California State University Stanislaus Nursing Program Review (2026): Programs, Requirements & Outcomes
BSN, RN-to-BSN, and MSN at California State University Stanislaus in Turlock, California. First-time NCLEX-RN was 92.5% (Pass Rate (24/25). Compare tuition and admissions requirements in Turlock.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
Stan State’s School of Nursing combines CCNE-accredited programs with a strong simulation lab and clinical partnerships across the Central Valley and Stockton. With Pre-Licensure BSN, ASBSN, RN-to-BSN, MSN FNP, and PMHNP options, plus a dedicated track for internationally trained nurses, it’s a strong choice for students in the region.
Overview & Why Students Choose Stan State
California State University Stanislaus (Stan State) sits in Turlock in the Central Valley, serving a region with strong demand for nurses. The School of Nursing offers CCNE-accredited pre-licensure BSN, RN-to-BSN, Accelerated Second BSN (ASBSN), MSN Family Nurse Practitioner, and a Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) certificate, plus support for internationally trained nurses.
Whether you are a first-time college student, a second-degree seeker, or an RN advancing your education, Stan State provides pathways from BSN through advanced practice, with a simulation program and clinical placements in the Central Valley and Stockton area.
For 2024/2025, CSU Stanislaus reported a 92.47% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate (93 test takers) on the official California Board of Registered Nursing pass rate report. Confirm current rates with the school and the California BRN.
Five reasons students choose Stan State
📈 NCLEX Performance
Consistent first-time pass rates in the 92–98% range on the California BRN report; 92.47% for 2024/2025.
🏥 Simulation & Clinicals
Dedicated simulation program and clinical placements across the Central Valley and Stockton-area healthcare facilities.
🎓 Program Variety
Pre-Licensure BSN, ASBSN, RN-to-BSN online, LVN-BSN, MSN FNP, and PMHNP certificate—all CCNE-accredited where applicable.
💵 CSU Value
Public CSU tuition and fees; undergraduate in-state tuition and campus fees around $8,690 per year (2025–2026).
🌍 Internationally Trained Nurses
Dedicated information and course-deficiency options for internationally trained nurses seeking California RN eligibility.
Nursing Programs Offered
California State University Stanislaus School of Nursing offers pre-licensure, RN completion, accelerated, and graduate options. The baccalaureate and master’s degree programs in nursing are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).
Pre-Licensure BSN
Traditional track for students completing prerequisites then upper-division nursing coursework with clinicals and simulation. Leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility. Competitive, impacted; supplemental application required (Aug 1–31 for Spring, Jan 1–31 for Fall).
RN to BSN (Online)
For licensed RNs with an ADN or diploma. Fully online RN-to-BSN program; ranked among top options in California. CCNE-accredited.
Accelerated Second BSN (ASBSN)
For students who already hold a bachelor’s degree. Accelerated path to BSN and NCLEX-RN eligibility. Details and application cycles are on the university’s extended education site.
LVN-BSN
Pathway for licensed vocational nurses to complete the BSN. Prerequisites and application requirements are outlined on the School of Nursing LVN-BSN page.
MSN — Family Nurse Practitioner
Prepares graduates for primary care FNP certification (AANP/ANCC). CCNE-accredited. Program format and admission cycles are on the School of Nursing FNP page.
PMHNP Certificate
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner certificate for nurses who already hold an MSN. CCNE accreditation for the PMHNP program is being sought; confirm status with the school.
The School of Nursing provides information and course-deficiency options for internationally trained nurses seeking to meet California BRN requirements. See the school’s Internationally Trained Nurses page for current steps.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
CSU Stanislaus first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates are reported by the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN). The most recent annual figure available from the BRN is 92.47% for 2024/2025 (93 first-time testers).
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2024/2025) | 92.47% (93 test takers) |
| 2023/2024 | 94.25% (87 test takers) |
| 2022/2023 | 94.87% (117 test takers) |
| Source | California BRN — NCLEX Pass Rates |
For context on how this rate compares to state or national averages, and for the most current data, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing pass rate report and the School of Nursing.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
CSU Stanislaus has a dedicated Internationally Trained Nurses resource and course-deficiency information for those seeking California RN eligibility. Exact steps, English proficiency requirements, and credential evaluation vary; use the checklist below to guide your conversations with the school and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Confirm whether Stan State requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam and minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or a state-approved evaluator and how the school wants reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS/credentials, and document requirements with the California BRN.
- Immigration & visa support: Which programs support F‑1 or other visa types, financial documentation, and how clinical placements align with your status.
Requirements change frequently. Verify everything with CSU Stanislaus School of Nursing and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Stan State’s pre-licensure nursing program is competitive and impacted. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. You must apply to the university and complete a supplemental nursing application during the designated window.
- University application with “Nursing (Pre-Nursing)” as intended major
- Prerequisites: English Composition, Communication, Critical Thinking, Statistics; Chemistry (3 units); Anatomy with lab (4), Physiology with lab (4), Microbiology with lab (4)
- TEAS — official scores must be received by the university by the application deadline (scores after deadline = disqualification)
- Holistic scoring (academics, life experiences, attributes); new scoring grid effective Spring 2027 admission
Application timeline
| Entry Term | Supplemental Application Window |
|---|---|
| Spring | August 1–31 |
| Fall | January 1–31 |
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed (impacted program) |
| Typical GPA Range | Not publicly disclosed |
| TEAS Required | Yes (official scores by deadline) |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Not publicly disclosed; holistic criteria include life experiences |
Take the TEAS early enough that official scores are available before the deadline (typically a few business days after the exam). The School of Nursing is moving toward a more holistic admission process; healthcare work or volunteer experience and language proficiency may be considered. Confirm current criteria and deadlines on the official Pre-Licensure BSN and application pages.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 First-time / traditional applicant
Apply as “Nursing (Pre-Nursing)” and complete prerequisites with strong grades in science and math. Submit the supplemental application during the correct window and ensure TEAS scores are sent in time.
🔄 Second-degree applicant
Stan State offers an ASBSN (Accelerated Second BSN) for students who already have a bachelor’s degree. Check the ASBSN page for application cycles and requirements. Alternatively, complete the Pre-Licensure BSN track.
🩺 RN seeking advancement
The online RN to BSN and the MSN FNP / PMHNP certificate are designed for working nurses. Confirm GPA and license requirements on the school’s graduate and RN-to-BSN pages.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Stanislaus State uses CSU systemwide tuition plus campus fees. Below are figures for the 2025–2026 academic year (living with parents scenario). Nonresident students pay an additional fee per unit.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| State University Tuition (Undergraduate, In-State) | $6,450/year |
| Campus Fees (Undergraduate) | $2,240/year |
| Total Tuition + Campus Fees (UG, In-State) | ~$8,690/year |
| Graduate Tuition (In-State) | $8,064/year |
| Graduate Campus Fees | $2,240/year |
| Nonresident Additional Fee | $471 per unit (in addition to above) |
| Housing (On-Campus, 2026–2027) | ~$9,272/year |
| Books & Supplies (Estimate) | ~$1,106/year |
Fees and housing vary by year and living situation. Some graduate programs may have additional per-unit costs. For current tuition, fees, and cost of attendance, visit Stan State Cost of Attendance and Fee Schedules & Deadlines.
Complete the FAFSA and apply for financial aid and scholarships. Stan State’s Financial Aid & Scholarship Office and the Apply for Financial Aid page list options; NURSE Corps and other nursing scholarships may be available.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (2024/2025) | 92.47% (93 test takers, California BRN) |
| Job Placement Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For job placement and employer information, see the School of Nursing and Stan State career services at csustan.edu/nursing.
Is Stan State the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, career goals, and learning style. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at CSU Stanislaus and who might consider other options.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Want CCNE-accredited BSN, RN-to-BSN, ASBSN, or MSN at a public CSU
- Prefer the Central Valley / Stockton area for campus or clinicals
- Are working RNs interested in online RN-to-BSN or MSN FNP / PMHNP
- Are second-degree seekers considering the ASBSN track
- Are internationally trained nurses seeking course-deficiency or BRN guidance
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Want a PhD in Nursing (Stan State does not offer a nursing PhD)
- Prefer a school in a major metro like LA or San Francisco
- Need a fully online pre-licensure BSN (Pre-Licensure BSN is on-campus)
- Require a non-impacted program with guaranteed admission at minimums
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Turlock and the Central Valley are home to multiple hospitals and health systems serving Stanislaus and surrounding counties. Stan State also has a Stockton campus, expanding access to clinical and employment opportunities in the San Joaquin Valley. California’s demand for RNs remains high statewide.
Nursing students at CSU Stanislaus gain clinical experience in the Central Valley and Stockton-area facilities. The region’s healthcare needs support strong placement opportunities and employment prospects for new graduates. For a current list of clinical partners, contact the School of Nursing.
Student Experience & Campus Life
Stan State’s School of Nursing offers a Simulation Program that complements clinical rotations with high-fidelity and scenario-based learning. The university has a Turlock campus and a Stockton presence, so students may have options across both locations depending on program and track.
The Student Nurses Association (SNA) at Stanislaus State brings together students interested in nursing and community involvement. Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month. Membership applications are available for Pre-Licensure and Stockton campus students.
Immunization requirements apply upon acceptance; most clinical facilities require full vaccination (including COVID-19). The school provides information on exemptions and implications for clinical placement.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Turlock, CA (also Stockton campus)
- Address
- One University Circle, Turlock, CA 95382, US
- Telephone
- (209) 667-3124 (main: (209) 667-3000)
- Contact email
- See School of Nursing for department contact
- Website
- www.csustan.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official Stan State School of Nursing and review program pages (Pre-Licensure, RN-BSN, ASBSN, MSN, PMHNP).
- Review the prerequisite course list for your track (e.g., Pre-Licensure BSN) and compare to your transcripts.
- If required, register for the TEAS and ensure official scores will be received by the deadline (Aug 1–31 for Spring; Jan 1–31 for Fall).
- Draft a list of questions for the School of Nursing or admissions.
- Reach out to current Stan State nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical and program satisfaction.
- Begin outlining your personal statement (graduate) or prepare for holistic admission criteria (pre-licensure).
- Note the supplemental application window for your target term and set reminders.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is California State University Stanislaus a good school for nursing?
CSU Stanislaus School of Nursing is CCNE-accredited and has consistently strong NCLEX-RN pass rates (92.47% for 2024/2025, 93 first-time testers, per California BRN). The program offers Pre-Licensure BSN, RN-to-BSN, ASBSN, MSN FNP, and PMHNP certificate options.
What GPA do you need for CSU Stanislaus nursing?
Specific minimum GPA for the pre-licensure BSN is not publicly disclosed. The program is competitive and impacted; applicants are evaluated on a holistic scoring grid including academics, life experiences, and attributes. Confirm current requirements with the School of Nursing.
Does CSU Stanislaus require the TEAS exam for nursing?
Yes. Official TEAS scores must be received by the university by the application deadline (August 1–31 for Spring; January 1–31 for Fall). Scores received after the deadline result in disqualification.
How competitive is admission to CSU Stanislaus nursing program?
The pre-licensure nursing program is competitive and impacted. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. A more holistic admission process (balancing academics, life experiences, and attributes) takes effect for Spring 2027 admission.
Does CSU Stanislaus offer an accelerated BSN?
Yes. CSU Stanislaus offers the Accelerated Second Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ASBSN) for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree. The school also offers Pre-Licensure BSN, RN-to-BSN online, LVN-BSN, MSN FNP, and PMHNP certificate programs.
What are the clinical placement sites for CSU Stanislaus nursing students?
Clinical placements occur at healthcare facilities in the Central Valley and Stockton area. The School of Nursing uses a simulation program to supplement clinical learning. For a current list of sites, contact the School of Nursing or visit the official nursing website.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for CSU Stanislaus?
For the 2024/2025 reporting period, CSU Stanislaus had a 92.47% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate (93 test takers), as reported by the California Board of Registered Nursing. Confirm current rates with the school and the California BRN.
References
- CSU Stanislaus School of Nursingcsustan.edu/nursing
- Pre-Licensure BSN Trackcsustan.edu/nursing/pre-licensure-bsn-track
- Cost of Attendance 2025–2026 / 2026–2027csustan.edu/financial-aid-scholarship/cost-attendance
- California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX-RN Pass Ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml
- Tuition data sourced from CSU Stanislaus official website, accessed 2026.
- All other data as provided in our inputs. Any data marked “Not publicly disclosed” was unavailable in the sources reviewed for this guide.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and the California Board of Registered Nursing before making decisions.
Published: Mar 15, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
