California State University Northridge Nursing (2026): ADN, BSN & ABSN
🎓 Nursing School Profile

California State University Northridge: ADN, BSN & ABSN Review (2026)

ADN, BSN, and ABSN at California State University Northridge in Northridge, California. Published tuition includes ~$7,850 In-State Tuition / Yr. 2026 admissions, NCLEX-RN pass rate and accelerated BSN.

~12 min read Updated Mar 15, 2026 Expert Reviewed
BSN + MSN
Program Levels
~$7,850
In-State Tuition / Yr
Northridge
San Fernando Valley

Quick Facts

Type
Public, 4‑year
Accreditation
CCNE
Programs
BSN, MSN
In‑state tuition
~$7,850/yr
NCLEX Pass Rate
Not publicly disclosed
Deadlines
Vary by program
Student:Faculty
Not publicly disclosed
Location
Northridge, CA

Key Takeaway

CSUN’s Department of Nursing is built around the needs of the San Fernando Valley, with an Accelerated BSN for second-degree students, RN-to-BSN and ADN-BSN Collaborative pathways, and an MSN in Nursing Education delivered in a hybrid format. BSN graduates are eligible to apply for the California Public Health Nurse certificate.

Overview & Why Students Choose CSUN

California State University Northridge sits in the San Fernando Valley, part of the greater Los Angeles metro and one of the nation’s largest and most diverse healthcare markets. CSUN’s Department of Nursing has a long history of commitment to the Valley, offering BSN and MSN pathways designed around the needs of local students and employers.

Whether you are an ADN student aiming for a BSN through the collaborative pathway, a second-degree seeker in the Accelerated BSN, an RN completing the RN-to-BSN, or a nurse advancing as an educator through the MSN, CSUN’s programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).

NCLEX data

Official first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates by cohort were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For the most current outcomes, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing and CSUN’s Department of Nursing.

Five reasons students choose CSUN

🏙️ San Fernando Valley focus

Programs are built for the local community, with clinical experiences across the Valley and greater LA, preparing graduates for one of the largest job markets for nurses in the U.S.

⚡ Accelerated BSN

ABSN for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree; approximately 15 months over four consecutive semesters, leading to NCLEX-RN eligibility.

🩺 Multiple BSN pathways

ADN-BSN Community College Collaborative and RN-to-BSN give transfer and working RNs flexible routes to the BSN; RN-to-BSN includes online components.

💵 Public tuition

CSU system tuition and fees make CSUN an affordable option for in-state students; graduate tuition is also set at the system level.

🎓 MSN Nurse Educator

Hybrid MSN in Nursing Education prepares leaders for academic and clinical teaching roles, with field training in education and practice settings.

Nursing Programs Offered

CSUN’s Department of Nursing offers BSN pathways and an MSN, all CCNE-accredited. There is no traditional four-year pre-licensure BSN for first-time freshmen; the pre-licensure option is the Accelerated BSN for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree.

Undergraduate · Pre-Licensure

Accelerated BSN (ABSN)

For students who already have a bachelor’s degree in any field. Approximately 15 months over four consecutive semesters. Includes clinical hours and leads to NCLEX-RN eligibility. Offered through Tseng College (extended learning); tuition is self-support and differs from state-supported tuition.

Undergraduate

RN to BSN

For licensed RNs with an ADN or diploma. Three-semester format with Fall and Spring online and optional Summer. Designed for working nurses.

Undergraduate · Transfer

ADN-BSN Community College Collaborative

Transfer pathway for students admitted to a community college ADN program. Students complete ADN and BSN requirements in a coordinated path; confirm current partner colleges and requirements with the department.

Graduate · Hybrid

MSN — Nursing Education

Prepares leaders in the advanced practice role as nurse educator. Approximately 15 months. Hybrid format: about half of class meetings online, half on campus. Includes advanced pathophysiology, health assessment, pharmacology, and field training in education and practice settings.

Public Health Nurse certificate

Students who complete the BSN requirements at CSUN are eligible to apply for the Public Health Nurse (PHN) certificate through the California Board of Registered Nursing.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rate

Official first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates by graduating cohort were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. The Department of Nursing does not publish a single cohort rate on its public pages.

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
Job Placement (e.g. within 6 months)Not available in the provided inputs/sources
Source for latest dataCalifornia BRN; CSUN Department of Nursing
Confirm with official sources

For context on how any school’s rate compares to state and national averages, consult the official California Board of Registered Nursing reports. Always confirm the latest NCLEX statistics with the school and the BRN before relying on them for your decision.

International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses

CSUN admits international students, and California licenses internationally educated nurses. Exact requirements vary by visa type, program level, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with CSUN and the California Board of Registered Nursing—not as a replacement for their official instructions.

Key items for international applicants to verify
  • English-language proficiency: Whether CSUN requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
  • Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how CSUN wants those reports submitted.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing: For internationally educated nurses pursuing RN licensure (with or without a U.S. degree), confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document translation requirements with the California BRN.
  • Immigration & visa: Which programs are approved for F‑1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.

Requirements change frequently. Cross‑check everything with CSUN’s International Admissions and the California Board of Registered Nursing.

Admissions: A Realistic Look

CSUN’s nursing pathways have separate application processes from general university admission. Admission is competitive; meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Requirements and deadlines differ by program (ABSN, RN-to-BSN, ADN-BSN Collaborative, MSN).

What you typically need
  • Admission to CSUN (or partner community college for ADN-BSN Collaborative)
  • Prerequisite courses and minimum GPA as specified for each pathway (confirm on the department website)
  • TEAS or other standardized test if required for your pathway
  • For ABSN: completed bachelor’s degree and completed prerequisites
  • For RN-to-BSN: unencumbered RN license and ADN/diploma
  • For MSN: BSN from accredited program and any additional requirements

Application timeline

Deadlines vary by program and entry term. Check the CSUN Department of Nursing and Tseng College (for ABSN) for current application open and deadline dates.

Admissions competitiveness snapshot

FactorDetails
Acceptance Rate (Nursing)Not publicly disclosed
Typical GPA RangeNot publicly disclosed
TEAS RequiredConfirm on official admissions page for your pathway
Clinical Experience PreferredNot publicly disclosed
Honest tips for applicants

Confirm the exact requirements for your pathway (ABSN, RN-to-BSN, Collaborative, MSN) on the department website. For the ABSN, complete prerequisites early and prepare for a rigorous 15-month schedule. For RN-to-BSN and MSN, highlight your clinical experience and how the degree aligns with your goals.

Advice by applicant type

🎓 Second-degree / ABSN applicant

You need a completed bachelor’s degree and the required prerequisites. The ABSN is the only pre-licensure BSN option at CSUN for degree-holders. Plan for full-time study over four consecutive semesters.

🩺 ADN student (Collaborative)

Apply to a partner community college ADN program and follow the collaborative curriculum. Stay in touch with both the community college and CSUN for application and course sequencing.

🩺 RN seeking BSN or MSN

RN-to-BSN is designed for working RNs with online and optional summer coursework. MSN Nurse Educator is hybrid (online and on-campus). Emphasize your experience and career goals in your application.

Tuition & Cost of Attendance

Below are key cost figures for the 2025–2026 academic year from CSUN’s Cost of Attendance. Non-residents add $444 per unit. The Accelerated BSN is offered through Tseng College (extended learning) and uses self-support tuition (higher than state-supported rates); confirm current ABSN tuition on the Tseng College ABSN page.

MetricValue
Undergraduate Tuition & Fees (7+ units/semester, In-State)$3,925/semester (~$7,850/year)
Out-of-State Surcharge$444 per unit
Graduate/Post-Bac Tuition & Fees (7+ units/semester)$4,732/semester (~$9,464/year)
On-Campus Housing (estimate)~$8,720/year (housing); ~$5,818 (food)
Books, supplies (estimate)~$1,370/year
ABSN (Tseng College)Self-support; confirm current per-unit and total cost on Tseng College ABSN tuition page
Cost note

Fees may change. For a current, detailed breakdown and ABSN-specific costs, visit CSUN Cost of Attendance and the Tseng College ABSN Tuition and Fees page.

Financial aid

Complete the FAFSA and check CSUN’s Financial Aid office for grants, loans, and scholarships. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program and other nursing-specific aid may be available; confirm eligibility on official program sites.

Student Outcomes & Career Prospects

MetricValue
NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass RateNot publicly disclosed
Job Placement (e.g. within 6 months)Not available in the provided inputs/sources
Alumni EmployersNot available in the provided inputs/sources

For information about employers hiring CSUN nursing graduates, see the school’s outcomes or career services page at csun.edu/health-human-development/nursing.

Is CSUN the Right Fit for You?

Choosing a nursing school depends on your budget, learning style, career goals, and life circumstances. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive at CSUN and who might be better served elsewhere.

✅ Good fit for students who…

  • Want CCNE-accredited BSN or MSN education at a public CSU in the San Fernando Valley
  • Already have a bachelor’s degree and want an Accelerated BSN (ABSN)
  • Are ADN students or RNs seeking RN-to-BSN or ADN-BSN Collaborative pathways
  • Want to become a nurse educator via the hybrid MSN
  • Prefer clinical and job opportunities in the greater Los Angeles area

⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…

  • Want a traditional four-year pre-licensure BSN (CSUN offers ABSN, not a traditional BSN for first-time freshmen)
  • Are looking for a DNP or PhD in Nursing (CSUN offers BSN and MSN only)
  • Need a fully online pre-licensure BSN
  • Prefer a smaller or non-urban campus

Local Healthcare Ecosystem

Northridge and the San Fernando Valley are part of the greater Los Angeles healthcare market, one of the largest in the United States. Students have access to major health systems, county facilities, and community clinics across the Valley and LA metro.

ContextDetails
Greater LA / ValleyDozens of hospitals and health systems; diverse patient populations and clinical settings.
Clinical demandCalifornia and the LA region have strong demand for RNs; BSN-prepared nurses are preferred by many employers.
Why this matters

CSUN nursing students gain clinical experience in the San Fernando Valley and greater Los Angeles, preparing them for one of the nation’s largest job markets for nurses. Confirm current clinical partners on the Department of Nursing website.

Student Experience & Campus Life

CSUN’s Department of Nursing is part of the College of Health and Human Development on the Northridge campus. The department emphasizes innovation and community need in the San Fernando Valley; programs are designed to prepare professional nursing leaders who can apply evidence-based knowledge and build on existing competencies.

MSN courses are offered in a hybrid format (approximately half online, half on campus). BSN pathways combine classroom, simulation, and clinical experiences at area facilities. BSN graduates are eligible to apply for the California Public Health Nurse certificate.

CSUN’s campus offers a wide range of student organizations, support services, and campus life activities. For current simulation labs, student nursing associations, and outreach activities, check the Department of Nursing and College of Health and Human Development pages.

Resources & Next Steps

Contact & location

Campus location
Northridge, CA
Address
18111 Nordhoff Street, Northridge, CA 91330-8295, US
Telephone
(818) 677-5739
Contact email
csunnursing@csun.edu
Website
www.csun.edu

Official links

Your “Next 7 Days” checklist

  • Visit the official CSUN Department of Nursing website and review program pages for your pathway (ABSN, RN-to-BSN, Collaborative, MSN).
  • Review the prerequisite course list for your pathway and compare it to your transcripts.
  • If required for your pathway, register for the TEAS or confirm test requirements on the official admissions page.
  • Draft a list of questions for the Department of Nursing or admissions.
  • Reach out to current CSUN nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
  • Begin outlining your personal statement (MSN) or application materials (ABSN/RN-to-BSN).
  • Check application deadlines for your target program and term and set reminders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is California State University Northridge a good school for nursing?

CSUN’s Department of Nursing is CCNE-accredited and offers BSN pathways (ABSN, RN-to-BSN, ADN-BSN Collaborative) and an MSN in Nursing Education, with a long-standing focus on the San Fernando Valley and diverse clinical experiences in the greater LA area.

What GPA do you need for CSUN’s nursing program?

Minimum GPA requirements vary by pathway. For the most current GPA and prerequisite requirements, check the official CSUN Department of Nursing website and the application materials for your program.

Does CSUN require the TEAS exam for nursing?

Requirements vary by program. Confirm current TEAS or other standardized test requirements on the official CSUN nursing admissions page for your pathway.

How competitive is admission to CSUN’s nursing program?

Admission is competitive and the acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed. Meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Verify current criteria with the Department of Nursing.

Does CSUN offer an accelerated BSN?

Yes. CSUN offers an Accelerated BSN (ABSN) for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree in another field. It can be completed in approximately 15 months over four consecutive semesters.

What are the clinical placement sites for CSUN nursing students?

CSUN nursing students complete clinical rotations at healthcare facilities throughout the San Fernando Valley and greater Los Angeles area. Specific sites are assigned by the department; confirm current partners on the school’s website.

What is the NCLEX pass rate for CSUN?

Official first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates by cohort were not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For the most current data, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing and CSUN’s Department of Nursing.

References

  1. CSUN Department of Nursing — programs and informationcsun.edu/health-human-development/nursing
  2. CSUN MSN programcsun.edu (MSN)
  3. CSUN 2025–2026 Cost of Attendancecsun.edu/financialaid
  4. Tseng College — ABSN Tuition and Feestsengcollege.csun.edu
  5. California Board of Registered Nursingrn.ca.gov
  6. Tuition from CSUN official website. NCLEX and other data marked ‘Not publicly disclosed’ or ‘Not available in the provided inputs/sources’ per sources reviewed for this guide.

Editorial Standards & Review

About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.

Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.

Published: Mar 15, 2026 · Last reviewed: Mar 15, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy