California State University Fresno in 2026: BSN, MSN & Costs – Fresno
🎓 Nursing School Profile

California State University Fresno Nursing Program Review (2026): Programs, Requirements & Outcomes

BSN, MSN, and DNP in Fresno at California State University Fresno. Compare NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements in Fresno.

~12 min read Updated Mar 15, 2026 Expert Reviewed
CCNE
BSN, MSN, DNP Accredited
3.0
Min Prereq GPA (BSN)
$3,225
In-State / Semester

Quick Facts

Type
Public, 4‑year (CSU)
Accreditation
CCNE
Programs
BSN, MSN, DNP
In‑state tuition
~$6,450/yr (ug)
NCLEX Pass Rate
For latest rates see Calif. BRN report
BSN deadline
NursingCAS + Cal State Apply
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Clinical sites
4 major Valley hospitals

Key Takeaway

Fresno State is the largest university in the Central San Joaquin Valley, giving nursing students direct access to four of the region’s largest hospitals for clinical hours. The School of Nursing offers a Pre-Health pathway for freshmen, an impacted but transparent BSN selection process (prerequisite GPA, TEAS 75%+), and CCNE-accredited MSN and DNP programs including an MSN–Family Nurse Practitioner track.

Overview & Why Students Choose Fresno State

California State University, Fresno is the largest university in the Central San Joaquin Valley. Its School of Nursing offers state-of-the-art nursing skills and simulation laboratories, fully equipped classrooms, and the possibility of online courses for graduate study. Being in the heart of the Valley gives students hands-on learning at four of the largest hospitals in the region.

Whether you are a first-time freshman in the Pre-Health pathway, a transfer applicant aiming for the BSN, or an RN pursuing an MSN or DNP, Fresno State’s School of Nursing offers CCNE-accredited programs from bachelor’s through doctoral level, plus a post-baccalaureate School Nurse Services Credential.

NCLEX and outcomes

For the latest pass rates consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing.

Five reasons students choose Fresno State

🏥 Central Valley clinical access

Clinical rotations at four of the largest hospitals in the Central San Joaquin Valley, with diverse patient populations and high-acuity experiences.

🔬 Simulation & skills labs

State-of-the-art nursing skills and simulation laboratories and fully equipped classrooms to practice before real-patient clinicals.

🎓 Pre-Health pathway

Structured Pre-Health Program for first-time freshmen with advising and career exploration before applying to the nursing major.

💵 CSU value

Public CSU tuition and fees; financial aid and scholarships available. NURSE Corps and other state/federal programs may apply.

📜 CCNE-accredited BSN, MSN, DNP

All degree programs accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). MSN accredited through June 2035.

Nursing Programs Offered

Fresno State’s School of Nursing offers an undergraduate BSN, a post-baccalaureate School Nurse Services Credential, an MSN, and a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP). All nursing degree programs are CCNE-accredited.

Undergraduate

Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)

Minimum 120 semester units; nursing curriculum sequence covers five semesters. Requires completion of eight prerequisites (minimum 3.0 GPA in prerequisites and cumulative), TEAS 75%+, and application via NursingCAS and Cal State Apply. Leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility and California Public Health Nurse Certificate.

Credential

School Nurse Services Credential

Post-baccalaureate program for RNs seeking the California School Nurse Services Credential. Details and requirements are on the school’s website.

Graduate

MSN — Family Nurse Practitioner

2-year, full-time (4 semesters); in-person with some hybrid courses. 750 total practicum hours. Admits about 15–20 students per year in the fall. Applications open October 1, close May 1. CCNE-accredited through June 30, 2035.

Doctoral

Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP)

Terminal practice degree for advanced practice nurses. CCNE-accredited. Program structure and application cycles are on the School of Nursing DNP page.

Prerequisites and catalog

BSN prerequisites include BIOL 67A/67B (Anatomy & Physiology I/II), BIOL 20 (Microbiology), CHEM 3A, statistics, critical thinking, English composition, and oral communication. Each must be completed with a minimum C grade (no CR/NC). See the university catalog and Fresno State BSN page for current list and equivalents.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

For the latest NCLEX pass rates for California State University Fresno, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing report.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateFor the latest pass rates consult the California BRN report.
Job Placement (BSN)Not available in the provided inputs/sources
Source for current dataCalifornia Board of Registered Nursing
Confirm with official sources

For the most current NCLEX pass rates and state comparisons, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing reports. Do not rely on a single guide; confirm with the school and the BRN before making decisions.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

Fresno State admits international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses. The exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa type, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with Fresno State and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a replacement for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether Fresno State requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how the university wants reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document translation requirements with the BRN.
  • Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, financial documentation required, and how clinical placements fit your immigration status.

Policies for international students and foreign‑educated nurses change frequently. Before you rely on any single blog, video, or forum post, cross‑check everything with Fresno State’s International Admissions and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

Fresno State’s BSN program is on impacted status: the number of applications exceeds the number of vacancies. There is no waiting list. Admission is very competitive; meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Applicants must submit both a Nursing Supplemental Application via NursingCAS and the CSU application via Cal State Apply within the appropriate cycles.

BSN minimum requirements
  • Admitted transfer student, or currently enrolled Pre-Health student at Fresno State, or on approved leave of absence from Fresno State
  • Minimum 3.0 prerequisite GPA and 3.0 cumulative GPA
  • All eight prerequisite courses completed with minimum C grade (CR/NC not acceptable)
  • TEAS passed with 75% or higher
  • Preference given to U.S. military veterans who meet minimums and submit DD214 (honorable discharge) prior to application submission

Application process

Selection is based on meeting minimum requirements and review of top candidates by prerequisite GPA. If not selected, transfer students have their major changed to their secondary option and cannot reapply until they have graduated from that major and reapply as second-baccalaureate students. Pre-Health students (Fall 2020 and forward) may reapply and compete with the entire new applicant pool.

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance Rate (Nursing)Not publicly disclosed (impacted program)
Minimum Prerequisite GPA3.0 (eight prerequisite courses)
Minimum Cumulative GPA3.0
TEAS RequiredYes; minimum 75%
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Ranking is by prerequisite GPA among candidates who meet minimums. Strengthen your application by earning strong grades in all eight prerequisites (anatomy, physiology, microbiology, chemistry, statistics, critical thinking, English, oral communication). Prepare thoroughly for the TEAS. Veterans: submit DD214 before the application deadline to receive preference.

Advice by applicant type

🎓 First-time freshman

Enter the Pre-Health Program; complete HHS 18 and HHS 100T for career exploration. Maintain at least 3.0 prerequisite and cumulative GPA each semester. Once you have TEAS 75%+ and all eight prerequisites, apply to the nursing major via NursingCAS and Cal State Apply.

🔄 Transfer applicant

Apply to the university via Cal State Apply and to the School of Nursing via NursingCAS. Ensure your community college courses articulate (use ASSIST). If not selected, your major will be changed to your secondary option; you cannot reapply until you complete that degree and reapply as a second-baccalaureate applicant.

🩺 RN seeking MSN or DNP

MSN-FNP requires current BLS, physical assessment course, introductory research and statistics, malpractice insurance, 3.0 GPA, and California RN license from an accredited BSN. Contact the School of Nursing for DNP requirements and application cycles.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Fresno State is part of the California State University system. Below are approximate cost figures; verify with the university for the current year.

MetricValue
Undergraduate Full-Time (7+ units, In-State, per semester)~$3,225 tuition; ~$4,112.50 with fees (2025–26)
Undergraduate (Out-of-State)Additional $444 per unit nonresident fee
Graduate MSN (full-time, per semester)~$4,432.50 (as of Aug 2024)
Graduate DNP (per semester, 2024–25)~$8,722
Housing, Fees, BooksNot publicly disclosed in sources reviewed; see official Cost of Attendance
Financial AidComplete FAFSA; NURSE Corps and other programs may apply
Cost note

Tuition and fees change annually. For current figures, visit Fresno State Student Affairs and the CSU tuition and fees page.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other state/federal aid may be available. Check the school’s financial aid office for nursing-specific scholarships.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateFor the latest pass rates consult the California BRN report.
Job Placement (BSN)Not available in the provided inputs/sources
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

For employer and placement information, see the school’s outcomes or career services at chhs.fresnostate.edu/nursing.

Is Fresno State the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and life circumstances. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at Fresno State and who might be better served elsewhere.

✅ Good fit for students who…

  • Want CCNE-accredited BSN, MSN, or DNP at a public CSU
  • Prefer the Central San Joaquin Valley and clinical access to four major hospitals
  • Are comfortable with an impacted BSN (selection by prerequisite GPA, TEAS 75%+)
  • Are U.S. military veterans (preference given when minimums met)
  • Are RNs seeking MSN-FNP or DNP in the region

⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…

  • Are looking for an accelerated BSN (ABSN)
  • Want a PhD in Nursing (Fresno State offers BSN, MSN, DNP only)
  • Need a fully online pre-licensure BSN
  • Prefer a smaller or private school

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

The Central San Joaquin Valley is a major healthcare region. Fresno State’s School of Nursing states that students gain hands-on learning at four of the largest hospitals in the region. California continues to have strong demand for RNs; the Valley’s diverse and growing population supports a wide range of clinical experiences.

Why this matters

Clinical access to major Valley hospitals gives students exposure to diverse patient populations and high-acuity care. For a current list of clinical partners, contact the School of Nursing.

Student Experience & Campus Life

Fresno State’s School of Nursing is located in McLane Hall (Room 194). The school offers state-of-the-art nursing skills and simulation laboratories and fully equipped classrooms; some graduate courses are available online. Office hours are Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–5 p.m. (closed 12–1 p.m.).

The university is the largest in the Central San Joaquin Valley and provides a full campus experience. For nursing clubs, honor societies, and student organizations, check the School of Nursing and university student life pages.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Fresno, CA
Address
2345 E. San Ramon M/S MH25, Fresno, CA 93740-8031
Telephone
(559) 278-2041
Contact email
FSNursingAdmissions@mail.fresnostate.edu
Website
chhs.fresnostate.edu/nursing

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official Fresno State School of Nursing and download the program brochure or student handbook if available.
  • Review the eight BSN prerequisite courses and compare with your transcripts (use ASSIST for California community college equivalents).
  • If required, register for the TEAS and aim for 75% or higher. Confirm BSN application deadlines and submit via NursingCAS and Cal State Apply.
  • Draft questions for the CHHS Advising and Career Development Center or Nursing Program Admissions Coordinator.
  • Reach out to current Fresno State nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences.
  • Begin outlining your personal statement (graduate) or ensure prerequisites and GPA meet minimums (BSN).
  • Check NursingCAS and Cal State Apply for your target term and set deadline reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is California State University Fresno a good school for nursing?

Fresno State’s School of Nursing is CCNE-accredited for BSN, MSN, and DNP. It offers state-of-the-art simulation labs and clinical placements at four of the largest hospitals in the Central San Joaquin Valley.

What GPA do you need for Fresno State nursing?

BSN applicants need a minimum 3.0 in the eight prerequisite courses and a 3.0 cumulative GPA. The program is impacted; selection is based on prerequisite GPA among top candidates.

Does Fresno State require the TEAS exam for nursing?

Yes. The BSN program requires the TEAS with a minimum score of 75% or higher. Applications are submitted via NursingCAS and Cal State Apply.

How competitive is admission to Fresno State’s nursing program?

The nursing program is on impacted status; the number of applications exceeds available seats. There is no waiting list. Selection is based on meeting minimums and ranking by prerequisite GPA. Preference is given to U.S. military veterans who meet minimums and submit DD214.

Does Fresno State offer an accelerated BSN?

Fresno State does not offer an accelerated BSN (ABSN). The traditional BSN requires completion of eight prerequisites and five semesters of nursing curriculum. The school also offers MSN and DNP programs for advanced practice.

What are the clinical placement sites for Fresno State nursing students?

Students gain hands-on learning at four of the largest hospitals in the Central San Joaquin Valley. Specific site names and details are available from the School of Nursing and clinical coordinators.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for Fresno State?

For the latest pass rates consult the California Board of Registered Nursing report.

References

  1. Fresno State School of Nursing — Homechhs.fresnostate.edu/nursing
  2. CSU tuition and feescalstate.edu
  3. California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.

Published: Mar 15, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 12, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy