Sacramento City College Nursing Program Review (2026): Programs, Requirements & Outcomes
ADN at Sacramento City College in Sacramento, California. NCLEX-RN pass rate and admissions requirements for 2026.
Contents
Quick Facts
Key Takeaway
Sacramento City College offers ADN, Vocational Nursing (VN), and LVN-to-RN pathways—all with one application period per year (February 1–28). Selection is multicriteria; a score of 70+ on the enrollment form qualifies you for the random selection pool. Sacramento’s healthcare market supports strong clinical placements and job opportunities for new RNs and LVNs.
Overview & Why Students Choose Sacramento City College
Located in Sacramento, California’s capital and a major healthcare hub, Sacramento City College offers multiple nursing pathways: an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN), a Vocational Nursing (VN) program, and an LVN-to-RN transition track. As part of the Los Rios Community College District, SCC gives students access to Sacramento-area hospitals and clinical sites at community-college tuition rates.
If you are looking for an affordable, BRN- and BVNPT-approved path to RN or LVN licensure and want to complete clinical hours in the Sacramento region, Sacramento City College’s nursing programs deserve a close look.
Nursing applications for all programs (RN, VN, LVN-to-RN) are accepted once per year from February 1 through February 28. Beginning February 2026, the application process is fully online. For current NCLEX outcomes, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing and the SCC Nursing Program Details page.
Five reasons students choose Sacramento City College
🎓 Three pathways
ADN (4 semesters), Vocational Nursing (3 semesters, certificate or A.S.), and LVN-to-RN (3 semesters, full- or part-time). All approved by California BRN or BVNPT.
💰 Affordable tuition
California community college per-unit rates (~$46/unit in-state) plus program costs for uniforms, fees, malpractice insurance, and equipment. Lower cost than many BSN programs.
🏥 Sacramento clinicals
Clinical experiences at local hospitals and healthcare facilities in the Sacramento area. RN program includes partially online coursework with in-person campus and clinical learning.
📅 Clear application window
Single application period February 1–28 each year. Multicriteria enrollment; 70+ on the enrollment form qualifies for the random selection pool. No waiting list—reapply if not selected.
🩺 Path to RN or LVN
ADN and LVN-to-RN graduates are eligible for the NCLEX-RN; VN graduates for the LVN licensing exam. Many SCC RN graduates later pursue RN-to-BSN at CSU Sacramento or UC Davis.
Nursing Programs Offered
Sacramento City College offers three nursing pathways, all with applications accepted February 1–28 each year. The Registered Nursing (ADN) program is approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing; the Vocational Nursing (VN) program is approved by the California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT).
Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN)
Four-semester, full-time program combining general education, science, and nursing courses with clinical experiences in local hospitals. Coursework is partially online with in-person campus and clinical learning. A 75% passing grade is required in theory and clinical for progression. Graduates earn an A.S. in Nursing and are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN.
Vocational Nursing (VN)
Three-semester, full-time program. Graduates receive a certificate and may complete additional requirements for an A.S. degree. Approved by the BVNPT; graduates are eligible for the LVN licensing examination. Clinical experiences at local facilities. COVID vaccines are required for the VN program per clinical facility requirements.
LVN to RN Transition
For licensed vocational nurses. Three semesters of nursing courses (after NURSE 307 transition course) with full-time and part-time options. Leads to an A.S. in Nursing and NCLEX-RN eligibility. LVNs need a score of 70+ on the multicriteria form; six months recent LVN work experience (preferably medical-surgical) is required. A 30-unit option (no degree) is also available for LVNs seeking California RN licensure only.
ADN and LVN-to-RN programs are approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing. The VN program is approved by the California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians. For current accreditation or approval status, see SCC Nursing Program Details.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
Sacramento City College’s first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for its ADN and LVN-to-RN graduates is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. The California Board of Registered Nursing publishes pass rates by institution; readers should confirm the latest data with the California BRN and the SCC Nursing Program Details page.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Job Placement (6 months) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Source for state data | California BRN NCLEX Pass Rates |
NCLEX pass rates can change by cohort. This guide does not compare SCC’s rate to state or national averages because an official benchmark from the same report was not provided. Confirm current statistics with the California Board of Registered Nursing and Sacramento City College before making decisions.
International Students & Internationally Educated Nurses
Sacramento City College and other California community colleges may admit international students, and the California Board of Registered Nursing licenses internationally educated nurses. Exact requirements vary by visa status, prior education, and whether you are seeking a student visa or RN licensure. Use the points below as a checklist to guide your conversations with SCC and the California BRN—not as a substitute for their official instructions.
- English-language proficiency: Whether SCC or Los Rios requires TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, or another exam, and the minimum scores for undergraduate vs. graduate nursing programs.
- Transcript / credential evaluation: Whether foreign secondary or nursing education must be evaluated by WES, CGFNS, or another service and how SCC wants reports submitted.
- California BRN requirements: For internationally educated nurses seeking RN licensure, confirm NCLEX eligibility, CGFNS or other reports, and document/translation requirements with the California Board of Registered Nursing.
- Immigration & visa: Whether the ADN program is approved for F-1 or other visa types, what financial documentation is required, and how clinical placements fit within your immigration status.
Requirements change. Always verify with SCC’s admissions or international office and the California BRN.
Admissions: A Realistic Look
Sacramento City College’s nursing programs use a multicriteria enrollment process. For the Registered Nursing (ADN) program, applicants must achieve a score of 70 or higher on the Registered Nursing Multi-Criteria Enrollment Form to be eligible for the random selection pool. There is no waiting list; students must reapply each year if not selected. Applications for all nursing programs are accepted once per year, February 1–28 (fully online from February 2026).
- TEAS (ATI): Latest edition required; minimum composite score and minimum reading score (see SCC Nursing website for current minimums).
- Science GPA: Minimum 3.0 in BIOL 430, BIOL 431, BIOL 440 (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology) with C or better in each.
- Non-science: PSYC C1000, ENGL C1000 (or equivalent), COMM C1000 (or equivalent), ETHNS 300 with C or better and cumulative GPA 2.5+.
- Multicriteria form: Score of 70 or higher. In-progress grades not accepted for prerequisites.
- Los Rios student ID required for the online application. Reapply each year; no waiting list.
Application timeline
| Programs | Application Period | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| RN, VN, LVN-to-RN | February 1 – February 28 | Once per year; from Feb 2026 applications are fully online |
Admissions competitiveness snapshot
| Factor | Details |
|---|---|
| Acceptance Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Minimum Science GPA | 3.0 (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology) |
| Minimum Non-Science GPA | 2.5 |
| TEAS Required | Yes (minimum composite and reading; see SCC site) |
| Multicriteria Score | 70+ for selection pool eligibility |
| LVN-to-RN: Experience | 6 months recent LVN work (preferably med-surg) |
Complete prerequisites with strong grades and take the TEAS before the application window. Schedule an application assistance appointment with the nursing program if needed. Because there is only one application period per year, prepare early and submit a complete application during February 1–28.
Advice by applicant type
🎓 First-time / transfer applicant
Complete Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, English, Psychology, Communications, and Ethnic Studies with the required GPAs. Take the TEAS and aim for scores above the minimum. Review the multicriteria form and Nursing Program Details at scc.losrios.edu/academics/nursing-program-details.
🔄 Second-degree / career-change applicant
SCC offers ADN, VN, and LVN-to-RN—no BSN or graduate degrees. Your prior degree may satisfy general education; focus on meeting science and TEAS requirements and achieving 70+ on the multicriteria form.
🩺 LVN seeking RN
SCC has a dedicated LVN-to-RN track (three semesters, full- or part-time). You need six months recent LVN experience, prerequisite courses, TEAS, and 70+ on the enrollment form. A 30-unit option exists for California RN licensure only (no A.S. degree).
Tuition & Cost of Attendance
Sacramento City College, as a California community college, charges per-unit tuition. In-state tuition is low compared to four-year schools; out-of-state and nonresident rates are higher. Program startup costs (uniforms, lab fees, malpractice insurance, equipment, transportation to clinicals) are in addition to tuition.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| In-State Tuition (per unit) | ~$46 (California community college rate; confirm on Los Rios/SCC site) |
| Out-of-State / Nonresident | Not publicly disclosed in provided sources; see SCC/Los Rios tuition page |
| Program Startup Costs (est.) | ~$7,000 (uniforms, lab fees, malpractice insurance, equipment, transportation) |
| NCLEX-RN Exam Fee | ~$575 (paid to BRN/PSI; not included in program cost) |
| Fees, Housing, Books | Not publicly disclosed in provided sources |
Tuition and fees change annually. For current per-unit rates, residency rules, and financial aid, visit the official SCC Paying for College and Nursing pages.
Complete the FAFSA to be considered for federal grants and loans. The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program may be available to qualifying nursing students. Check SCC’s financial aid office and the program’s application materials for school-specific scholarships.
Student Outcomes & Career Prospects
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NCLEX-RN First-Time Pass Rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Job Placement (6 months) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Alumni Employers | Not available in the provided inputs/sources |
Sacramento has strong demand for RNs and LVNs in hospitals, clinics, and community health. For job placement data or employer lists, see the SCC Nursing Department or career services at scc.losrios.edu.
Is Sacramento City College the Right Fit for You?
Choosing a nursing program depends on your budget, timeline, and career goals. Here’s an honest look at who tends to thrive in SCC’s ADN, VN, or LVN-to-RN programs and who might consider another option.
✅ Good fit for students who…
- Want an affordable, BRN- or BVNPT-approved path to RN or LVN licensure
- Are okay with one application period per year (Feb 1–28) and multicriteria selection (70+ score)
- Prefer or can accommodate Sacramento-area clinical placements
- Are considering ADN, VN, or LVN-to-RN and may pursue RN-to-BSN later at CSU Sacramento or UC Davis
- Can meet the science GPA (3.0) and TEAS minimums
⚠️ May not be ideal for students who…
- Want a BSN, MSN, or DNP directly from the same school (SCC offers ADN, VN, and LVN-to-RN only)
- Need a fully online pre-licensure program
- Need multiple application windows per year (SCC has one: February)
- Must have clinicals in a specific city outside the Sacramento region
Local Healthcare Ecosystem
Sacramento is California’s capital and a major healthcare hub. The region includes large health systems, UC Davis Health, Sutter Health, Dignity Health, and Kaiser Permanente, as well as community hospitals and clinics. Demand for RNs in the Sacramento area and across California remains strong.
SCC nursing students complete clinical experiences at Sacramento-area healthcare facilities. This exposure to a large, diverse market supports both learning and post-graduation job opportunities. For a current list of clinical placement sites, contact the SCC Nursing Department.
Student Experience & Campus Life
Sacramento City College is part of the Los Rios Community College District, with a campus at 3835 Freeport Blvd. in Sacramento. Nursing programs use a mix of partially online coursework and in-person campus and clinical learning. RN program learning is primarily in-person on campus and in the clinical setting; VN program learning is all in-person. Clinical experiences are at local hospitals and facilities. Full-time employment while in the program is not recommended; the program suggests limiting outside work to 8–12 hours or less per week.
Student-to-faculty ratio and nursing club or honor society information are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed; contact the SCC Nursing Department for current student life and support resources.
Resources & Next Steps
Contact & location
- Campus location
- Sacramento, CA
- Address
- 3835 Freeport Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95822, US
- Telephone
- (916) 558-2271
- Contact email
- sccn@losrios.edu
- Website
- scc.losrios.edu
Official links
Your “Next 7 Days” checklist
- Visit the official SCC Nursing Program Details page and note the application window (Feb 1–28).
- Review the prerequisite list (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, English, Psychology, Communications, Ethnic Studies) and compare to your transcripts.
- If required, register for the TEAS and confirm minimum composite and reading scores on the SCC nursing site.
- Draft a list of questions for the SCC Nursing Department or schedule an application assistance appointment.
- Reach out to current SCC nursing students or alumni on LinkedIn to ask about clinical experiences and satisfaction.
- Begin gathering documents and completing the multicriteria form so you are ready when the application window opens (February 1–28).
- Set a reminder for the February 1–28 application period; there is no second window later in the year.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Sacramento City College a good school for nursing?
Sacramento City College offers California BRN- and BVNPT-approved ADN, LVN, and LVN-to-RN programs. The RN program uses a multicriteria enrollment process with one application period per year (February 1–28). NCLEX pass rates are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed; confirm with the school and California BRN.
What GPA do you need for Sacramento City College nursing?
For the ADN program: minimum 3.0 GPA in science prerequisites (Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology) and 2.5 GPA in non-science courses (English, Psychology, Communications, Ethnic Studies). Grades of C or better required; 75% passing grade in theory and clinical for progression.
Does Sacramento City College require the TEAS exam for nursing?
Yes. SCC’s Registered Nursing program requires the ATI TEAS with minimum composite and minimum reading scores to be eligible to apply. Scores are part of the multicriteria enrollment process. See the SCC Nursing Program Details page for current minimums.
How competitive is admission to Sacramento City College nursing program?
The program uses multicriteria enrollment; a score of 70 or higher on the Registered Nursing Multi-Criteria Enrollment Form is required for eligibility. Applicants meeting the threshold enter a random selection pool. There is no waiting list; students must reapply each year. Acceptance rate is not publicly disclosed.
Does Sacramento City College offer an accelerated BSN?
No. Sacramento City College offers an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN), a Vocational Nursing (VN) program, and an LVN-to-RN transition pathway. It does not offer a BSN, MSN, or DNP. Graduates can pursue RN-to-BSN at CSU Sacramento, UC Davis, or other four-year schools.
What are the clinical placement sites for Sacramento City College nursing students?
Clinical experiences take place at local hospitals and healthcare facilities in the Sacramento area. For a current list of sites, contact the SCC Nursing Department or see the Nursing Program Details page.
What is the NCLEX pass rate for Sacramento City College?
NCLEX-RN pass rate for Sacramento City College is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed for this guide. For current data, consult the California Board of Registered Nursing pass rate report and the SCC Nursing Program Details page.
References
- Sacramento City College Nursing Program Detailsscc.losrios.edu/academics/nursing-program-details
- SCC Nursing (Programs and Majors)scc.losrios.edu
- California Board of Registered Nursing — NCLEX pass ratesrn.ca.gov/education/passrates.shtml
- SCC Paying for College / Financial Aidscc.losrios.edu/paying-for-college
- All other data as provided in inputs. Tuition and fees: verify on SCC/Los Rios official site. NCLEX pass rate: not publicly disclosed in sources reviewed.
Editorial Standards & Review
About the author: Sid Balal, RGN, writes evidence-based nursing education guides for NurseOnShift.
Review: This page was reviewed by Araceli Collado, RN, for accuracy, clarity, and alignment with publicly available institutional and government data.
Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general reference and informational purposes only. It does not constitute professional, admissions, or financial advice and does not guarantee admission, eligibility, or any particular outcome. Requirements, deadlines, tuition, and policies change; always verify with the institution and relevant boards before making decisions.
Published: Mar 16, 2026 · Last reviewed: Mar 16, 2026 · Medical Review Process · Editorial Policy
