Albuquerque Public Schools Practical Nursing Program: LPN Review (2026)
Albuquerque Public Schools Practical in Albuquerque: LPN. First-time NCLEX-RN was 88.89% (NCLEX-PN first-time (NM BON, CY 2025, APS CEC PN row). Admissions requirements for 2026.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
One of the few high school–based practical nursing pathways: qualifying APS students can progress toward NCLEX-PN and LPN licensure while still in the district’s Career Enrichment Center program—an unusual entry point compared with traditional community college PN tracks.
Overview & Why Students Choose APS Practical Nursing
The Albuquerque Public Schools (APS) Practical Nursing Program is operated at the Career Enrichment Center & Early College Academy (807 Mountain Road NE, Albuquerque). It is described by the district as a high school practical nursing program with national and state recognition that prepares graduates for entry-level practical nursing practice and eligibility to sit for the NCLEX-PN (Licensed Practical Nurse licensure)—not the NCLEX-RN.
The program’s stated mission is to give qualified students from APS comprehensive high schools a structured path into the nursing workforce as competent beginners, with a concept-based curriculum emphasizing professionalism, safety, evidence-based practice, leadership, collaboration, and technology.
According to the New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates PDF (End of Year 2025 table, row Albuquerque Public Schools CEC PN), the 2025 calendar-year first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate was 88.89% (24 of 27 first-time candidates). Practical nursing graduates take the NCLEX-PN for LPN licensure. Confirm the latest cohort with the NM BON and CEC.
Reasons students consider APS Practical Nursing
Early start in nursing
Students apply before junior year and follow a district pathway designed for high school–aged learners who meet strict academic and health requirements—earlier exposure than many traditional college PN programs.
ACEN-accredited practical nursing
As of the ACEN program directory (updated January 2026), the practical nursing program holds accredited status; confirm current status with ACEN and the school.
Community clinical connections
CEC highlights nursing students contributing to school health activities (e.g., district health screenings and immunization-related learning), reinforcing public and school-based care exposure in Albuquerque.
NM Board of Nursing–approved
The accreditation & approval page lists approval by the New Mexico State Board of Nursing alongside ACEN accreditation—verify current approval on the Board’s approved-program list.
Clear licensure goal
The curriculum is aimed at NCLEX-PN readiness and LPN scope of practice; graduation-related costs (exam, board, fingerprinting) are summarized on the current-student page.
Nursing Programs Offered
This profile covers the practical nursing pathway only. The Career Enrichment Center also lists other healthcare pathways (for example, Nursing Assistant) on its catalog page; this guide does not describe those programs in detail.
Pre-licensure (LPN)
Practical Nursing Program (certificate / LPN)
A district practical nursing program preparing students for the NCLEX-PN and Licensed Practical Nurse practice. Delivery is through APS for qualifying high school students; see the official Practical Nursing Program page and student handbooks for structure and term sequence.
This program does not award an ADN or BSN and does not prepare students for the NCLEX-RN. Graduates seeking RN licensure typically pursue LPN-to-RN or other bridge programs at a college or university after licensure as an LPN.
NCLEX-PN Pass Rate
Graduates of this practical nursing program take the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses (NCLEX-PN) for LPN licensure. According to the New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates PDF (End of Year 2025 table, program row Albuquerque Public Schools CEC PN), first-time NCLEX-PN pass rates by calendar year included:
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| 2025 first-time NCLEX-PN (calendar year) | 88.89% (24 of 27 first-time candidates) |
| 2024 | 81.48% (22 of 27) |
| 2023 | 90.48% (19 of 21) |
| 2022 | 90.91% (20 of 22) |
| 2021 | 91.30% (21 of 23) |
| Source | NM BON — NCLEX Pass Rates (PDF) · CEC Accreditation & Approval |
NCLEX-PN outcomes change by cohort. Always confirm the latest pass rates with the New Mexico Board of Nursing and the Career Enrichment Center.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
APS Practical Nursing is structured for Albuquerque Public Schools students who meet Bernalillo County residency and district enrollment criteria. That design means most applicants are domestic K–12 students rather than typical international college applicants. If you are exploring eligibility from outside that pathway, treat the following as a checklist only—this is not legal or immigration advice.
- APS enrollment & residency: Published criteria require attending an APS school and Bernalillo County residency; confirm whether any exceptions exist for your situation with APS/CEC.
- English-language proficiency: If the district requires proof of English proficiency for your enrollment category, confirm tests and scores with APS.
- New Mexico Board of Nursing: For LPN licensure and NCLEX-PN eligibility after a U.S. practical nursing program, follow the Board’s current rules; internationally educated nurses may have different pathways than new U.S. program graduates.
- Immigration & visa: High school CTE programs are not interchangeable with SEVP-certified college programs; verify any visa or status questions with APS and qualified advisors.
Policies change. Verify with Albuquerque Public Schools, the Career Enrichment Center, and the New Mexico Board of Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Admission is selective and timeline-driven. According to CEC’s New Applicants page (revised March 2026), students apply early in the spring semester before their junior year; applications are not accepted after the published deadline. The site indicated the application window for the 2026–2027 school year was closed at the time of review—check the same page for the next cycle.
If minimum requirements are met, the applicant is notified as a qualified applicant; scoring and rubric completeness then determine selection into the junior nursing class. Teacher letters of recommendation are required and must come directly from the student’s teacher (per CEC).
Application timeline
| Entry | Deadline | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Junior-year cohort | Spring before junior year (see CEC catalog) | Download the Process and Timeline PDF on the New Applicants page |
Admissions snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Residency & school | Bernalillo County resident; must attend an Albuquerque Public School (per CEC) |
| Cumulative GPA | 3.0 or higher (per CEC new applicants page) |
| Biology | Two semesters with minimum grade of B each semester |
| Mathematics | Two years with minimum grade of B each year |
| Age | Must be 16 by September of the year of admission |
| Immunizations & TB | Current immunizations; annual flu vaccine; 1 recent documented TB test (details on CEC page) |
| CPR | Basic life support prior to start of fall semester |
| TEAS / HESI | Not publicly disclosed on the pages reviewed—confirm with CEC whether an entrance exam is required for your cohort |
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
This program is delivered as part of Albuquerque Public Schools Career and Technical Education for qualifying high school students. A traditional per-credit college tuition schedule like a community college or university is not publicly disclosed on the sources used for this guide as the primary cost model. Dual-credit courses elsewhere in CEC may involve partner colleges (CNM, UNM, etc.) with separate rules—that is distinct from the practical nursing pathway’s core district delivery; see CEC dual-credit materials if applicable to you.
CEC does publish graduation-related costs for practical nursing students (revised December 2024), including approximate ranges for pins, New Mexico Board of Nursing fees, NCSBN/Pearson Vue NCLEX-PN exam fee, fingerprinting, and uniforms. Amounts change—use the current-student page for the active figures.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Program tuition (college-style) | Not publicly disclosed as a standalone per-credit amount on the sources reviewed; confirm with CEC whether any course or program fees apply to your cohort |
| Graduation & licensure-related costs (examples from CEC) | NM Board of Nursing fee cited as $110; NCLEX-PN exam $200; fingerprinting $44–$75; pins and announcements variable—see Current Student Info |
| Source | CEC Practical Nursing — Current Students · Program home |
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
Practical nursing graduates who pass the NCLEX-PN may practice as Licensed Practical Nurses in settings such as long-term care, clinics, home health, and hospitals per employer and state scope. For program-level NCLEX-PN performance, rely on the New Mexico Board of Nursing and CEC disclosures rather than unsourced summaries.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-PN first-time (CY 2025) | 88.89% (24 of 27) per NM BON NCLEX Pass Rates PDF (row Albuquerque Public Schools CEC PN) — confirm with Board and CEC |
| Retention rate | Listed among topics on CEC Accreditation & Approval—confirm current figures on the program’s disclosures |
| Job placement / employment % | Not publicly disclosed on the pages reviewed for this guide |
| Source | NM BON · CEC Accreditation & Approval |
Is APS Practical Nursing the Right Fit for You?
This pathway fits a specific profile: strong academic performance in high school science and math, ability to meet health and professional requirements, and commitment to a district cohort model leading to LPN licensure—not a four-year university BSN on the same timeline.
✓ Good fit for students who—
- Are on track to meet APS/Bernalillo County and GPA prerequisites and want to start nursing through a high school CTE program.
- Are aiming for LPN licensure and NCLEX-PN rather than an RN degree immediately.
- Want a structured, early introduction to nursing within Albuquerque Public Schools.
✗ May not be ideal for students who—
- Are not enrolled in APS or do not meet residency criteria for the published pathway.
- Want a BSN or ADN without first completing LPN licensure and a future bridge program.
- Need a flexible or fully online program—this is an in-person, district-based sequence with clinical requirements.
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Albuquerque anchors a large share of New Mexico’s hospital and outpatient capacity. Major systems serving the metro area include University of New Mexico Hospital, Presbyterian Healthcare Services, and Lovelace Health System, among community clinics and long-term care providers. Practical nursing students typically rotate through settings aligned with LPN scope; exact affiliation lists change by year and should be confirmed with CEC.
CEC highlights school nursing–related community work—for example, students participating in health screenings and flu vaccine efforts with younger students in the district—building familiarity with population and community health in Albuquerque.
| Setting | Details |
|---|---|
| Acute care (examples) | UNM Hospital, Presbyterian, Lovelace—large employers for LPNs and RNs in the metro area; confirm clinical sites with CEC |
| Community / school health | CEC describes nursing students supporting district health activities—see CEC news and program pages |
Student Experience & Campus Life
Instruction is centered at the Career Enrichment Center & Early College Academy campus on Mountain Road NE. Students follow the practical nursing curriculum and handbook for their cohort (e.g., Class of 2026 or 2027 handbooks linked from the current-student page). Student life is embedded in APS: expectations reflect both nursing standards and district policies, including immunization and clinical requirements aligned with partner facilities.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Albuquerque, NM
- Address
- 807 Mountain Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102, US
- Telephone
- (505) 247-3658 (Career Enrichment Center); nursing director contact listed by ACEN as ext. 45406—confirm current extension with CEC
- Email (Nursing Director, per ACEN)
- weatherford@aps.edu
- Website
- CEC Practical Nursing Program
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Read the Practical Nursing Program page and download the Student Handbook for your cohort from Current Student Info.
- Review the New Applicants criteria against your transcript (GPA, biology, math).
- Open the Process and Timeline PDF on the New Applicants page and note the next application window.
- Confirm whether TEAS or HESI is required by asking CEC nursing staff; do not assume from generic nursing-school advice.
- Bookmark the New Mexico Board of Nursing for NCLEX-PN and approved-program information.
- List questions about clinical sites, uniforms, and vaccination requirements for your cohort.
- If you plan to pursue RN later, sketch a tentative plan (LPN → bridge program) with a college advisor after licensure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is APS Practical Nursing at the Career Enrichment Center a legitimate LPN program?
Yes—the pathway is designed to prepare graduates for NCLEX-PN and practical nursing practice. ACEN lists the practical nursing program as accredited (verify current status on ACEN), and CEC lists New Mexico State Board of Nursing approval. Confirm NCLEX-PN outcomes with the Board and CEC.
Can I apply if I do not attend an Albuquerque Public School?
CEC’s published criteria require attending an Albuquerque Public School and meeting Bernalillo County residency requirements. If that does not describe you, this pathway likely does not apply—consider other New Mexico practical nursing programs.
What GPA and grades does APS Practical Nursing require?
Per the New Applicants page: cumulative GPA 3.0 or higher; two semesters of biology each at B or better; two years of mathematics each at B or better; plus age, immunization, TB, and CPR requirements. Confirm updates in the current application packet.
When should I apply to the CEC Practical Nursing Program?
Students apply early in the spring before junior year. The site states whether the current year’s window is open or closed—check the New Applicants page and the Process and Timeline PDF.
Does APS Practical Nursing use the TEAS or HESI?
Not publicly disclosed on the pages reviewed for this guide. Ask CEC nursing staff whether an entrance exam applies to your cohort.
Do graduates take NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN?
Practical nursing graduates take the NCLEX-PN for LPN licensure. NCLEX-RN applies to registered nursing programs (e.g., ADN/BSN), which this program is not.
What is the first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate for APS practical nursing?
According to the New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates PDF (End of Year 2025 table, row “Albuquerque Public Schools CEC PN”), the 2025 calendar-year first-time rate was 88.89% (24 of 27). Confirm the latest cohort with the NM BON and CEC.
How much will I pay for APS Practical Nursing?
A traditional college tuition line is not publicly disclosed as the main model on the sources reviewed. CEC publishes graduation-related costs (board, exam, fingerprinting, etc.) on the current-student page—see that page for dollar amounts and confirm with CEC.
Does the program prepare me for an RN license?
No—it prepares you for the LPN role via NCLEX-PN. Many LPNs later pursue LPN-to-RN or similar bridge programs at a college or university if they choose to become RNs.
References
- Career Enrichment Center — Practical Nursing Programhttps://cec.aps.edu/cec/practical-nursing
- CEC — New Applicants / Prospective Studentshttps://cec.aps.edu/cec/practical-nursing/new-applicants
- CEC — Current Student Info & graduation costshttps://cec.aps.edu/cec/practical-nursing/current-student-info
- CEC — Accreditation & Approvalhttps://cec.aps.edu/cec/practical-nursing/accreditation-approval
- Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) — program directory entryACEN — Albuquerque Public Schools Practical Nursing
- New Mexico Board of Nursing — NCLEX pass rates (PDF)files.bon.nm.gov/WebDocs/NCLEX Pass Rates.pdf
- New Mexico Board of Nursinghttps://www.bon.nm.gov/
- National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)ncsbn.org
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nursesbls.gov/ooh
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, LPN vs RN scope, APS admissions criteria, and NCLEX-PN sourcing.
Disclaimer: This page is for general reference only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice. Requirements, deadlines, costs, and policies change; always verify with Albuquerque Public Schools (CEC), the New Mexico Board of Nursing, and ACEN as applicable.
Published: Mar 27, 2026· Last reviewed: March 27, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
