Chaffey College Nursing Programs in Rancho Cucamonga (2026)
Chaffey College ADN in Rancho Cucamonga. 2026 admissions, NCLEX-RN pass rate.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
Chaffey’s ADN program was one of five original Associate Degree in Nursing programs in California (1957) and has graduated more than 2,000 nurses. With low in-state tuition ($46/unit), TEAS requirement of 62%+, and applications in March (August start) and September (January start), it is a strong option for Inland Empire students seeking an affordable path to RN licensure.
Overview & Why Students Choose Chaffey College
Chaffey College, in Rancho Cucamonga, California, is in the Inland Empire and serves one of the state’s fastest-growing regions. Its Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) program was founded in 1957 and was one of five original ADN programs in California—proving that quality nursing education could be delivered in the community college setting.
Whether you are a first-time college student or an LVN seeking an RN through advanced placement, Chaffey’s ADN program is ACEN-accredited and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing. Graduates are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN and work as registered nurses; many go on to complete RN-to-BSN programs at four-year schools.
NCLEX pass rate data is submitted to the California Board of Registered Nursing. For the most current pass rates by institution, consult the official California BRN pass rates page.
Five reasons students choose Chaffey
📜 Historic ADN Program
One of five original ADN programs in California (1957). More than 2,000 graduates; many pursue BSN and advanced degrees.
💵 Low In-State Tuition
$46 per unit for California residents. Additional fees apply. Program cost breakdowns are available on the ADN program cost PDFs.
🏥 Inland Empire Clinicals
Clinical experiences in the region’s healthcare facilities. Information sessions cover current placement sites and employment outlook.
🎓 CSUSB Dual Enrollment
Dual enrollment option with California State University, San Bernardino; applications for that track accepted in March for August start.
✅ ACEN Accredited
Program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) and approved by the California BRN.
Nursing Programs Offered
Chaffey College offers a single nursing program: the Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN). The program leads to an Associate in Science degree with a major in nursing and eligibility to take the NCLEX-RN.
Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) — Traditional
Full-time program for students completing prerequisite coursework. Applications accepted March 1–31 for August start and September 1–30 for January start. Combines classroom, lab, and clinical hours.
ADN — LVN-to-RN (Advanced Placement)
Pathway for licensed vocational nurses (LVNs) seeking RN licensure. Program costs and curriculum differ; see the ADN program cost documents (Advanced Placement) on the Chaffey ADN website.
Upon completion, graduates are eligible to take the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN) and, upon passing, become licensed as a Registered Nurse in California. Completion does not guarantee licensure; California law allows denial of RN licensure on the basis of prior convictions.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
Chaffey College’s Associate Degree Nursing Program submits pass rate data to the California Board of Registered Nursing. A specific first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for Chaffey was not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed on the Chaffey ADN page |
| Official Source | California BRN — NCLEX Pass Rates |
Before relying on any single percentage, confirm the latest NCLEX statistics with Chaffey College’s ADN program and the California Board of Registered Nursing. For context on how a school’s rate compares to state averages, use the official BRN report.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
Community colleges in California, including Chaffey, may admit international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses. The exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by visa category and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with Chaffey and the California Board of Registered Nursing—never as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether Chaffey or the ADN program requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how Chaffey wants those reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, any CGFNS or credential evaluation requirements, and document translation requirements directly with the BRN.
- Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.
Policies for international students and foreign‑educated nurses change frequently. Before you rely on any single blog, video, or forum post, verify everything with Chaffey College’s admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Chaffey’s ADN program uses a multi-criteria screening and selection process. Admission is competitive; meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Applicants must attend an information session and are encouraged to attend an ADN application workshop.
- Minimum GPA for fixed set of general education classes: 3.00 or higher
- Minimum science GPA (BIOL 20 Anatomy, BIOL 22 Physiology, BIOL 23/23L Microbiology): 2.80 or higher
- ATI TEAS exam with a passing score of 62% or higher
- Complete prerequisite classes and meet with a Chaffey counselor for an educational plan
- Submit the ADN Multi Criteria Evaluation Request Form during the evaluation period
Application timeline
| Entry Term | Application Period | Program Start |
|---|---|---|
| Fall cohort | March 1 – March 31 | August |
| Spring cohort | September 1 – September 30 | January |
| CSUSB Dual Enrollment | March 1 – March 31 only | August |
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum GE GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum Science GPA | 2.80 |
| TEAS Required | Yes (ATI TEAS, 62% minimum) |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Not publicly disclosed |
Meet with a Chaffey counselor early to complete an educational plan and confirm that your prerequisite coursework (including from other colleges) meets the program’s requirements. Use the ADN application checklist and attend an application workshop. Prepare for the TEAS well in advance; a 62% minimum is required.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 First-time / transfer applicant
Complete the required general education and science prerequisites with strong grades (3.00 GE, 2.80 science). Attend an ADN information session and application workshop. Plan TEAS prep and take the exam before the application window.
🔄 LVN seeking RN (Advanced Placement)
Review the Advanced Placement pathway and program cost documents on the Chaffey ADN website. Ensure your LVN license is in good standing and that you meet the same application windows and multi-criteria process.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Chaffey College is a California community college with low in-state tuition per unit. Below are key cost figures; fees and total program cost vary by pathway (traditional vs. advanced placement).
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Tuition per unit (In-State) | $46 |
| Tuition per unit (Non-Resident / International) | $460 (includes $406 non-resident + $46 enrollment + $8 capital outlay) |
| Additional fees | Health, transportation, technology fees (see Chaffey Tuition and Fees) |
| Program cost documents | ADN program cost by semester (traditional and advanced placement) on Chaffey ADN website |
| Financial aid | 96% of students receive financial aid (per available data). Complete FAFSA; visit Chaffey Financial Aid. |
Fees and total program cost are not estimated here. For current tuition, fees, and program-specific costs, visit the official Chaffey College Tuition and Fees page and the ADN program cost PDFs linked from the ADN program page.
Complete the FAFSA and check Chaffey College Financial Aid. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other state/federal aid may be available to qualifying nursing students.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed (see California BRN) |
| Job Placement Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
Chaffey has graduated more than 2,000 ADN students who are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN. For information about employers hiring Chaffey nursing graduates, see the school’s career services or attend an ADN information session.
Is Chaffey College the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and life circumstances. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Chaffey and who might be better served elsewhere.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Want an affordable, ACEN-accredited ADN at a California community college
- Are in or near the Inland Empire (Rancho Cucamonga area)
- Are okay with a 62% minimum TEAS and multi-criteria admission
- Plan to complete prerequisites (3.00 GE GPA, 2.80 science GPA) before applying
- Are considering LVN-to-RN advanced placement or CSUSB dual enrollment
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Want a BSN or MSN from the same institution
- Need a fully online pre-licensure program
- Are outside California and prefer in-state tuition elsewhere
- Want a single application deadline (Chaffey has March and September windows)
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Rancho Cucamonga and the Inland Empire are part of the greater Los Angeles and San Bernardino healthcare landscape. The region has multiple hospital systems and community health settings, and California continues to have strong demand for registered nurses.
Clinical placement sites are assigned by the program. Information sessions cover current clinical partners and employment outlook. Confirm current sites and regional demand with the ADN program or Chaffey’s career services.
Student Experience & Campus Life
Chaffey College’s main campus is at 5885 Haven Avenue in Rancho Cucamonga. The ADN program holds information sessions and application workshops on campus and via Zoom. Student support resources include counseling, financial aid, and the ADN program cost and checklist documents.
Attend an ADN information session to learn about simulation labs, curriculum, weekly schedule, and student life. Nursing faculty and support staff contact information is listed on the Chaffey ADN program page.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Rancho Cucamonga, CA
- Address
- 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737, US
- Telephone
- (909) 652-6671 (ADN Program)
- Contact email
- adn@chaffey.edu
- Website
- www.chaffey.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official Chaffey College ADN website and download the program checklist and cost documents.
- Review the prerequisite list (GE GPA 3.00, science GPA 2.80) and compare to your transcripts. Meet with a Chaffey counselor for an educational plan.
- Register for the ATI TEAS and aim for at least 62%. Confirm TEAS requirements on the official ADN page.
- Attend an ADN information session and an application workshop (dates on the ADN page).
- Draft a list of questions for the ADN program (adn@chaffey.edu or (909) 652-6671).
- Complete the ADN Multi Criteria Evaluation Request Form during the open period (March 1–31 or September 1–30).
- Note your target cohort: March application for August start; September application for January start.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Chaffey College a good school for nursing?
Chaffey College’s ADN program is ACEN-accredited and was one of five original ADN programs in California (founded 1957). The program has graduated more than 2,000 RNs. NCLEX pass rate data is reported to the California Board of Registered Nursing; confirm current rates on the program or BRN website.
What GPA do you need for Chaffey College nursing?
Minimum GPA for the fixed set of general education classes is 3.00 or higher. Minimum science GPA (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology) must be 2.80 or higher.
Does Chaffey College require the TEAS exam?
Yes. The ADN program requires the ATI TEAS exam with a passing score of 62% or higher.
How competitive is admission to Chaffey College nursing program?
Admission is competitive and uses a multi-criteria screening and selection process. The acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance.
Does Chaffey College offer an accelerated BSN?
No. Chaffey College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) only. Graduates are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN. A CSUSB dual enrollment option is available for some students.
What are the clinical placement sites for Chaffey College nursing students?
Clinical placement sites are not listed in the provided inputs/sources. Contact the ADN program or attend an information session for current clinical partner information in the Inland Empire region.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for Chaffey College?
NCLEX pass rate data is submitted to the California Board of Registered Nursing. For the most current pass rates by institution, consult the official California BRN pass rates page at rn.ca.gov.
References
- Chaffey College ADN Programchaffey.edu/acc/hwa/hwa-academics/adn.php
- Chaffey College — Licensure Exam Passage Rateschaffey.edu licensure pass rates
- Chaffey College Tuition and Feeschaffey.edu tuition and fees
- California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX pass ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml
- All other data as provided in our inputs. Any data point marked “Not publicly disclosed” is based on the unavailability of this information in the official sources reviewed for this guide.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 15, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
