California State University, Chico Nursing Programs in Chico (2026)
California State University, Chico in Chico: BSN, RN-to-BSN, and MSN. First-time NCLEX-RN was 96% (RN-BSN NCLEX Pass). Admissions requirements for 2026.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
CSUDH’s School of Nursing is built around adult learners and diversity. Its online RN-to-BSN and MSN programs use flexible, technology-driven delivery so working nurses can complete coursework on their schedule, with clinical experiences in the student’s community and a mission focused on underserved and culturally diverse populations.
Overview & Why Students Choose CSUDH
California State University Dominguez Hills sits in Carson, in the South Bay of greater Los Angeles—a region with strong demand for nurses and diverse clinical settings. The School of Nursing does not offer a pre-licensure BSN; instead it focuses on RN-to-BSN and MSN programs designed for working RNs and adult learners who reflect the diversity of the community.
All programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), and the university is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC). If you are an RN seeking a BSN or an advanced practice or leadership role through an MSN, CSUDH offers flexible online delivery and a mission centered on culturally competent care and underserved populations.
CSUDH does not offer a traditional or accelerated pre-licensure BSN. You must already be an RN (or nearing completion of an ADN) for the RN-to-BSN program. For first-time NCLEX eligibility, consider an ADN or pre-licensure BSN at another institution.
Five reasons students choose CSUDH
📐 Mission & Diversity
Mission emphasizes excellent education for adult learners who reflect community diversity, with values including accessible, flexible professional education and health as a fundamental right.
💻 Flexible Online Delivery
RN-to-BSN and MSN courses are offered online so students can learn when and where it fits their schedule; BSN 423 clinical hours are completed in the student’s community.
🏥 South Bay & LA Clinical Access
Carson and the South Bay place students near a wide range of hospitals and community sites in greater Los Angeles for clinical experiences.
💵 CSU Affordability & Aid
Public CSU tuition and fees; 95% of students receive financial aid. Undergraduate total fees for 2025–26 are $7,853 (living with parents budget).
🎓 MSN Role Options
MSN tracks include Clinical Nurse Specialist (Adult/Gero, Neonatal, Pediatric), Family Nurse Practitioner, Nurse Administrator, and Nurse Educator, plus post-master’s certificates.
Nursing Programs Offered
CSUDH’s School of Nursing offers RN-to-BSN and MSN programs only; all are CCNE-accredited. Delivery is primarily online to serve working nurses and adult learners.
RN to BSN (Bachelor of Science in Nursing)
For RNs with an ADN or diploma (or nearing ADN completion). Most courses online; BSN 381 includes health assessment via Zoom; BSN 423 clinical hours at selected sites in California. Must reside in a state where CSUDH is permitted to deliver online education.
MSN — Clinical Nurse Specialist
Role options: Adult/Gerontology, Neonatal, Pediatric. Prepares graduates for advanced clinical practice in the three CNS spheres: client/patient, nursing, and organization/system.
MSN — Family Nurse Practitioner
Prepares for national certification (AANP/ANCC) and primary care across the lifespan. Advanced assessment, diagnosis, and safe, effective care for diverse patients and families.
MSN — Nurse Administrator
Focus on health policy, regulation, financing, and organizational management for healthcare delivery and resource management.
MSN — Nurse Educator
Entry-level nurse educator competencies; teaching and learning strategies based on educational theory and evidence-based practice in academic or clinical settings.
Post-Baccalaureate: Public Health Nurse certificate. Post-Master’s certificates: Nursing Education, Nursing Administration, Clinical Nurse Specialist. See the CSUDH SON programs page for current details.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
California State University Dominguez Hills does not offer a pre-licensure BSN. Its nursing programs are RN-to-BSN (for already-licensed RNs) and MSN. Therefore, CSUDH does not have a first-time NCLEX-RN cohort; NCLEX is taken by graduates of pre-licensure programs elsewhere.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Pre-licensure BSN at CSUDH | Not offered |
| First-time NCLEX-RN pass rate (CSUDH) | Not applicable |
| California BRN data | California Board of Registered Nursing publishes pass rates by institution for pre-licensure programs. |
For current NCLEX statistics and how California programs compare, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing reports. Do not rely on a single guide for licensure or program decisions.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
CSUDH admits international students and California licenses internationally educated nurses; the exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa type, and whether you seek a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist with CSUDH and the California Board of Registered Nursing—never as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether CSUDH requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam, and minimum scores for RN-to-BSN vs. MSN.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how CSUDH wants reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure (with or without a U.S. degree), confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document requirements with the California BRN.
- Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F-1 or other visas; financial certification; whether online/clinical fit your status. CSUDH has a Foreign Visa Student fee ($420/unit) and international financial certification info.
- State authorization: CSUDH cannot deliver online education in all states. If out-of-state or may move, contact the School of Nursing before applying.
Policies for international students and foreign‑educated nurses change frequently. Verify with CSUDH’s International Admissions team and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
CSUDH’s School of Nursing offers RN-to-BSN and MSN programs; each has its own requirements. Meeting minimums does not guarantee acceptance. Check the official RN-to-BSN and MSN admissions pages for current criteria and deadlines.
- Residence in a state where CSUDH may deliver online education
- College GPA at least 2.0 (2.5 for second baccalaureate applicants)
- Graduation from an ADN program and current RN licensure in the U.S., or transcripts showing near completion of ADN
- Prerequisites completed and on official transcript: microbiology, human physiology, human anatomy, chemistry (with labs), statistics, critical thinking, written and oral communication
- 60+ transferable units (max 70 semester/105 quarter from community college, 96 from four-year)
Application timeline
Application deadlines and open/close dates are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Confirm on the RN-to-BSN admissions and MSN admissions pages.
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum GPA (RN-to-BSN) | 2.0 (2.5 for second baccalaureate) |
| TEAS Required | No (RN-to-BSN); confirm for MSN |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Not publicly disclosed |
Have prerequisites and GE certification (from a community college) in order before applying. If you are out-of-state or may relocate, contact the School of Nursing about state authorization. For MSN, confirm current GRE or other test requirements and application windows.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 Pre-licensure / first-time RN
CSUDH does not offer a pre-licensure BSN. Complete an ADN or pre-licensure BSN elsewhere, pass the NCLEX-RN, then consider CSUDH’s RN-to-BSN or MSN.
🔄 RN seeking BSN
RN-to-BSN is designed for working RNs; most courses are online with clinical hours in your community. Ensure you live in a state where CSUDH can offer online education and complete prerequisites before applying.
🩺 RN seeking MSN
MSN tracks (CNS, FNP, Nurse Administrator, Nurse Educator) are online. Confirm admission requirements, application deadlines, and any GRE or other test requirements on the School of Nursing website.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Below are key cost figures from CSUDH’s 2025–2026 Cost of Attendance. Fees are set by the CSU system and may change.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Undergraduate Total Fees (2025–26) | $7,853 |
| Graduate Total Fees (2025–26) | $9,467 |
| Non-California Resident (per unit) | $420/unit in addition to university fees |
| Foreign Visa Student (per unit) | $420/unit in addition to university fees |
| Total Budget (Undergrad, Living With Parents) | ~$26,925 |
| Total Budget (Undergrad, Campus Housing) | ~$32,250 |
| Nursing Students | Reduced Student Center fee $43 (fall/spring); no Health Services fee |
| Students Receiving Aid | 95% receive financial aid |
Books, housing, transportation, and personal expenses vary. For current breakdowns and living arrangements, see CSUDH Cost to Attend and Student Financial Services.
Complete the FAFSA or California Dream Act Application. Explore CSUDH scholarships and the NURSE Corps Scholarship Program for qualifying nursing students.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Pre-licensure BSN / NCLEX cohort | Not applicable (CSUDH has no pre-licensure BSN) |
| Job Placement Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For outcomes and employers hiring CSUDH nursing graduates, see the school’s outcomes or career services pages at csudh.edu/son.
Is CSUDH the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing program depends on your goals, schedule, and location. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at CSUDH and who might look elsewhere.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Are already RNs seeking an affordable, CCNE-accredited RN-to-BSN or MSN
- Want flexible online delivery with clinical hours in their community
- Value a mission focused on diverse and underserved populations
- Are in California or a state where CSUDH may deliver online nursing programs
- Prefer public CSU tuition and strong financial aid (95% receive aid)
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Need a pre-licensure or accelerated BSN to become an RN
- Want a PhD in Nursing or on-campus-only graduate study
- Reside in a state where CSUDH cannot offer online nursing education
- Prefer a small private college with very small cohorts
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Carson and the South Bay sit within the greater Los Angeles healthcare market, one of the largest in the nation. RN-to-BSN and MSN students complete clinical hours in their own communities; many CSUDH students are in the South Bay, Long Beach, and LA area, with access to major health systems, community hospitals, and community health sites.
California faces ongoing demand for RNs and advanced practice nurses. CSUDH’s focus on diverse and underserved communities aligns with regional needs. Clinical placements for BSN 423 and MSN practica are arranged at appropriate agencies; the School of Nursing can provide guidance on where students typically complete hours.
Student Experience & Campus Life
CSUDH is in Carson, California, in the South Bay of greater Los Angeles. The School of Nursing delivers RN-to-BSN and MSN programs primarily online, so many students are working nurses who do not attend campus daily. BSN 381 health assessment work is done via Zoom; BSN 423 clinical hours are completed at selected sites, often in the student’s community.
The university serves a diverse student body and emphasizes access and success for adult learners. Campus resources include the Student Success Center for the College of Health, Human Services, and Nursing. For campus life, clubs, and support services, see CSUDH’s student life and diversity pages.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Carson, CA
- Address
- 1000 E. Victoria Street, Carson, CA 90747, US
- Telephone
- (310) 243-3596
- Contact email
- SONdepartment@csudh.edu (preferred)
- Website
- www.csudh.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official CSUDH School of Nursing website and review program pages and handbooks.
- Review the RN-to-BSN prerequisite list and compare to your transcripts; obtain GE certification if recommended.
- Confirm whether the TEAS or GRE is required for your target program (RN-to-BSN does not require TEAS; MSN may have test requirements).
- Draft questions for the School of Nursing (SONdepartment@csudh.edu) about state authorization if you are or may be out-of-state.
- Reach out to current CSUDH nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about workload and clinical experiences.
- Begin outlining your personal statement or application materials for your target program.
- Check application deadlines for your entry term on the RN-to-BSN and MSN admissions pages and set reminders.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is CSU Dominguez Hills a good school for nursing?
CSUDH’s School of Nursing is CCNE-accredited and offers flexible online RN-to-BSN and MSN programs for working nurses and diverse communities. It does not offer a pre-licensure BSN.
What GPA do you need for CSUDH’s nursing program?
RN-to-BSN requires a college GPA of at least 2.0; second baccalaureate applicants need 2.5 from their first degree. MSN requirements are on the School of Nursing admissions page.
Does CSUDH require the TEAS exam for nursing?
No for RN-to-BSN (applicants are already RNs). Confirm current requirements for MSN (e.g., GRE) on the CSUDH School of Nursing admissions page.
How competitive is admission to CSUDH’s nursing program?
Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Contact the School of Nursing for current cohort size and selectivity.
Does CSUDH offer an accelerated BSN?
No. CSUDH does not offer a pre-licensure or accelerated BSN. It offers an online RN-to-BSN for current RNs and MSN tracks. To become an RN, complete an ADN or pre-licensure BSN elsewhere first.
What are the clinical placement sites for CSUDH nursing students?
RN-to-BSN students complete BSN 423 clinical hours at appropriate agencies in the student’s community. MSN clinical requirements vary by track; see program handbooks.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for CSUDH?
CSUDH does not have a pre-licensure BSN, so there is no first-time NCLEX-RN cohort. For California pass rates, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing.
References
- CSUDH School of Nursing — About, accreditation, contactcsudh.edu/son/about
- CSUDH School of Nursing — Programs (RN-to-BSN, MSN, certificates)csudh.edu/son/programs
- CSUDH RN-to-BSN program and admissioncsudh.edu/son/programs/rn-bsn
- CSUDH Cost to Attend (2025–2026)csudh.edu/financial-aid/cost
- CSUDH Student Financial Servicescsudh.edu/student-financial-services
- California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 15, 2026 · Last reviewed: Mar 15, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
