California State University Channel Islands: ADN, BSN & RN-to-BSN Review (2026)
California State University Channel Islands in Camarillo: ADN, BSN, and RN-to-BSN. Published tuition includes $8,165 In-State Tuition & Fees. NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements for 2026.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
CSU Channel Islands is ranked #3 Best Value BSN in California. The program uses a Supplemental Criteria point system (impaction) for admission and offers a dedicated simulation lab, clinical partnerships in Ventura and Santa Barbara counties, and an MSN through Extended University for working nurses.
Overview & Why Students Choose CSU Channel Islands
California State University Channel Islands (CSUCI) sits in Camarillo, between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, with a nursing program ranked #3 Best Value BSN in California. The campus offers a CCNE-accredited pre-licensure BSN, an ADN/RN to BSN pathway, and an MSN through Extended University—all with access to clinical sites across Ventura and Santa Barbara counties.
Whether you are a pre-nursing student, a community college ADN graduate, or a working RN aiming for a bachelor’s or master’s degree, CSUCI’s nursing program provides an affordable public option with a dedicated simulation lab and partnerships with regional hospitals and health systems.
The most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for CSU Channel Islands is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For current pass rates and state comparisons, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing and the program’s official outcomes page.
Five reasons students choose CSU Channel Islands
🏆 Best Value BSN
Ranked #3 Best Value BSN in California. CSU tuition and fees plus 81% of students receive financial aid.
🏥 Simulation Lab
On-campus simulation lab supports clinical skills practice in a controlled environment before rotations.
🩺 Regional Clinical Partnerships
Clinical placements in Ventura and Santa Barbara areas, including Cottage Health System and St. John’s facilities; COPE Health Solutions Clinical Care Extender opportunities.
🌊 Location & Campus
Coastal campus near the Santa Monica Mountains; 18:1 student-to-faculty ratio and a focused nursing cohort model.
💻 RN-to-BSN & MSN
ADN/RN to BSN and MSN (primary/acute care, nurse educator tracks) through Extended University for working nurses.
Nursing Programs Offered
CSU Channel Islands offers a pre-licensure BSN at the Camarillo campus, an ADN/RN to BSN bridge program, an MSN, and an LVN 30-unit option. All programs are CCNE-accredited and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Track I Generic BSN (Pre-Licensure)
Full-time, cohort-based program at Camarillo. ~2 years of nursing coursework (including summers) after completing prerequisites; total degree ~4 years. Fall admission only. Leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility.
ADN/RN to BSN
For ADN students or licensed RNs seeking a BSN. Starts each summer; 16-week fall/spring terms and 5-week summer terms over 12+ months. Full-time and part-time options; classes at CSUCI campus.
Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)
Prepares advanced practice nurses for primary and acute care and nurse educators for academic and clinical settings. Nurse Educator tracks were paused for admissions beginning Summer 2024; confirm current tracks with the program.
LVN 30-Unit Option
Space-available option for LVNs. Upon completion, the LVN does not receive a degree but is eligible to take the NCLEX-RN. Credit for prior education/military may apply per BRN policy.
The Track I Generic BSN at the Cottage Health System/Goleta satellite campus is paused for admissions beginning Fall 2024. The main Camarillo Track I BSN remains active.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
The most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for CSU Channel Islands is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. The program is CCNE-accredited and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate (single year) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Job Placement (BSN) | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
| Official source | California Board of Registered Nursing; program outcomes page at nursing.csuci.edu |
Before relying on any single statistic, confirm the latest NCLEX pass rates with CSU Channel Islands Nursing and the California Board of Registered Nursing. Requirements and reported outcomes can change.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
CSU Channel Islands admits international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses; the exact steps, documents, and test scores vary by country, visa type, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with CSUCI and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a replacement for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether CSUCI requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how CSUCI wants those reports submitted.
- California Board of Registered Nursing requirements: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, any CGFNS or other reports, and document translation requirements with the California BRN.
- Immigration & visa support: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.
Policies for international students and foreign‑educated nurses change frequently. Verify everything with CSUCI’s admissions or international office and the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
CSU Channel Islands’ BSN program is impaction-approved (supplemental criteria). Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. You must apply to the university (Cal State Apply) and separately to the Nursing Program (NursingCAS).
- All 8 prerequisite courses (28 units) completed or in progress during the semester you apply; grade C or better
- TEAS exam (version 6 or 7) completed before applying; scores sent to Nursing and uploaded to NursingCAS
- Supplemental Criteria document used for ranking (TEAS, cumulative GPA, prerequisite GPA; point values not disclosed)
- Prerequisites may not be “anticipated” for a future term—only in progress or completed
Application timeline (example: Fall 2027 entry)
| Step | Window |
|---|---|
| Cal State Apply (university) | October 1–December 1 (prior year) |
| NursingCAS (nursing program) | October 1–December 2 (prior year); application closes 11:59 p.m. EST |
| Transcripts & documents | Upload to NursingCAS by December 2; late documents not accepted |
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate (Nursing) | Not publicly disclosed (impaction) |
| Typical GPA Range | Not publicly disclosed (Supplemental Criteria) |
| TEAS Required | Yes (version 6 or 7) |
| Clinical Experience Preferred | Optional; work (e.g., CNA, LVN, EMT) or volunteer (e.g., hospice, Clinical Care Extender) can be used in Supplemental Criteria |
Use the program’s Supplemental Criteria PDF as a checklist. Complete the TEAS before the application window and upload all required documents to NursingCAS by the deadline. Current CSUCI students skip Cal State Apply and apply only via NursingCAS. Do not send documents to the Nursing Program by email during the application period—everything goes through NursingCAS.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 Pre-nursing / transfer applicant
Complete all 8 prerequisites and the TEAS before the NursingCAS window. Designate an alternate major on Cal State Apply if you are not yet admitted to the university. Check the 4-year curriculum roadmap on the nursing site to plan your sequence.
🔄 Second-degree / career-change applicant
CSUCI does not offer an accelerated BSN; post-baccalaureate students follow the same ~2-year nursing sequence. Select “BSN-Nursing (2nd Bachelor)” on Cal State Apply. Highlight healthcare-related work or volunteer experience in your Supplemental Criteria materials.
🩺 RN seeking BSN or MSN
ADN/RN to BSN and MSN are through Extended University; application and deadlines differ from the pre-licensure BSN. See the program pages for admission requirements and start terms.
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
CSU Channel Islands publishes estimated Cost of Attendance budgets by housing plan. Below are figures for the 2026–2027 academic year (nine months).
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Undergraduate Tuition & Fees (CA resident, full-time) | $8,165 |
| Non-Resident Additional (e.g., 15 units) | $7,065 |
| Graduate Tuition & Fees (full-time) | $9,124 |
| Total COA — With parent (undergrad) | ~$28,079 |
| Total COA — On-campus (undergrad) | ~$33,381 |
| Total COA — Off-campus (undergrad) | ~$39,718 |
| Books, supplies, equipment | ~$1,013 |
| Students Receiving Financial Aid | 81% |
Tuition and fees are set by the CSU system and can change. Extended University programs (e.g., RN to BSN, MSN) may have different fee structures. For current tuition, fees, and housing, see Student Business Services and Cost of Attendance.
Complete the FAFSA and contact Financial Aid (805-437-8530 or financial.aid@csuci.edu). The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other state/federal aid may be available for nursing students.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Job Placement (BSN) | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
For information about outcomes and employers hiring CSU Channel Islands nursing graduates, see the program’s outcomes or career services page at nursing.csuci.edu and csuci.edu.
Is CSU Channel Islands the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, location, career goals, and learning style. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at CSU Channel Islands and who might look elsewhere.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Want an affordable, CCNE-accredited BSN at a public CSU with a strong value ranking
- Prefer a cohort-based, full-time pre-licensure BSN (no accelerated option)
- Are in or near Ventura/Santa Barbara counties or willing to relocate
- Are ADN/RNs seeking an RN to BSN or MSN through Extended University
- Like a smaller campus with an 18:1 student-faculty ratio
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Need an accelerated BSN (ABSN) or a PhD in Nursing
- Want a fully online pre-licensure BSN
- Prefer a large urban campus in LA or the Bay Area
- Require spring admission to the pre-licensure BSN (CSUCI admits fall only)
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Ventura and Santa Barbara counties offer a mix of community hospitals, regional medical centers, and health systems that support clinical placements for CSU Channel Islands nursing students. Southern California continues to have strong demand for RNs across acute, primary, and community settings.
| Facility / Partner | Details |
|---|---|
| Cottage Health System | Regional health system; CSUCI had a Track I BSN satellite at Goleta (admissions paused). Clinical and partnership opportunities in the area. |
| St. John’s Regional Medical Center / St. John’s Pleasant Valley Hospital | Ventura County hospitals; COPE Health Solutions Clinical Care Extender internship is cited as a qualifying volunteer opportunity for applicants. |
| TLC Home Hospice (Loving Heart Hospice Foundation) | Example of acceptable volunteer experience for Supplemental Criteria. |
Proximity to Ventura and Santa Barbara area hospitals and community agencies gives students access to diverse clinical experiences. California’s need for nurses remains high; confirm current placement sites and demand with the program.
Student Experience & Campus Life
The nursing program is located in Solano Hall on the Camarillo campus. CSUCI offers a dedicated Simulation Lab for nursing students and promotes hands-on learning before and alongside clinical rotations. The campus is nestled against the Santa Monica Mountains, north of Los Angeles and south of Santa Barbara, with easy access to the coast.
The university reports an 18:1 student-to-faculty ratio and a high proportion of first-generation college students. Nursing uses a cohort model, so students progress through the curriculum as a group. The program participates in Daisy Foundation awards and provides TEAS testing and info sessions for prospective applicants.
For campus life, organizations, and housing, see Visit Campus and Housing & Residential Education.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Camarillo, CA
- Address
- Nursing Program, Solano Hall 1123, One University Drive, Camarillo, CA 93012, US
- Telephone
- (805) 437-1657
- Contact email
- nursing@csuci.edu
- Website
- nursing.csuci.edu · csuci.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official CSUCI Nursing website and download the program brochure and Supplemental Criteria PDF.
- Review the prerequisite course list and 4-year curriculum roadmap; compare to your transcripts.
- Register for the TEAS (version 6 or 7) if you have not taken it; scores must be sent to the Nursing Department and uploaded to NursingCAS by the application deadline.
- Draft questions for the Nursing Program (nursing@csuci.edu). Note: during application cycles, response time may be delayed; use the Requirements for Admission and Application Assistance pages first.
- Reach out to current CSUCI nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
- Gather transcripts and prepare Supplemental Criteria materials; confirm Cal State Apply and NursingCAS deadlines for your target fall entry.
- Submit Cal State Apply (Oct 1–Dec 1) and NursingCAS (Oct 1–Dec 2) by the deadlines; do not send documents to the Nursing Program by email.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is CSU Channel Islands a good school for nursing?
CSU Channel Islands’ nursing program is CCNE-accredited and approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing. It has been ranked #3 Best Value BSN in California and offers a simulation lab, coastal location, and pathways from pre-licensure BSN through MSN.
What GPA do you need for CSU Channel Islands nursing?
The program uses a Supplemental Criteria point system for admission; the minimum cumulative and prerequisite GPA are part of that criteria. Specific typical GPA ranges are not publicly disclosed. See the program’s Supplemental Criteria and Requirements for Admission on the nursing website.
Does CSU Channel Islands require the TEAS exam for nursing?
Yes. The TEAS (version 6 or 7) is required and must be completed before applying. Scores must be sent to the Nursing Department and uploaded to NursingCAS during the application period.
How competitive is admission to CSU Channel Islands nursing program?
The BSN program is impaction-approved; admission is determined by rank using Supplemental Criteria (TEAS, cumulative GPA, prerequisite GPA, and other factors). The nursing acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance.
Does CSU Channel Islands offer an accelerated BSN?
No. The Track I Generic BSN is full-time, cohort-based, ~2 years of nursing after prerequisites (four years total). Post-baccalaureate students follow the same sequence. An ADN/RN to BSN pathway is available for current RNs.
What are the clinical placement sites for CSU Channel Islands nursing students?
Students complete clinicals in the Ventura and Santa Barbara area, including partnerships such as Cottage Health System, St. John’s Regional Medical Center, St. John’s Pleasant Valley Hospital, and opportunities like the COPE Health Solutions Clinical Care Extender internship. Exact sites vary by cohort and term.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for CSU Channel Islands?
The most recent single-year first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For current pass rates and comparisons, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing and the program’s official outcomes page.
References
- CSU Channel Islands Nursing Programnursing.csuci.edu
- Track I Generic BSN — Requirements and application processnursing.csuci.edu/programs/track1.htm
- Nursing programs index (Track I, RN-to-BSN, MSN, LVN option)nursing.csuci.edu/programs/index.htm
- CSUCI Cost of Attendance (2026–2027)csuci.edu/financialaid/Cost_of_Attendance.htm
- CSUCI Tuition and Other Feescsuci.edu/sbs
- California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov
- All other data as provided in inputs. NCLEX and other figures marked “Not publicly disclosed” are based on unavailability in official sources reviewed for this guide.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 15, 2026· Last reviewed: Mar 15, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
