New Mexico State University: BSN, ABSN & MSN Review (2026)
New Mexico State University BSN, Accelerated BSN (ABSN), and MSN in Las Cruces. First-time NCLEX-RN was 87.6% (first-time (NM BON, CY 2025, BSN). Admissions requirements and accelerated BSN for 2026.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
NMSU delivers the statewide NMNEC BSN curriculum on three campuses (Las Cruces, Alamogordo, Grants), uses ranked HESI A2–based admission for limited seats, and publishes NCLEX outcomes under “NMSU- SON BSN NMNEC” in the New Mexico Board of Nursing pass-rate tables—use those official rows when comparing cohorts year to year.
Overview & Why Students Choose NMSU
New Mexico State University’s School of Nursing sits in Las Cruces with additional BSN instruction delivered in partnership with NMSU–Alamogordo and NMSU–Grants (videoconferencing plus local clinicals). The school emphasizes border-region clinical experience and implements the New Mexico Nursing Education Consortium (NMNEC) common curriculum for its BSN. Graduate programs are largely online with synchronous and asynchronous distance delivery for the DNP.
Pre-licensure students apply to competitive BSN cohorts after prerequisites; the program uses HESI A2 scores (not TEAS) as a major part of ranking. Graduate pathways serve licensed RNs advancing into leadership (MSN) or advanced practice and doctoral roles (DNP, post-graduate APRN certificates).
According to the New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates document (End of Year 2025 table), the row NMSU- SON BSN NMNEC lists a 2025 calendar-year first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate of 87.6% (113 of 129 first-time candidates). Confirm the latest cohort with the NM BON pass-rate PDF and NMSU.
Reasons students choose NMSU
NMNEC statewide curriculum
BSN students follow the consortium curriculum used across participating New Mexico programs—supporting consistent competencies and transfer context within the state system.
Multi-campus BSN access
Traditional BSN runs in Las Cruces, Alamogordo, and Grants; second-degree Roadrunner is concentrated in Las Cruces per NMSU’s published scope.
Second-degree Roadrunner track
NMSU promotes a roughly 19-month accelerated path for applicants who already hold a bachelor’s in another field, with defined summer entry for Roadrunner.
Graduate nursing online
MSN leadership and DNP specialties use distance education so working RNs can often remain in their home communities while completing practicum requirements.
Transparent BSN cohort sizing
NMSU publishes approximate seats per campus/term (e.g., traditional cohort sizes in Las Cruces), which helps applicants gauge competition.
Nursing Programs Offered
The following programs are listed on the NMSU School of Nursing site and 2025–2026 catalog materials. Use the headings below to separate pre-licensure (BSN), post-licensure graduate (MSN), and doctoral / certificate pathways.
Pre-licensure — Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)
Traditional BSN
Four-year, 124–125 credit BSN on Las Cruces, Alamogordo, and Grants campuses; students remain pre-nursing until admitted to the five-semester nursing sequence. Uses NMNEC curriculum.
Accelerated BSN (ABSN) — Roadrunner & Pathway
Second-degree options for students who already hold a bachelor’s in a non-nursing field. The Roadrunner track is ~19 months with summer start in Las Cruces; Roadrunner is not offered at Grants or Alamogordo. See NMSU’s second-degree BSN page for Pathway details.
Post-licensure — Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)
MSN — Nursing Leadership & Administration
32-credit online MSN for licensed RNs with a BSN; prepares students for leadership roles. Spring and fall cohorts with application deadlines published on the MSN page.
Doctoral & post-graduate certificates
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP)
DNP tracks listed by NMSU include Family Nurse Practitioner, Psychiatric Mental Health NP, Nurse Anesthesiology, and MSN-to-DNP Population Health Leadership; didactic courses use distance formats with synchronous and asynchronous components.
Post-Graduate APRN Certificate
For certified APRNs seeking additional specialty preparation; confirm specialty availability and state authorization with the graduate nursing office.
NMSU states CCNE accreditation for baccalaureate, master’s, DNP, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs. Candidacy is not the same as full accreditation for any program; confirm current accreditation and New Mexico Board of Nursing approval with the school and CCNE.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
According to the New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates PDF (End of Year 2025 table, program row NMSU- SON BSN NMNEC), first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates by calendar year were:
| Calendar year (12/31) | First-time pass rate | Candidates (passed/total) |
|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 73.13% | 98 / 134 |
| 2022 | 66.67% | 90 / 135 |
| 2023 | 82.51% | 151 / 183 |
| 2024 | 93.48% | 129 / 138 |
| 2025 | 87.6% | 113 / 129 |
| Source | New Mexico Board of Nursing — NCLEX Pass Rates (PDF). Confirm current rates with the NM Board of Nursing and NMSU. | |
NCLEX outcomes vary by cohort and testing year. Always confirm the latest first-time pass rates in the NM BON pass-rate publication and with the School of Nursing.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
Requirements for international students and internationally educated nurses vary by institution and state. Use the points below as a checklist; verify everything with NMSU and the New Mexico Board of Nursing.
- English-language proficiency: TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo, or other minimum scores required by NMSU Admissions and the Graduate School (graduate programs list specific thresholds on their pages).
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Follow NMSU’s international admissions guidance for transcript format; internationally educated nurses may need CGFNS or other evaluations for NM licensure.
- New Mexico Board of Nursing: For RN licensure (with or without a U.S. degree), confirm NCLEX eligibility, English competency rules, and documentation with the Board’s RN resources.
- Immigration & visa: Clinical nursing programs have special considerations for F-1 students; confirm with the Office of International Student & Scholar Services and the School of Nursing.
Policies change frequently. Verify with NMSU’s international office and the New Mexico Board of Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
BSN admission is competitive: NMSU ranks applicants using nursing prerequisite GPA, HESI A2 scores, optional New Mexico residency/military bonuses, coursework-at-NMSU bonus, and a scored admission essay. Students must earn at least 75% in each required HESI subject area and 75% cumulative on the composite used for ranking. The minimum nursing prerequisite GPA to apply is 2.75; the program notes that accepted students typically exceed this minimum.
Application timeline (BSN)
| Entry Term | Deadline | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Summer Roadrunner | February 1 (11:59 p.m.) | Las Cruces campus only; HESI window Oct 1–Feb 1 for that cycle. |
| Fall (all campuses) | April 1 (11:59 p.m.) | Traditional, Pathways, and Summer Roadrunner applicants for that cycle per NMSU. |
| Spring (traditional) | September 1 (11:59 p.m.) | Las Cruces campus only; HESI window Mar 1–Sep 1. |
Admissions snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance rate (nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum nursing prerequisite GPA | 2.75 (higher scores typical among admitted students) |
| Entrance exam | HESI A2 required each semester you apply; TEAS not used for the BSN process described on NMSU’s BSN page. |
| MSN minimum nursing GPA | 3.0 BSN GPA (graduate nursing page) |
Tip: Contact the SON Advising Center before you submit a nursing application to confirm eligibility, HESI windows, and essay instructions—requirements can change by term.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
NMSU’s BSN program costs page publishes a five-semester estimated total for the clinical nursing sequence: about $27,222.68 for New Mexico residents and about $74,313.68 for non-residents, including tuition, nursing differential, clinical fees, and estimated books—plus a separate table for immunizations, uniforms, and screenings. The page states costs were based on Fall 2024 tuition and points to the university Tuition & Fees page for the latest per-credit rates (Las Cruces PDFs include 2025–2026 and 2026–2027 schedules).
Illustrative per-credit totals on the same page (tuition + nursing differential) are about $356.98 per credit for residents and about $1,070.48 for non-residents at the Las Cruces rate used in the estimate—confirm your campus tier and fees after registration.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| 5-semester BSN estimate (resident / non-resident) | ~$27,222.68 / ~$74,313.68 (NMSU SON cost sheet; Fall 2024 tuition basis) |
| Source | NMSU BSN program costs; NMSU Tuition & Fees. Confirm current amounts with NMSU. |
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
Use the NCLEX-RN section for board-published first-time pass rates. For employment or salary outcomes, see whether NMSU or the system publishes a consumer-information or outcomes report for your program; we do not repeat unsourced placement percentages here.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN first-time pass (BSN, CY 2025) | 87.6% (113/129) per NM BON NCLEX Pass Rates PDF — confirm with Board and school. |
| Job placement / employment | Not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this page. Check NMSU career outcomes or ask the program for graduate surveys. |
| Source | New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates |
Is NMSU the Right Fit for You?
NMSU fits students who want a public university with border-region clinical exposure and a clearly published HESI-based BSN selection process. It may be less ideal if you need a fully online pre-licensure program or cannot meet clinical vaccination and clearance requirements.
✓ Good fit for students who—
- Want the NMNEC statewide BSN curriculum with optional campuses in southern New Mexico.
- Can prepare for HESI A2 and maintain a strong prerequisite GPA in a ranked admission model.
- Plan to pursue graduate nursing online while continuing to work as an RN in their home region.
✗ May not be ideal for students who—
- Expect rolling, non-competitive admission into nursing without testing or essay scoring.
- Cannot relocate or travel for clinical assignments in southern New Mexico / nearby communities.
- Prefer a program that does not require the immunization and health-screening package typical of clinical agencies in New Mexico.
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Las Cruces anchors health care for Doña County and sits near the border with Texas and Mexico, with referral and specialty networks extending toward El Paso. NMSU emphasizes community and acute-care experiences aligned with NMNEC clinical education. Specific hospital contracts rotate; confirm active affiliations with the School of Nursing clinical placement office.
| Facility / system | Details |
|---|---|
| MountainView Regional Medical Center | Large Las Cruces hospital system often referenced in regional health discussions; common rotation site category for southern New Mexico programs—confirm current contracts with NMSU. |
| Memorial Medical Center (Las Cruces) | Acute-care hospital serving the Mesilla Valley; verify whether your cohort places here through NMSU’s clinical grid. |
| Community & public health | BSN students complete community-oriented experiences consistent with NMNEC competencies; rural and border health may appear in rotation options. |
Student Experience & Campus Life
Nursing advising and undergraduate BSN support are centered in the Health and Social Services (HSS) complex on the Las Cruces campus, with virtual-tour content referenced on the School of Nursing homepage. Student life follows the broader NMSU experience (clubs, recreation, and campus events) while nursing students must meet strict clinical compliance standards (immunizations, background checks, drug screens, CPR) that extend beyond typical undergraduate requirements.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Las Cruces, NM (School of Nursing advising — HSS 110)
- Address
- Health & Social Services Building, 1335 International Mall, Las Cruces, NM 88003, US
- Telephone
- (575) 646-3812 (SON Advising Center)
- Contact email
- nursing@nmsu.edu
- Website
- schoolofnursing.nmsu.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the NMSU School of Nursing site and download the current BSN degree plan or graduate brochure.
- Compare your transcripts to the prerequisite list in the NMSU nursing catalog entry.
- Register for the HESI A2 during the open window for your application term (BSN); review minimum 75% rules on the BSN page.
- Email nursing@nmsu.edu or call (575) 646-3812 to confirm eligibility before you submit a nursing application.
- Bookmark the NM BON NCLEX pass-rate PDF to track updated cohort data.
- Outline your BSN admission essay (scored component) or gather CV/references for graduate nursing applications.
- Add the correct deadline—Feb 1, Apr 1, or Sep 1 for BSN tracks—to your calendar with a reminder one week before.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the New Mexico State University School of Nursing accredited?
Yes. NMSU states CCNE accreditation for its baccalaureate, master’s, DNP, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs, and lists New Mexico Board of Nursing approval for the BSN. Confirm current status with NMSU, CCNE, and the Board.
What is the first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for NMSU’s BSN (NMNEC) program?
According to the New Mexico Board of Nursing NCLEX Pass Rates PDF (End of Year 2025 table, row “NMSU- SON BSN NMNEC”), the 2025 calendar-year first-time pass rate was 87.6% (113 of 129). The same table shows 93.48% (2024) and 82.51% (2023). Confirm the latest cohort with the NM BON and NMSU.
Does NMSU use TEAS or HESI for BSN admission?
The BSN program requires the HESI Admission Assessment (A2) with at least 75% in each required section and on the composite used for ranking. NMSU’s published BSN materials describe HESI—not the TEAS—for this pathway.
What are the BSN application deadlines at NMSU?
February 1 for Summer Roadrunner (Las Cruces), April 1 for Fall (all campuses), and September 1 for Spring traditional (Las Cruces), each at 11:59 p.m. on the deadline date.
How much does the five-semester BSN sequence cost at NMSU?
NMSU’s BSN program costs page lists total estimated costs of about $27,222.68 (resident) and about $74,313.68 (non-resident) for the five-semester program, based on Fall 2024 tuition, plus separate lines for clinical supplies and health requirements. Verify current figures on the SON cost page and the Bursar’s tuition tables.
Where is the School of Nursing advising office?
Undergraduate BSN advising is in HSS 110 on the Las Cruces campus, reachable at (575) 646-3812 and nursing@nmsu.edu.
Does NMSU offer an accelerated second-degree BSN?
Yes—the Roadrunner and Pathway second-degree options are described on NMSU’s second-degree BSN page; Roadrunner is about 19 months and is not offered at Alamogordo or Grants.
What graduate programs does NMSU’s School of Nursing offer?
An online MSN in Nursing Leadership & Administration, multiple DNP specialties (including FNP, PMHNP, and Nurse Anesthesiology), and post-graduate APRN certificates per the graduate program pages.
How many students are admitted to each NMSU BSN cohort?
NMSU publishes approximate seat counts—for example, 64 traditional students per fall and spring semester in Las Cruces and smaller cohorts at Alamogordo and Grants. See the BSN admission criteria section for the table that matches your campus.
References
- NMSU School of Nursingschoolofnursing.nmsu.edu
- NMSU BSN program & admission criteriaBSN program page
- NMSU BSN program costs (5-semester estimate)BSN program costs
- NMSU Tuition & Fees (Bursar)uar.nmsu.edu/tuition-fees
- New Mexico Board of Nursing — NCLEX pass rates (PDF)files.bon.nm.gov/WebDocs/NCLEX Pass Rates.pdf
- New Mexico Board of Nursing — RN licensurebon.nm.gov/rn
- National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)ncsbn.org
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for NCLEX data alignment with the New Mexico Board of Nursing PDF, program list alignment with NMSU School of Nursing pages, and tuition figures traced to the SON BSN cost sheet.
Disclaimer: This page is for general reference only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and the New Mexico Board of Nursing.
Published: Mar 27, 2026· Last reviewed: March 27, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
