaii Pacific University and the Hawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA).

Key items to verify
  • English-language proficiency: TOEFL, IELTS, or other requirements and minimum scores for this school.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: WES, CGFNS, or other evaluators required by the school.
  • Hawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA): For RN licensure (with or without a U.S. degree), confirm NCLEX eligibility and document requirements with the Board.
  • Immigration & visa: Program eligibility for F-1 or other visa types and impact on clinical placements.

Policies change frequently. Verify with HPU’s admissions/international office and the Hawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA).

Admissions: A Realistic Look

HPU describes the BSN as highly competitive and states that meeting minimum criteria does not guarantee admission. The standard BSN pathway lists prerequisites (including A&P, microbiology, chemistry, statistics) and competitive-pathway requirements such as minimum GPAs, TEAS, letters, and a personal statement. Graduate nursing admissions vary by online MSN/DNP track—confirm prerequisites and clinical clearance on HPU’s graduate nursing pages.

Application timeline (examples from HPU’s published BSN deadlines)

Entry TermDeadlineNotes
Fall 2026 — Guaranteed PathwayFeb 1Per HPU BSN deadlines page (confirm current year).
Fall 2026 — Competitive Pathway (priority)Feb 15Regular BSN, RN-to-BSN, LPN/LVN-to-BSN, HM-to-BSN.
Fall 2026 — Competitive Pathway (secondary)Apr 1As space permits.
Spring 2026 — Guaranteed PathwayOct 1Per HPU BSN deadlines page.
Spring 2026 — Competitive PathwayOct 15Regular BSN only (per HPU).

Admissions snapshot (standard BSN pathway highlights)

FactorDetails
Acceptance Rate (Nursing)Not publicly disclosed
Minimum GPAHPU lists 3.0 cumulative GPA in college coursework and 3.0 in science/math prerequisites for NUR 2000-level admission consideration (BSN pathway page).
TEASStandard BSN pathway lists TEAS at 70% or higher, plus two professional letters and a personal statement. Confirm pathway-specific rules (guaranteed vs competitive).

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Tuition figures below come from HPU’s published Academic Year 2025–2026 tuition schedules (Business Office). Mandatory fees, course fees, housing, and non-tuition costs are additional—use HPU’s fee matrix and Cost of Attendance pages for a full budget.

MetricValue
Undergraduate nursing (Nursing Level 1 and above)$21,264 per semester for full-time enrollment (12–17 billable credit hours) for AY 2025–2026; part-time (1–11 credits) $1,772 per credit hour. Pre-nursing / regular undergraduate rate differs—see HPU undergraduate tuition PDF.
Graduate nursing (online MSN, post-master NP certificates, online DNP)$1,117 per credit hour for AY 2025–2026 per HPU graduate tuition schedule.
SourceHPU Tuition & Fees (links to official PDFs). Confirm current amounts with the Business Office.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

For first-time NCLEX-RN performance, use Hawaii DCCA Board of Nursing annual publications. For employment or salary outcomes, confirm whether HPU publishes program-level reports for your cohort year.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN Pass RateSee Hawaii DCCA Board of Nursing annual pass-rate publications; confirm with HPU
Job Placement / EmploymentNot publicly disclosed on this page (confirm with HPU)
SourceHawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA). Confirm current rates with the Board and HPU.

Is HPU the Right Fit for You?

HPU fits students who want nursing training in Honolulu with clinical experiences across Oʻahu and who are prepared for competitive BSN admission requirements. It can also fit working RNs and career-changers who match HPU’s pathway-specific timelines (for example, Fall-only entry for several bridge routes).

✓ Good fit for students who—

  • Want a private university nursing program in Hawaiʻi with multiple BSN entry routes and online graduate NP/DNP options.
  • Can meet published prerequisite GPA and TEAS expectations and can travel to clinical sites on Oʻahu.

✗ May not be ideal for students who—

  • Need a guaranteed low-cost public tuition model (compare with UH system programs and total cost of attendance).
  • Cannot accommodate Oʻahu clinical travel or pathway-specific term starts (for example, some bridge routes list Fall-only entry).

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Honolulu is the hub of Hawaiʻi’s acute and specialty care delivery, and HPU emphasizes clinical training at facilities across Oʻahu. Major systems and hospitals commonly referenced in regional healthcare discussions include The Queen’s Health System, Hawaiʻi Pacific Health (Straub, Pali Momi, Kapiʻolani), Adventist Health Castle, and the VA Pacific Islands Healthcare System—use these as orientation only; your assigned sites depend on HPU’s current contracts and course requirements.

TopicDetails
Clinical geographyHPU states nursing clinical courses may require travel across Oʻahu; students need reliable transportation.
Workforce contextHPU’s BSN materials note strong statewide demand for nurses; confirm job market specifics with employers and professional associations.

Student Experience & Campus Life

HPU highlights the Experiential Learning Center for simulation tied to realistic clinical scenarios, complementing community-based clinical education. The School of Nursing also references student handbooks, health requirements for clinical clearance, and professional association affiliations (AACN, NLN, SSH, and others) on its website. Student life is shaped by Honolulu’s urban island setting—explore housing, commuting, and campus resources through HPU’s student services pages.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Honolulu, HI
Admissions office
1 Aloha Tower Drive, Honolulu, HI 96813, US
Telephone
(808) 544-0238
Contact email
admissions@hpu.edu
Website
HPU School of Nursing

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official HPU School of Nursing page and open the current BSN or graduate student handbook.
  • Review the prerequisite course list in the school catalog and compare it to your transcripts.
  • If required, register for the TEAS, HESI, or other entrance exam. Confirm on the admissions page which test and minimum scores apply for your target semester.
  • Draft a list of questions for an admissions counselor or the nursing program advising office.
  • Reach out to current nursing students or alumni (e.g. via LinkedIn) to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
  • Begin outlining your personal statement (graduate programs) or prepare interview talking points (pre-licensure applicants).
  • Check the application deadline for your target term and set reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Hawaii Pacific University a good school for nursing?

HPU’s School of Nursing lists CCNE accreditation for its baccalaureate, master’s, DNP, and post-graduate APRN certificate nursing programs. For licensure exam outcomes, use Hawaii DCCA Board of Nursing annual pass-rate publications and confirm details with HPU.

What GPA and TEAS score does HPU require for the BSN?

For the standard BSN pathway, HPU lists minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA in college coursework, 3.0 in science/math prerequisites, TEAS at 70% or higher, two professional letters, and a personal statement. Meeting minimums does not guarantee admission. Confirm pathway-specific criteria (guaranteed vs competitive) on HPU’s BSN pages.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Hawaii Pacific University?

For the most current first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for HPU, use the Hawaii DCCA Board of Nursing annual nursing program pass-rate publications and confirm with HPU. This guide does not substitute for those official reports.

Does Hawaii Pacific University offer an Accelerated BSN (ABSN)?

HPU publishes pre-licensure BSN pathways including traditional BSN plus HM-to-BSN and LPN/LVN-to-BSN bridge routes; it does not market a standalone ABSN the way some mainland programs do. Confirm the official pathway name and length on HPU’s BSN pages.

Does HPU require the TEAS for nursing admission?

For the standard BSN pathway, HPU lists the TEAS with a minimum score of 70% among competitive pathway requirements. Confirm whether your pathway uses the same testing requirement.

What are clinical placement sites for HPU nursing students?

HPU states that BSN clinical courses may require travel to sites across Oʻahu and that students need reliable transportation. Specific facilities vary by term; confirm with the School of Nursing.

How competitive is admission to HPU nursing?

HPU describes the BSN program as highly competitive and notes that meeting minimum criteria does not guarantee acceptance. Review HPU’s guaranteed vs competitive pathway documents for your situation.

References

  1. HPU School of Nursinghpu.edu/nursing
  2. HPU BSN pathway (prerequisites & TEAS)hpu.edu/nursing/bsn/bsn.html
  3. HPU Tuition & Fees (official PDFs)hpu.edu/business-office/fee-schedule.html
  4. Hawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA)cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/nursing
  5. Hawaii nursing programs (DCCA)cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/hawaii-nursing-programs
  6. National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)ncsbn.org

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for NCLEX sourcing alignment, tuition schedule accuracy, and pathway-level program descriptions against HPU’s public pages.

Disclaimer: This page is for general reference only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and the Hawaii Board of Nursing (DCCA).

Published: Mar 23, 2026· Last reviewed: March 23, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy